Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for those wishing to use Reiki to treat others
A very informative book outlining the fundamental principles of Usui Reiki from gassho meditiation to using breath, tapping and massage as well as hands on healing touch.
The photographs of the original hand positions used by Dr Usui are excellent for Reiki practitioners and those wishing to treat others.
Published on 21 May 2002

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I was expecting a book that was more of a translation of the original handbook, but what I found was a book written by the co-author with references to the original. But that wasn't clear except for a few facsimiles of the original.

If you want to learn about Reiki, then I don't think this book is for you. But if you're already a Reiki practitioner then it's...
Published on 27 Oct 2008 by M. J. Parkes


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for those wishing to use Reiki to treat others, 21 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
A very informative book outlining the fundamental principles of Usui Reiki from gassho meditiation to using breath, tapping and massage as well as hands on healing touch.
The photographs of the original hand positions used by Dr Usui are excellent for Reiki practitioners and those wishing to treat others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It made my heart sing!, 18 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
When we heard that a copy of Dr Usui's Original Manual had been discovered our excitement overwhelmed us. A friend and I waited and waited for publication.
Eventually I received my copy and it really made my heart sing! The revelations revealed about the original Japanese Reiki Techniques confirmed everything. They also showed me so much more about how Dr Usui used different positions for different ailments. This information is invaluable to every Reiki practitioner due to the huge difference between JRT and the Western Oral Tradition.
I recommend this book to all of my Reiki students excellent for home study, homework and practise if one wishes to develop one's skills and work intuitively just like Dr Usui did.
Blessings to Frank Arjava Petter to have the courage to continue his search for truth and provide another publication touched with his heart.
being love
Kim Thomas
Reiki with Quan Yin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Reiki practitioners, 5 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
A valuable insight into the true roots of Reiki before it came to the West. The book is packed with photos and diagrams for treatment of all manner of mental and physical ailments and so in some ways could be seen as little more than a reference book. It does provide more than that though with information on Reiki's beginnings and newly re-discovered practices of Dr. Usui, the man who discovered Reiki.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and very useful for the practitioner., 24 May 2001
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
Frank Petter's books on Reiki are down to earth and useful for the Reiki practitioner. This one is the best Reiki book I have read to date, it dispells many of the so called rules that have been attributed to Dr Usui through the Western Masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete clarification of the Usui System of Natural Healing, 16 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
This book completes the trilogy of works from an author whose single minded and open minded pursuit of the truth surrounding the origins of Dr. Usui's wonderful healing system previously brought us "Reiki Fire", then "Reiki, The legacy of Dr.Usui". This however is the true "handbook", showing clearly the highly refined methods of using the system, and aimed at those who have worked with the Reiki energy for some time and have a grasp of the 'intuitive' quality of healing that can be achieved with the Usui system. It also makes very clear that the system brought to the west by Mrs.Takata, though a valid system was more indebted to Dr. Chirio Hayashi than Usui himself. To see how profound the Usui system really is all seasoned practitioners should have a copy of this latest offering from Arjava Petter. It is clear, concise, very readable, and really puts Reiki into a new light. Just for today-buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent aid to practice, 12 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. R. S. Sahota (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
An excellent read and with all of the photos to show the additional hand positions that Master Usui used, with variations to those and an encouragement to use intuition, this is a most welcome development from the 12 hand positions we are taught to use in the West. Good exercises too and dis-ease specific hand positions too. To be hyper-critical, only thing missing was Dr Usui's hand positions for distance treatments.. watch this space. Great work Frank, well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Reiki you'll love this book ! Buy it today !, 23 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
This book is a translation of the manual given to students of Reiki by Dr Usui.The book has been thoughtfully and beautifully produced and contains a wealth of photos depicting the original Reiki hand positions. It is really refreshing to get authentic verifiable information on the origins of Reiki when there is so much "channeled" nonsense written on the subject. For anyone genuinely interested in Reiki this book is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr Mikao Usui, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Benjamin Edom (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
As a Reiki practitioner and "master" since 1990 I've had constant niggling questions about Reiki as it's taught in the West. Having studied Japanese martial arts, the combination of soft, "healie feelie" approach and strict, fairly narrow range of hand positions has seemed incomplete, as if the whole story has not been told.

Now this is a very thin book and it certainly not the whole text of Dr Usui's student handbook, but it is packed with dense useable information, attitudes, pre-treatment preparation and other techniques that I have found myself incorporating intuitively from other disciplines I've met with along the way.

Transcribed,edited and annotated by a German married to a Japanese, ably assisted by her relatives, it has had to suffer further translation into English but, for the student of a deeper truth, it offers a gateway of insight to a much more authentic and profound experience of Reiki practice for the beginner as well as masters of the Usui Reiki Ryoho and other lineages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 27 Oct 2008
By 
M. J. Parkes "Myarka" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
I was expecting a book that was more of a translation of the original handbook, but what I found was a book written by the co-author with references to the original. But that wasn't clear except for a few facsimiles of the original.

If you want to learn about Reiki, then I don't think this book is for you. But if you're already a Reiki practitioner then it's good background information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting,very useful. Practical too!, 12 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui: The Traditional Usui Reiki Ryoho Treatment Positions and Numerous Reiki Techniques for Health and Well-being (Paperback)
Having completed a Reiki 1 course, I decied to try and find a useful book. There were way too many - which were way to complex, or airy fairy!!! ... but I happend to find this one. Its useful, clear and easy to follow. Plus its very clever in its simplicity or technique. No 70's style drawings... no naff bits that put me off.

Even my 'Reiki master' friend wanted to borrow it when she saw my copy... of course.. I said 'get yer own'...ho!ho! But i recomend this highly. Plus the techniques work for a reiki practitioner. One to refer to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews