Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2008
I've read at least 10 pig books in the past couple of years, but this gets my vote as the best one for the small-scale pig keeper. Covers everything you need to know (including what to do if you have to raise piglets without the mother's help, something a surprising number of books ignore) without going into too much mind-boggling detail. There are a lot of great pig books out there, but most of them are aimed at pig farms. This is more geared towards the smallholder, pet pig owner or hobbyist. And isn't the pig on the front cover just great?!!!
22 comments|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
This book is a great help when making an informed decision as to whether to begin keeping pigs on a small scale. It has lots of information you will need to think about before your pigs arrive. There is good information on housing and fencing and pointers on what you will need to either make yourself or buy in. The book includes information on various pig breeds, health and breeding. Everything a beginner needs to know, but not too heavy going. Our book never spends long on the book shelf as we keep referring back to it ! Highly recommended.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
If you're new to pig keeping this is a good book to start with, very good sound advice offered which will help you through those first nerve wracking weeks of pig keeping. Mine is somewhat tattered and coffee stained and well thumbed. Highly recommended
0Comment|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
I purchased this book without any prior knowledge of pig farming, I had been interested in looking at the different business options of rearing pigs. This book was a pleasure to read with a great emphasis on pig welfare and best practice. The author reflects his experience and skills well in this book, and what a great price for a book with so much useful information. Well worth the few pounds!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
This is a great book for people who want to see all aspects of keeping pigs, so just waiting for some extra space so we can put the theory into practice.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
This is a fantastic little book for all new pig keepers, full of facts and useful information rather than pages of nondescript words! Would recomend this to all pig keepers.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Brought this and another pig book at the same time - this is nicely written and is a good start off book.

I am looking at having pigs this year but think I really need something a little bit more informative - have been on a course so have basics its the rest I need.

Having chickens and going through trying to work out whats wrong with them health wise (three had Mycoplasma when we brought them - not that we knew!) - I now like books that give lots of info on illnesses, what to look out for and how to treat - the other book I brought has a bit more info.

Between the two hopefully I should be able to cope when they arrive - taking them to slaughter - well thats another thing.......
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
dear andy . if i ever met you i'd tell you how much i love you. this guy is soooooo fond of pigs. you can feel him stretching out to you to say 'love them'. he is kind caring and compassionate of pigs. his book is warm and serious and i love it - and him for it. this guy is a gold mine of info on everything to do with these clever animals. if you want to buy one book on pigs, this one'll be it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
I thought this was a great introduction to anyone thinking of keeping pigs. It was informative without going into too much detail
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
Very helpful guide but quite basic. Would recommend to people contemplating pig keeping, and useful for beginners. I would suggest one of Kate Humbles courses for a more realistic idea of what pigs are like to deal with before you take the plunge, also you need to see the different breeds first hand and experience their different temperaments and ease of handling... maybe try a local farmer or ag college. Very useful book though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)