Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2005
I was still a student in a manufacturing course when i first read this book. I have to admit that i did not understand much back then. After a while a read a couple of other books such as "lean thinking" and "the machine that changed the world".
I decided to read Mr. Ohno's book once more. It was at this time i realised his grandeur and his geneus. These are the the ideas of the creator of lean manufacturing himself.
I typical japanese style every paragraph contains a small lesson that the lean practioner should know. This is a "must have" for all industrial engineers and industral managers. The book itself decribes the saven wastes, how they affect a manufacturing system, JIT principle, the Toyota "house of lean", kanban and a lot of other issue. Even if you know all these you must find out how Ohno himself perceived these issues. It is guaranteed to be a revelation!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 1998
This is a short book and as such gets to the point. Explains difficult concepts in a simple way. This book explains how JIT, Kanban, Zero Defects came about. Also shows what is missing from American JIT and that is production leveling.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 November 2007
"Toyota Production System" was published in 1979 in Japanese and, in English in 1988. It is the source material on the toyota production system and, in my view, it is often good to go back to the source. Sadly, this book is disappointing. The writing style is clunky (perhaps a poor translation) and the book lacks structure; being more of a semi-random collection of points than a development of ideas. Nevertheless there is some interesting stuff in here. For example, I didn't realise that Mr Ohno ranked kanban (with quick changeovers) as the core of the system and essential to success. Often in lean kanban seems to be a bit of a side issue: here it is vital. Also there is an interesting analysis of some of Henry Ford's early writings compared to TPS. This would be good material for a student essay. However, for the philosophy of TPS you will get much more out of "The Toyota Way" or "The Toyota Way Fieldbook"; and for the tools of lean go to "Lean Production Simplified" or the many other books in this area. This book is a bit of a let-down I am sad to say.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
I read this book to learn how to improve what we do in the NHS. I am a doctor not a manager and found it very interesting. Many Toyota quality improvement approaches definitely can be adopted by the NHS. It is easy to read, simple language, not too technical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
OK, I've read a number of books on the Toyota Production System and if you are looking to implement or gain a better understanding, save your money and simply buy this book.

All other books try to add to the original idea and only succeed in taking something away from the original message.

No one can tell you how to implement the TPS but this book will give you the clear message and thinking behind what Taiichi Ohno did when developing the TPS at Toyota.

Mr Ohno is modest throughout, as he explains how he developed the system in an autobiographical style - it almost reads like a novel. He explains where things did not go well and where he failed, as well as what really worked.

If you work in manufacturing, this is a must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
What a great book this is! The English translation is packed full of information about the origins of the Toyota Production System and about what we now call lean thinking. The translator has done an excellent job - this reads really well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2007
This is a must read for any serious Lean Thinker. A great insight into the formation of the Toyota production system with historical and social context.

Ohno expresses the simple ideas which became the starting point for the formation of the Toyota Production system, this book is not about Toyota today, which is the end point. (And still evolving)

There are many books struggling to articulate what the end point is all about, so go to the start to gain profound understanding...

The history of Toyota goes to show how doing simple things consistently by EVERYONE can create a great company.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Taiichi Ohno is the recognised founder of the Toyota Production System which is now copied worldwide as lean manufacturing, this is his own story of the creation of TPS, and I think anyone who is even thinking about lean manufacturing should read this frist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2008
This book provides an excellent overview of how the Toyota Production System developed (and continues to develop), showing how the different tools and techniques are dependent on one another for success.

Throughout the book Ohno explains the thought processes that led to him to think the unthinkable, and experiment with ideas that are counter-intuitive for people trained in the world of mass production.

Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
Ohno was the pioneer, with Toyoda, of the Toyota Production System, what we now call Lean.

This book is not an easy read, however the insights and information to be gleaned are invaluable and well worth the effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)