Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my preferred Munro book, 25 May 2011
By 
K. H. Tonge "Ken Tonge" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
I just bought a new copy. The one I had since the 1980s got lost. I like this book because it gave me routes on less complex mountains that even I could do as an inexperienced hill-walker. Just look for lesser ascent heights and times in the descriptive texts. These easier mountains got me accustomed to Scottish conditions in easy stages. The other popular Munro bagger's book, by Cameron McNeish, has quite a few tough, long expeditions with a lot of ascent. It's a nice guide to alternative ways of doing the hills, but I think Bennett is a better buy for the beginner or anyone who is not super fit. When you've done a couple of dozen hills and have confidence in your ability to navigate and map-read you'll find yourself devising your own routes using Bennett as an initial guide. You will need the appropriate OS maps and a compass (and know how to use them) as a minimum for the actual walk. But this book will let you sit at home beforehand and plan your route on the OS map. That planning stage is most important as a learning exercise and the pleasure of anticipation that you get is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide for the Scottish hillwalker, 25 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
This book is the definitive guide to the Munros. Every one of them is given a detailed description of how to climb it with photos, maps and a good description of the route(s). If you've never climbed a Munro in your life, but want to start, this is the book for you. Buy it today and you'll never need to go to a gym again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Book, 17 Jan 2011
By 
J. J. McDONALD (Coatbridge, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
I'm not the first and I'll certainly not be the last to refer to this work as 'The Scottish Hillwalker's Bible'. It almost seems redundant to recommend it. Anyone serious about climbing Munros knows already that this is the book you must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just walk, 29 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
A Great book with all the info you need to get walking in the mountains of Scotland. The photos are amazing (and actually even without the text would be worth buying the book for that)

Pros
Easy to follow the routes and several choices suggested for each Munro.

Cons
The diagrams of ascents are not so easy to follow when you are preparing your walk the night before (unlike Cameron McNeish's book which has very good drawings of routes)

All in all however I much prefer this book and well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Munro climbers must have!, 2 Oct 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
This book was recommended to me by an elderly gentleman who has climbed the Munroes many times. Ideal to carry on walks and do take heed of the recommendations and safety tips. Even for the experienced climber this book is useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Munros Guide, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
Great book, good pictiures, maps and descriptions.... just need to get out now and complete them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hillwalking in scotland, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
Great book full of information on the munroes of scotland, easy to follow, good book for every hillwalker on planning their journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
This is a great book - very informative and has good pictures and detailed information about each Munro. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good reference for Scottish hillwalking, 12 July 2010
By 
Mr. R. C. Mundy (Aberdeen, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
The SMC munro guide is a good (and robust) hardback to keep at home when planning munro walking trips in highland Scotland. It features a listing of all munros by height and gives desciptions, photos and sketch maps of each mountain, grouped by region.

You will still need a proper map to undertake most of these walks, but the SMC guide is useful in suggesting which routes are feasible and in giving a feel what a route is like. It also gives distances and estimated walking times.

A really nice book to own, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the munros SMC hillwalkers guide, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide (Hardcover)
this book is brilliant it has all the information you need to start munro bagging with loads of photos so you know what the area is like before you get there you still require the relevant maps and compass etc no book is a substitute for good navigation skills and map reading capabillity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide
The Munros: Scottish Mountaineering Club Hillwalkers' Guide by Donald J. Bennet (Hardcover - 15 April 2006)
20.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews