Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRAW YOUR FAVOURITE COMIC BOOK CAPERS AND VILLAINS.
When I was told about a book on how to draw comic superhero's like Spiderman and Thor, I had to buy it. Though being a DC Comics fan Ii thought this book could help me give my drawings more atomsphere and feeling.
If you want to learn how to draw the right way then get this book.
This book teaches you how to draw faces, feet, hands, bodies and everything need to...
Published on 5 Jun 2002 by Mr. Al Price

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars this book is easily read, but leaves out many potential interesting details
This is a must have for true Marvel fans who want to learn from two of the masters in the comic world! With that said, there is only little to be learned from this book. Having sparesome text, this book is easily read, but leaves out many potential interesting details. Therefore I would recommend this book only to yound teens/children who are learning the very basics, or...
Published 8 days ago by Bo Thomas Michelsen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRAW YOUR FAVOURITE COMIC BOOK CAPERS AND VILLAINS., 5 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. Al Price (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
When I was told about a book on how to draw comic superhero's like Spiderman and Thor, I had to buy it. Though being a DC Comics fan Ii thought this book could help me give my drawings more atomsphere and feeling.
If you want to learn how to draw the right way then get this book.
This book teaches you how to draw faces, feet, hands, bodies and everything need to create that perfect picture.
It also teaches you and gives you tips on drawing things in perspective and the use of shadow to show more realistic characters and scenes.
Even at 17 years old I found this book very good to learn from, in my eyes probably the best book on drawing comic book characters and scenes around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate beginners guide to comic drawing, 27 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
As someone with little or no drawing talent but a real love of comic books, I bought this title to see if i could perhaps learn a little about how it's all done. The book not only does that, it entertains and informs on a lot more as well. It's a real nuts and bolts guide on how to get started as an artist, working right from the basics on how to draw all the way through to completing your own comic book.
Most interesting of all is the Marvel design and composition philosophy laid out by the inimitable Stan Lee, basically an illustrated guide on how to 'direct' the action going on within the pages you create. To say something has 'comic-book action' is usually used in a derogatory sense, but when you see the Marvel scene next to a run of the mill scene you learn to appreciate the time and thought that went into it.
The only downside is the lack of colour, either in the pages or in the training guide itself, and it concentrates almost exclusively on pencil and ink creations. However, as it's aimed squarely at the beginner this is no big loss. Just creating one of the comic pages in the lessons took me hours of tongue-chewing concentration, but the fact that I created it at all, let alone had the urge to sit there doing it for so long has to speak volumes for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of comic drawing, 28 Dec 2007
By 
S. A. Funnell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
If you have a small talent for drawing and you are pulled towards illustrating your own comics or characters, then this is the best book you can buy as a platform to build on. If you are wondering as to why your superheroes look out of proportion or you want to capture them in an amazing dramatic pose, then take a look in the book. It shows you every aspect of creating characters and storybooks, with a word on inking thrown in too. I also own the DC Comics Guide to Pencilling, and that really is a poor cousin in comparison to this book. Yes, the characters may look a bit dated as this came out a million years ago, however study this book, refer back to it, and take your drawings to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
Some people warned me when I was thinking about buying this book that it wouldn't help me in developing a drawing skill because it was not a "How to Draw Book", but man were they wrong. Stan Lee' enthusiasm shines like a light house in the dark throughout the book, helping the reader 'get into the mood' and John Buscema' art work is (as per usual) fantastic. Not only does it help develop your skill but begins from scratch and is an amazing book for the begginer (more so than an intermediate artist). In my view the only thing missing is a little splash of colour in the pages that follow the front cover. If you want to learn to draw comics books (not only the hero and villian figures but also objects, perspective, inking, rendering [shading], front cover design and almost everything else you could think of. then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong foundation for drawing comics, 24 July 2003
By 
Mr M Brown (Bristol, Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
This book is a good place to begin if you're trying to start your own comic. It is aimed at beginners and will not offer much to the more experienced artist. Buy this if you are a novice with no experience in comic art, it will help greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing Comics The Marvel Way!, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
Perhaps the first and only book you should ever think of reading if you are serious about getting into drawing comics as a living. Stan Lee provides the actual information following on with John Buscema's classic artwork which both add a brilliant art instruction with clear and solid info about all the processes that you need to know about drawing comic book characters, pages and also drawing a comic book cover.

You'll find the book inspirational and clear and easy to read, just the section on perspective you may need to re-read again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point for any aspiring comic book artist, 1 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
Upon opening the book, you are immediately hit by how dated it looks. The art is from the days of Kirby (and Buscema), and reflects a time when color seperation was one color per block. Once over your possible reaction against (or in favour of) the arts age, you start to realise just how good a book it is. The book starts you of gently, and gives you a good learning curve, adding new techniques chapter by chapter, encouraging you to experiment with new ways of doing the same thing. There is a definate emphasis on Marvel Superheroes, but seing as may will not be recogniseable (often due to depiction rather than modern day obscurity) to all but the most knowledgeable comic buff, that really shouldn't bother anyone. The format takes a simple step by step approach, with an entertaining commentry from Stan Lee. In many ways, it is Stan's writing that make this book work. The book could so easily have been an incomprehensible, boring textbook, instead of an enjoyable, easy read. If it's fun, you learn better, and in this respect, the book is absolutely perfect. Since I've been so gushing about the book, why haven't I given it 5 crowns you may be wondering? Well, the answer is simple, It deserves 5 crowns for the starter, but if you have already advanced sufficiently (and that amount is not particularly "loads") it rapidly becomes useles, due to the fact that it doesn't go into great depths about technique. It quickly outlives it's usefulnes. Mind you, for that price, Idon't think you'd be lamenting it all that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvel a marvel?, 14 May 2003
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
As a whole this book gives a nice insight into what drawing techniques Marvel use. Though I did find that many techniques are found in any drawing book such as describing form, dynamics, perspective and foreshortening. No bad thing of course.
Where I found this book to be most insightful was on the topic of action, creating a figure pose that gives the illusion of dramatics; and composing interesting scenes.
The only disapointment I experienced with this book is the exclusion on muscle structure and the dynamics of clothes etc. So you may be able to produce a superb rough of a character but not know how the muscle and outerwear should be in order to make it look correct.
Overall a nice book, well presented and food for thought. If you are a fan of Marvel then it certainly is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it!, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
My son has caught the cartoon drawing bug and pestered me to purchase this book. It has been money well spent as the book shows in steps how to create those well known marvel characters. It also provides support to bring the characters to life with explicit instructions. Would highly recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What goes into the creation of a Marvel Super-character, 10 Mar 2002
This review is from: How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn the basics of line drawing and the guidelines for producing a Marvel-esque Superhero or villan.
Stan Lee talks too much and John Buscema justs lets his art do his talking - but I guess thats to be expected.
Sure there's other ways of drawing a supercharacter - but this is a great place to begin before branching out with your own ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way
How to Draw Comics the "Marvel" Way by John Buscema (Paperback - 1 Sep 1986)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews