Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 1999
Bishop KALLISTOS (Ware), famous for his companion volume "The Orthodox Church", presents in this offering a comprehensive approach to Orthodox spirituality. While "Church" deals with the history, organization, structure and basic theology of the Orthodox Church, "Way" is concerned exclusively on the Orthodox spiritual life -- the Orthodox "way" of spirituality. Having said that, since Orthodox theology is in its essence mystical and closely related to spirituality, KALLISTOS' book covers much spiritual theology from the Orthodox perspective. This is not a complicated treatise for experts, but a readable, usable guide for everyone wishing to uncover the incomparable glories of Orthodox spirituality. A tremendous guide to Orthodoxy "from the inside out".
0Comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2009
I bought this book whilst browsing through a cathedral bookshop a number of years ago. It literally changed my life. 2 years later I was received into the Orthodox Church and have never looked back. There were many threads leading to this conclusion but foundational among them was reading this book. Timothy Ware is an English born Bishop of the British Greek Orthodox Archdiocese and is better known to the Orthodox as Metropolitan Kallistos (his 'church' name). He, too, undertook a journey of faith and theology into the Eastern Orthodox Church as a young man and this book contains the fullness of his experience and wisdom in producing a characteristically succinct account of 'how' the Orthodox conceive Christian theology. His companion book, 'The Orthodox Church', contains more about the history and organization of the Church leaving this book to examine the underlaying beliefs common amongst all the different Orthodox jurisdictions (Greek, Russian, Serbian etc..).

It's not a long read, and I devoured it in an afternoon, but it leaves you thinking.
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2010
This is a basic must have book (along with the Orthodox Church by Ware as well) by a man many look to around the world as a sort of "pope" of the Eastern Orthodox Church, well academic wise. Almost any college with a comparative religions class will assign the Ware books the Orthodox Church and the Orthodox Way as a starting place for understanding a major branch of the now three branch Christian church of Eastern Orthodoxy, Roman Catholicism and Protestantism.

I heard this man speak not that many years ago in my town. He is a delightful leader and thinker for many around the globe. This is a book that needs to be on your shelf at home.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
Although I am not Eastern Orthodox, I can highly recommend this book to any Christian. It is clear about Orthodox doctrine, and presents it in a very appealing way: it is clear that Bishop Kallistos lives and loves his faith. He is also very well read, both in and outside the Orthodox tradition, and at the same time a good communicator. Buy it! Also, have a look at an even smaller book by him "The Power of the Name" on the Jesus prayer - brilliant stuff!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
A superb introduction to Orthodox Christianity. A book that is very much written for the lay reader but that also manages to convey the deep richness of the Orthodox spiritual way. For those of us who are western, and thus unfamiliar with the Eastern Orthodox Church, the book unearths the various differences in theology and praxis between the eastern and western church, but without confusing the reader with terminology or comprehensive theology. Such differences, can be in certain respects, rather astounding and very thought provoking indeed, but without losing the essential fundamental similarities that all Christian churches/ denominations hold. Orthodoxy is a beautiful but simple form of Christianity where the church is considered a hospital for its flock as opposed to a court of law, which unfortunately can often be the perspective in western Christendom. Orthodoxy seems to offer that middle way between the sole authority of the church ( Catholicism) and the sole authority of the individual (Protestantism). Therefore the book is an essential read for those whom wish to broaden their perspectives of Christianity. A particular orthodox teaching that stands out for me is that a God of love does not create a place called Hell. Conversely, Heaven and Hell are the same place, they are being in the presence of God, and it is the person's own perspective of being in this presence that makes such an experience either Heaven or Hell...wow!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
A very well written book, explaining with care and sensitivity the basic outlines of Orthodox belief and spiritual practice. A lovely variety of source material is also used and cited for those wishing to explore the themes of the book in greater detail. Well worth having on your bookshelf
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
You need to go to Timothy Ware's earlier book "The Orthodox Church" for a full analysis of history and outline of general theological position. however this little volume offers a most helpful insight into the Orthodox way of looking at things. Well backed up by quotes from EO "fathers". I have read both his books and feel I appreciate the EO position much better than before, and found backing for some of the movements in my own spiritual life. That said I am very clear there is no way I could follow him into it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
A very clear, succinct and impactful explanation of Orthodox Christianity which not only makes perfect sense but also answers those doubting questions and contradictions which exist in post-reformation western Christianity.

If the Disciples could be transported through time to visit modern churches, there's no question that they would find the Orthodox Church's liturgies recognisably familiar to their first century worship.

Kallistos Ware does a great job of explaining esoteric theological concepts and making them accessible to the lay people. The book has a good structure which builds progressively in each chapter.

Without being critical of the Roman Catholic and protestant churches, the author makes it very clear what has been lost from their versions of Christianity over the 1000 years since the schism.

The quotations and reference notes (comprising almost half the page count) are impeccable.

I found this book so enjoyable and inspiring that as soon as I finished it I went back to the beginning and started reading it again. I can't say that about many books! Very highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
This is a clear and helpful exposition of the Orthodox faith. It is thoughtful and compassionate, and does not try to evade the "hard questions". The author quotes from a wide range of sources from the early Christian Fathers to Dostoevsky and beyond to illustrate his points. If you wish to understand the Orthodox Church, and its roots, I don't think there can be a better place to start. If you wish to read further, there is an extensive bibliography at the end which makes it possible to follow up the quotations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
I knew a little about the author and was thus led to read further. Peter Ware is a very easy to read writer giving plenty of food for deep thought. My reason for buying the book was to learn more about orthodox Christianity, it serves it's purpose well. It would be well worth keeping on your shelf and rereading perhaps several times. As with any great work ti is full of pointers to further reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)