Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lancaster Target, 4 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
This is the most amazing book. My grandfather flew Lancasters in the 2nd World War, and this gave me a real insight into the astonishing things that happened during that time, the risks the crews faced, and the lottery of survival. I cannot recommend it strongly enough, it is thoroughly readable, and manages to tell the story of one crew in a human, touching, yet humorous way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 April 2009
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
The best books about the 2nd World War I have found are usualy written by the people involved in the conflict, this is no exception. Jack Currie tells his and his crews story without heroics and describes what life was like in those dark days. This is not a book filled with dates and times, it's about the fears and triumphs of flying Lancasters over Europe facing the threat of Flac, Night Fighters and the loss of fellow crews. The fact that as a nation we have largly forgotton the sacrifice made by these brave men is obscene. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lest we forget, 9 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. Paul B. White "Paul White" (Marshfield, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
Probably one of the greatest books ever written about life on a bomber station during the war. In today's world we cannot begin to contemplate how stressful it must have been flying to Germany night after night "running the gauntlet" and defying the odds!

Wickenby (where Mr Currie was stationed), in Lincolnshire is a small village with its airfield just down the road, and this book is so evocative of the times and the area. You'll find yourself wanting to visit!

Jack Currie is one of my heroes (in the true sense of the word)as are the many 1,000's like him who we have to thank in order to be able to write reviews like this!! He deserves the highest accolade having written such a poignant book. I salute you, Sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the typesetting, 1 April 2011
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
This must be one of the best books about Bomber Command in WW2. Unfortunately, there are so many typographical errors in it it somewhat spoils it for me - not, of course caused by the author, but by sloppy typesetting by the publisher.
Read and enjoy, but if I proof-read it there would be a correction on nearly every page-Lancaster Target
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lancaster Target, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
Bought for my 89 year old dad who was a navigator in Bomber Command. So difficult to get any book about WW2/Lancasters/Bomber Command that he hasn't read. He was delighted with it and can't wait to get home after Christmas and read it in peace and quiet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Read, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Terry (Nottingham, Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
This must be one of the best books to come out of the second world war. Incredibly well written and easy to read it is the story of a heavy bomber pilot who mainly flew Lancasters from RAF Wickenby. A wonderful story of the heros of the night skies and the terrible things they had to endure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quite stunning book!, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
I read this book many years ago and it remains as part of my 'Bomber Command' library. It is amazing well written and, is in my view, one of the two best books ever written about life on a WW2 bomber station at the height of the bomber offensive. The other book is 'No Moon Tonight' by Don Charlwood. I cannot recommend this book highly enough to all those who want an understanding of what the young bomber crews had to endure on behalf of a largely grateful nation. It is an outstanding read in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Middle of 3 books describing the life of a Bomber Command pilot., 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
Covers the period of his first tour flying Lancasters and describes the period in a balanced format that just says it how it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight., 3 Oct 2013
By 
J. Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
This is an extremely entertaining & informative book, I bought "No Moon Tonight" at the same time & together they show totally different facets of life in the RAF in 1943. Lancaster Target has a remarkably light hearted air to it whilst describing terrifying events & as such is very authentic. My Uncle served in the RAF as a flight engineer & was killed in action in 1943, this book has helped greatly in trying to understand what life may have been like for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancaster Target (Paperback)
Fascinating story very effectively told - you really had the sense of "being there" in time recommended for anyone interesting in WWII
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf12a20)

This product

Lancaster Target
Lancaster Target by Jack Currie (Paperback - Feb 2004)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews