Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lean manufacturing from the master
I was still a student in a manufacturing course when i first read this book. I have to admit that i did not understand much back then. After a while a read a couple of other books such as "lean thinking" and "the machine that changed the world".
I decided to read Mr. Ohno's book once more. It was at this time i realised his grandeur and his geneus. These are the the...
Published on 10 Jan. 2005

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Source of Lean Production but sadly disappointing
"Toyota Production System" was published in 1979 in Japanese and, in English in 1988. It is the source material on the toyota production system and, in my view, it is often good to go back to the source. Sadly, this book is disappointing. The writing style is clunky (perhaps a poor translation) and the book lacks structure; being more of a semi-random collection of points...
Published on 1 Nov. 2007 by Mr. Ross Maynard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lean manufacturing from the master, 10 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production (Hardcover)
I was still a student in a manufacturing course when i first read this book. I have to admit that i did not understand much back then. After a while a read a couple of other books such as "lean thinking" and "the machine that changed the world".
I decided to read Mr. Ohno's book once more. It was at this time i realised his grandeur and his geneus. These are the the ideas of the creator of lean manufacturing himself.
I typical japanese style every paragraph contains a small lesson that the lean practioner should know. This is a "must have" for all industrial engineers and industral managers. The book itself decribes the saven wastes, how they affect a manufacturing system, JIT principle, the Toyota "house of lean", kanban and a lot of other issue. Even if you know all these you must find out how Ohno himself perceived these issues. It is guaranteed to be a revelation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its the Starting point that counts, 12 May 2007
This review is from: Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production (Hardcover)
This is a must read for any serious Lean Thinker. A great insight into the formation of the Toyota production system with historical and social context.

Ohno expresses the simple ideas which became the starting point for the formation of the Toyota Production system, this book is not about Toyota today, which is the end point. (And still evolving)

There are many books struggling to articulate what the end point is all about, so go to the start to gain profound understanding...

The history of Toyota goes to show how doing simple things consistently by EVERYONE can create a great company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult material covered simply, 19 Feb. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production (Hardcover)
This is a short book and as such gets to the point. Explains difficult concepts in a simple way. This book explains how JIT, Kanban, Zero Defects came about. Also shows what is missing from American JIT and that is production leveling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Source of Lean Production but sadly disappointing, 1 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production (Hardcover)
"Toyota Production System" was published in 1979 in Japanese and, in English in 1988. It is the source material on the toyota production system and, in my view, it is often good to go back to the source. Sadly, this book is disappointing. The writing style is clunky (perhaps a poor translation) and the book lacks structure; being more of a semi-random collection of points than a development of ideas. Nevertheless there is some interesting stuff in here. For example, I didn't realise that Mr Ohno ranked kanban (with quick changeovers) as the core of the system and essential to success. Often in lean kanban seems to be a bit of a side issue: here it is vital. Also there is an interesting analysis of some of Henry Ford's early writings compared to TPS. This would be good material for a student essay. However, for the philosophy of TPS you will get much more out of "The Toyota Way" or "The Toyota Way Fieldbook"; and for the tools of lean go to "Lean Production Simplified" or the many other books in this area. This book is a bit of a let-down I am sad to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Written by a master!, 12 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production (Hardcover)
This book provides an excellent overview of how the Toyota Production System developed (and continues to develop), showing how the different tools and techniques are dependent on one another for success.

Throughout the book Ohno explains the thought processes that led to him to think the unthinkable, and experiment with ideas that are counter-intuitive for people trained in the world of mass production.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Irreversably Improved My Brain, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great book this is! The English translation is packed full of information about the origins of the Toyota Production System and about what we now call lean thinking. The translator has done an excellent job - this reads really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book., 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production (Hardcover)
Taiichi Ohno is the recognised founder of the Toyota Production System which is now copied worldwide as lean manufacturing, this is his own story of the creation of TPS, and I think anyone who is even thinking about lean manufacturing should read this frist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one book you should read, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, I've read a number of books on the Toyota Production System and if you are looking to implement or gain a better understanding, save your money and simply buy this book.

All other books try to add to the original idea and only succeed in taking something away from the original message.

No one can tell you how to implement the TPS but this book will give you the clear message and thinking behind what Taiichi Ohno did when developing the TPS at Toyota.

Mr Ohno is modest throughout, as he explains how he developed the system in an autobiographical style - it almost reads like a novel. He explains where things did not go well and where he failed, as well as what really worked.

If you work in manufacturing, this is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lean - from the Master, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Peter Bruch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production (Hardcover)
Ohno was the pioneer, with Toyoda, of the Toyota Production System, what we now call Lean.

This book is not an easy read, however the insights and information to be gleaned are invaluable and well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books you will ever read, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Allan Paterson (Wrexham, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production (Hardcover)
One of the best books you will ever read, don't hesitate because of the price, just buy it! Once you agree let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production
Toyota Production System: Beyond Large-Scale Production by Taiichi Ohno (Hardcover - 1 Mar. 1988)
£31.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews