Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true adventurer, 25 April 2010
By 
Ronald Allan (North yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
If you are wondering, "Should I buy this book?", the answer is Yes! But first buy and read the compilation of mountain travel books.

Tilman was one of the greatest explorers this country has ever produced, his expeditions to the Himalaya and central Asia in the 30's, 40's and 50's set new standards and also a model of lightweight, self sufficient travel and exploration which is emulated to this day. His exploits in Africa during the 20's are a really good read (he cycled from Uganda to the west coast of Africa to save money on a steamer fare) and his service during WW11 behind with partisans enemy lines in Yugoslavia and Italy were truly heroic. All covered in the mountain travel books. Starting to get the picture?

And all this before he started buying 70 year old sailing boats and travelling to Heard Island, the South Shetlands, Greenland and Jan Mayen Island in his 60's and 70's in order to go climbing because he felt he was too old for the Himalaya.

All his books are laced through with a dry wit and self deprecating humour, an acceptance of facing up to difficulties, working out the solution and being self sufficient. No radios, flares or life rafts was a rule on his voyages. Now the sailing voyages may not have discovered new places or indeed served any particular purpose, but what they do is keep alive the philosophy of setting an objective and going for it without the need for vast support teams or necessarily modern equipment. Just put your (climbing or sea) boots on and go.

In terms of the writing itself, OK there are a few typos and reading the books in succession does lead to a bit of repetition regarding the description of the boats and use of his favourite quotations, but this is more than made up for by the sense of adventure and wit. What might now be considered some old fashioned attitudes come through at times but the books were a product of the times and the writer's background, he treated all his companions as equals and you will struggle to find anyone with a disparaging word for Tilman.

Yes you should buy this book, it has value beyond price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old school Adventuring, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
L. Kenny (South Georgia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
A cracking compilation of well-written sailing-mountaineering adventures. Tilman seemed to thrive on the raw elements, facing hardships and misfortune and basically just getting on with it. Despite often being let down by those beside him, he seemingly never let this dampen his enthusiasm for the goal of adventure in far flung places. His accounts launch quickly into action, once the vessel and assembled crew has been briefly introduced. Living on board a cramped sailing vessel, experiencing the constant damp, turning out in all weathers and being in such close proximity to all sorts may not an experience fondly remembered by all - often the reality falls far short of the idyllic notion that spurned one to ditch one's shore clothes and hop aboard. Tilman tells it very matter-of-fact and sometimes the truth isn't as rosy-coloured as we'd like it to be. He mightn't have been perfect but his writing isn't far off it. A lovely read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the 20th c. Tilman was one of the last real adventurers, 30 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
Tilman demonstrated thet it was and is still possible to find real challenges in our times. Sailing old and small craft to some of the most remote and still wild places on earth, he in some ways, went to re-create the journeys of adventurers in centuries before. This book is filled with wonderful tales of discovery, hardship and triumph in his quest. In some ways Tilman was driven to the wilder places on earth, but that drive lives in the heart of many of us, in this age he, however, had the courage to do it. A truly good read for anyone with a hint of the outdoors in their soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of nearly 1.000 pages, intersting? YES!, 4 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
This book I read first time a year ago and thought it fantastic!
Recommended it widely, and it was interesting to see the readers different approaches!
First time I read it, I must admit it was nearly too much, in this enormous volume, and I had some difficult to grip it all.
Don't misunderstand mre, ther are not a word to much in it, rather the opposite. Still it got 5 +, highest on my personal rating list!

Second time, finished it last week, it was, if possible,even better, actually much better!
So much wisdom, so many marvellous citations, such a rich life and such a man!

I would have given a bit of a finger to have sailed with him!
Congratulations to all you who had the opportunity.
What did I put for a value thais time?
For the third time in my 50 years of reading, ++++(+), that's 5 + plus (!) one (+).
Happened only to WSC before!

You can't buy it at Amazon from abroad, a pity, but I bought 100s of books from ABE books, so it's OK.

But it.
Enjoy it.
Be amazed.
It's true!

The wind is free!

Doc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Tilman tribute, 31 May 2012
By 
Steve Law "Sven" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
An excellent purchase. Tilman writes in a rather erudite style which is as much as my perception of his manner and mentality. I had read parts of one of his trips before but a re-read only confirmed that his style suits my reading requirement. Few details are left unmentioned and his tremendously self-depreciative and modest style sets the scene perfectly. His drive and stoic attitude could be a lesson to us all. He seems a man who did not suffer fools easily or tolerated less than total commitment. I was lucky enough to meet a man who had been with Bill on his circum-navigation of Spitzbergen expedition and he had nothing but good to say about him. A great companion volume to his 8 Mountain exploration book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EIGHT SAILING/MOUNTAIN -EXPLORATION BOOKS, 29 May 2013
By 
A. R. Burnham (BUCKINGHAMSHIRE UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
I FIND THESE TYPES OF BOOKS FASCINATING AND ONCE I PICK THEM UP AND START READING I CANT PUT THEM DOWN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
I didn't think I would like this book which somebody recommended to me. But each of the books are wonderfully written and humorous. My knowledge of nautical terms has improved somewhat as well! Book arrived promptly from ordering and was in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The eight sailing/mountain-exploration books, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
Over all very pleased with the book ,this book was bought for a friend who is very pleased weigh it .very quick delivery .A+++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation) (Hardcover)
A great read. Tilman doesn't waste words so I won't either. The true spirit of adventure lives on in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Exploration Books (Mischief in Patagonia/Mischief Among the Penguins/Mischief in Greenland/Mostly Mischief/Mischief Goes ... With Everything/Triumph and Tribulation)
The Eight Sailing/Mountain-Explo
ration
by H W Tilman (Hardcover - 1 July 1989)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews