Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


172 of 172 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bees at the bottom of the garden
Bees at the bottom of the garden By Alan Campion, illustrated by Gay Hodgson
If I were asked to recommend one book for the novice beekeeper this would be it. Campion has distilled a large amount of information and presented it in an easy to understand manner. The drawings by Gay Hodgson bring the text to life.
Campion begins with an introduction to the honeybee...
Published on 29 Nov 2002 by Michael Bain

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly updated, and amaturish
I bought this book as its the text book that all the "bee keeping starter" kits come with and I'm disappointed.

It does contain useful information and if you were to take up bee keeping and only read one book then it probably contains all the information you need. But, it does come across as a book written by an amateur in that the information is uneven in...
Published on 16 Jun 2009 by Jeremy Pack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars New to Bees, 14 Feb 2011
By 
P. Elliott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
A well written book I was new to bee keeping and found this a useful source of information. If you are thinking of keeping bees then this is a book you need to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beginners' book, 26 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
This is a great little (112 page) book, particularly for those thinking about starting beekeeping or have recently taken the step. The authors have avoided offering too much detail, which could swamp and discourage even the stout hearted. Practical advice, gentle humour and lovely illustrations make the volume an easy and pleasurable read. A nice touch is the summary of dealing with a swarm - quick reference that starts with the words "Don't panic...."!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bees at the Bottom of the Garden, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Alan Ormston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
This book is recommended by many forums and many beeks and is very good for it's ease of reading and it's content. I would recommend to any aspiring beeks out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bees at the bottom of the garden, 5 May 2010
By 
L. Lambert (Tyne and Wear. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
A very infomative book. Uncomplicated with a touch of humour that is bound to make you smile. An easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great beginners bee-keeping book, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. D. HANSON (University of Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
This book is easy to read and a great start for new bee-keepers. It is practical and helpful without going over the top and becomming overwhelming. I would really recommend it as a starting point to bee-keeping before you will inevitably move on to other more complex books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for new beekeepers, 22 April 2010
By 
K. A. Parker (cornwall, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
Great book about beekeeping which covers all the basics without being too confusing. Everyone thinking about keeping bees should read this! I am new to bee keeping and constantly refer to it, haven't come across anything yet that isn't covered in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bees at the bottom of your Garden, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Edward Barrass "Roman Soldier" (County Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
Very good reading, I would recomend this book to any one iterested in starting Bee Keeping, I have gleened & got more information from this book, that others I have bought in the last year, A good book for any beekeeper old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bees at the bottom of the garden, 5 Oct 2009
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
Excellent book for both beginner and old hand, first borrowed this book from our bee keepers library, liked it and so decided to have my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bees at the bottom of the garden, 13 April 2010
By 
G. S. Allison "Ocean Waves" (SouthYorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
A good all round book,gives a good insight to beekeeping.Excellent for the beginner and would recommend it to any one thinking of keeping bees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEES - A BEGINNERS GUIDE, 4 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bees at the Bottom of the Garden (Paperback)
GOOD LITTLE BOOK FOR A BEGINNER LIKE ME - VERY INFORMATIVE AND LOOKS LIKE A GOOD GUIDE TO WORK FROM - EASY TO READ AND UNDERSTAND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bees at the Bottom of the Garden
Bees at the Bottom of the Garden by Alan Campion (Paperback - 6 Sep 2001)
£8.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews