Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New English Hymnal
Still one of the standard hymnals. The hard bound music copy has the advantage of just being light enough for a chorister to carry without feeling their arm will drop off.
Published on 2 May 2009 by Odin

versus
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor
Prospective purchasers need to be warned of two hazards: first if you want the traditional words unspoiled by ideological interference don't get this book. It *appears* to have the best of the hymns in the English language but many of the greatest have been rewritten by the editors, many in a clunky unpoetic style that isn't even grammatical. It's no worse than Hymns Old...
Published on 30 Jan 2011 by Catherine Osborne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Catherine Osborne (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
Prospective purchasers need to be warned of two hazards: first if you want the traditional words unspoiled by ideological interference don't get this book. It *appears* to have the best of the hymns in the English language but many of the greatest have been rewritten by the editors, many in a clunky unpoetic style that isn't even grammatical. It's no worse than Hymns Old and New and a number of others, but it's not a reliable source of the words you remember and love. The ideology behind the revisions is largely naive misunderstanding of the theology (not political correctness and gender as in some modern books) but there is some political correctness too. For the original words of long standing hymns, and a fuller selection of these, buy The ENGLISH HYMNAL, not the NEW ENGLISH HYMNAL (note that the latter is not a new edition of the former but a completely different collection). In many cases the original non-copyright words of the lyrics can be found in online hymnals better than in printed hymn books.
The second is that the most recent copies are very badly printed (printed in China apparently) and in some cases the music is almost unreadable. The pages are sticky, and the lines of the music staves are intermittent. I'm not sure you can tell from this site whether you're getting one of the bad ones. Take care not to buy the ones with a small gold number on the back cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New English Hymnal, 2 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
Still one of the standard hymnals. The hard bound music copy has the advantage of just being light enough for a chorister to carry without feeling their arm will drop off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected perils of reprints, 19 Sep 2012
By 
R. SLATER - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
I carefully ordered the same edition of this hymn book as the one I use in my church choir, but the downside of going for an older edition is that it seems to be a 'special' reprint on light semi-transparent paper. This means that the music on the next page is visible on the one I am reading, some pages are a bit faint and the fragility of the paper makes it unsuitable for the rough and tumble of choir use. It is fine for what I want, which is to have a reference hymnal at home to rehearse unknown hymns in advance of services without having to heave a heavy hymnbook to and fro. But if you are looking for something for general use either buy second hand or check if the current edition is printed in a more robust format. This is one where you are probably better going to a bookshop rather than risking disappointment on line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was after, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
I ordered this as a Christmas present for my Dad, and it's exactly what he wanted. It has many of the traditional hymns plus full harmonies in it and they're in an easy to read font as well. If you're after a traditional hymn book you can't really go wrong here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Content good but print quality is down on older version, 14 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
The content remains classic and one needs to renew copies from time to time as they wear. But it is sadly true that - as another reviewer noted - the quality seems to have dropped a bit - the pages are thinner or something, it's just not quite as easy to read. Still, the price is being held down which in these straightened times is something all churches are grateful for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The NEH, 2 Oct 2009
By 
R. C. Strand - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
The music edition of the New English Hymnal is all that one expects.There are intelligent updates amending the earlier version, and it remains the definitive hymn book, especially for High Anglican use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Verbal and Musical Delights, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Oliver W. Bedford (Queenscliff, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
Magnificent hymns (both traditional and relatively modern), excellent music, well presented and clearly printed. Hymnbooks don't come much beter than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL WORDS + FULL MUSIC - BRILLIANT, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
Ideal for anyone in a choir - has the full music and words - bought it for a friend who had was christened and he was delighted.

The book was quickly delivered in a strong packaging from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hymn Book, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
I sing in a Church choir and the hymn book I had been using was quite an old copy. I decided to purchase my own copy and was thrilled with the copy I received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery and in good nick., 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) (Hardcover)
Quick delivery and in good nick. Needed this for a Church Service at a church that uses it. They had melody only books but, as a small choir assisting service, we needed harmony version. It arrived in time for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book)
The New English Hymnal: Full Music and Words: Full Music and Words E (Hymn Book) by The New English Hymnal Company (Hardcover - 1 Jan 1986)
£21.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews