Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it if you have control
I personally thought the book was very good - guidelines and all. The problem was about the whole starvation thing- it was a little too encouraging on this aspect, and girls who have recently recovered from anorexia, and looking towards healthy eating habits could get too easily triggered to relapse. I think they waffle for quite a large section, which has irrelevant info...
Published on 10 May 2004

versus
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diet for Dancers
This book was, as a dancer, a paperback miracle. Or so I thought. On receiving this book I was hugely disappointed at the amount of jargon misting the fact that the basic recommendation was starvation.
This book is no safer than the Atkins, South Beach or any other fad diet, and certainly not as easy to follow. Whether you are looking for a diet as a dancer or...
Published on 4 Mar 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it if you have control, 10 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control (Paperback)
I personally thought the book was very good - guidelines and all. The problem was about the whole starvation thing- it was a little too encouraging on this aspect, and girls who have recently recovered from anorexia, and looking towards healthy eating habits could get too easily triggered to relapse. I think they waffle for quite a large section, which has irrelevant info in it. On the whole - i recommend this book 2 dancers(/anyone!) who want to be educated on diet and eating disorders - but have control on their diet and self image. It can be quite easy to catch along to the message in this book. Anyone with an eating disorder - best u dont read it, it could be dangerous for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diet for Dancers, 4 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control (Paperback)
This book was, as a dancer, a paperback miracle. Or so I thought. On receiving this book I was hugely disappointed at the amount of jargon misting the fact that the basic recommendation was starvation.
This book is no safer than the Atkins, South Beach or any other fad diet, and certainly not as easy to follow. Whether you are looking for a diet as a dancer or just to keep in shape I recommend you eat well, healthily remain active and don't waste your money on this one. Sorry - hugely dissapointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous language, 11 April 2003
This review is from: Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control (Paperback)
I have great problems with this book, as I feel that the language and context of the book helps feed into problems frequent in dance connected with weight loss and body image.
I wouldn't recommend any dancer interested in the healthy body to purchase this title, which was the decision I made as librarian to a major contemporary dance school.
While the exercises etc. are fine, the supporting information is very problematic for this reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Recipes!, 17 May 2010
This review is from: Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control (Paperback)
I was very disappointed upon reception of this book, and I've decided to return it. Why? Because, I've thought that a "complete guide to nutrition" would also contain some recipes. It didn't. It only contains lots of texts, and lots of nutrition tables, which you can find in any other book. After having run over the pages in 1 hour approx. the key message of this book appears to be: eat less (ca. 1000-1500 kCal) and no fast food, and do jogging, cycling or walking at least 3 times a week 30-60 minutes. Sit-ups and ballet do not help to lose fat. That's it. If you would like to read the scientific explanation why the abovementioned method works, then this is your book. If you are however interested in a book which contains recipes that you can use for your daily meal plan, then forget this book and try another. For example, this: The Dancing Gourmet: Recipes to Keep You on Your Toes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't pay attention to other low reviews, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control (Paperback)
I don't EVER review products, this is infact my first if I am not mistaken. Anyway I felt I had to write one simply because the low reviews on here make no sense. The book is very explicit about what it includes and it delivers. Don't get mad that there aren't any recipes as it does not lead you to assume there would be any. It is clear and understandable English. It is very realistic as there are no needs to cushion the situation when it comes to the issue of dancers and their diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control (Paperback)
I thought this book was very realistic about what it is like to be a dancer, particularly in a company. It could also apply to other people where weight is a professional issue eg jockeys or models. It repeatedly notes that many dancers are "self-selecting" by being naturally slim, and that other dancers who are not are competing against this genetic type. It presents good clear science in an understandable way - I've read a lot of nutrition books and I learned a lot from this book about how the body uses nutrients and burns fat. The style of writing is quite chatty and conversational.
It has inspired me to start (again) with endurance-based exercise to lose the extra pounds. The only reason I have given 4 stars not 5, is that I am not a fan of the Exchange diet, which seems over-complicated, having to count a variety of units(Carb, Protein, Fat, Milk, Fruit, Veg) However it has made me think about the make-up of meals overall, and portion sizes, so that is a good thing.
I don't think it promotes eating disorders. It has a chapter about emotions and other factors which affect hunger, and also a chapter about eating disorders, which is quite clear on the subject. Dancers are athletes and need fuel to be active - this is explained, while still recognising that to succeed there is a fine balance between physical appearance and ability to perform. The writers are not able to change the expectations of the professional ballet companies of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Dancers should own a copy of this book!, 19 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control (Paperback)
This book was a fantastic way for a dancer to keep slim and healthy by eating nutrious food. The excersises are amazing and also keep your stomach very flat!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control
Diet for Dancers: A Complete Guide to Nutrition and Weight Control by Sally Sevey Fitt (Paperback - 1 May 1995)
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews