Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best badger book around
This beautifully produced book is simply fantastic. The paper is of a very high quality, as are the numerous photographs, some of which are astounding. The book is well chapterised, academically referenced, and answers just about any query one could possibly have about the European badger. It deals with the badger's biology, its home and environs, diet, patterns of...
Published on 2 Dec. 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Book was not in very good condition
Published 2 months ago by mr e c glenwright


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best badger book around, 2 Dec. 2006
By 
This beautifully produced book is simply fantastic. The paper is of a very high quality, as are the numerous photographs, some of which are astounding. The book is well chapterised, academically referenced, and answers just about any query one could possibly have about the European badger. It deals with the badger's biology, its home and environs, diet, patterns of behaviour, reproductive and parenting habits, demography, badgerwatching, and there is also a well-researched chapter on Bovine TB. It is slightly expensive, but is probably underpriced, considering its all-round quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Factually Accurate, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
With all the "politics" about badgers in the UK, it is not easy to get unbiased information. This book provides a wealth of factually-accurate data, and lots of illuminating anecdotes about many many years of badger watching. Whilst it 'aint the cheapest badger book, do not be deterred by the price; as it is absolutely worth every single penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without doubt, the best badger book, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
Truly the best book about badgers. It combines in-depth factual information with the authors experience and many illuminating anecdotes about badgers and their nocturnal behaviour. It is a book that every-one who studies or deals with badgers should read from cover to cover, and keep on their shelf for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on it's subject !, 29 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. K. Fitzgerald "kenif" (Maldon,essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As an active badger support worker of some years, this book is without doubt the best available on the subject of the eurasian badger, as it occurs in the UK.
While providing a wealth of information, there are personal anecdotes that brighten up what could become a heavy 'purely factual' reference book. The amount of 'real' information should meet the needs of even the most serious student of these fascinating and sometimes much eroniously maligned, though highly popular, animals.
The price of this book is a bit daunting, but for anyone who is serious about the subject, it is well worth the outlay. Given the levels of interest in 'badgery' kind a reprint would not come amiss !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into badgers world, 30 April 2010
This review is from: Badgers (British Natural History Series) (Hardcover)
I first got into badgers back in the 80s when I watched the retro cartoon "the racoons"...shortly after this I saw what I thought was a racoon but my father informed me it was in fact a badger. From then on I was fascinated by badgers and have collected many items relating to them. My collection boasts a variety of books etc as well as genuine stuffed badgers, some of which I stuffed myself...I love stuffing a badger.

This book is definately up there with the best in my collection, it's in depth detail and high quality images of badgers are a by far the best I've seen, particularily the close ups of some of the badgers, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Badger Revenge, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgers (British Natural History Series) (Hardcover)
I was driving through the English countryside in February 2013 with my girlfriend and we saw a dead badger on the side of the road and then another a further mile up the road. We encountered one more dead badger about a mile later and my girlfriend informed me that the badgers were coming out of winter hibernation and confused and thus walking onto the road to their deaths. 'Do badgers hibernate?' I asked. 'Yes, they do' she replied adamantly 'along with hedgehogs and other woodland creatures'. I took out my phone and googled badgers only to find out that British badgers definitely DO NOT hibernate. This book has subsequently been the perfect birthday gift for my girlfriend as it has allowed her to study the habits of badgers properly and it reminds her not to talk of the top of her head about even ridiculous things like badgers. The word badger is now the perfect conduit in almost any situation with which to ask, 'do you really know what you're talking about?' This is a great book. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, 10 Jun. 2010
By 
S. Lewis "Sash" (Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Badgers (British Natural History Series) (Hardcover)
This is a super book which all badger-lovers will appreciate. It should also be required reading for all those in Wales and England who are currently moving towards further culling of badgers with a view to eliminating bovine TB, as it explains, carefully, sensibly and objectively, why culling is a disgraceful waste of money which only makes the problem worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Badger Bible, 25 Mar. 2009
By 
It is one of the foremost books on the subject of Badgers, it has an indepth account of their ecology, behaviour, and their management.
Ernest Neal and Chris Cheeseman have combined their fantastic knowledge to create a Badger Bible.
For all those that are interested or love badgers this is a must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely educational book about Badgers, 25 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Badgers (British Natural History Series) (Hardcover)
We bought this book, knowing nothing about it, and were pleasantly surprised. Obviously written by a badger-expert, the book covers badgers, their lifestyle and environment in good detail, but remains a very accessible read. As an educational work, we would have thought it suitable for any-one from about 10-years upwards, though it is equally well readable by adults without being condescending. It also includes many well-drawn illustrations. Overall Michael Clark's affection for the animals shines through, and we are glad to recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgers (British Natural History Series) (Hardcover)
Possibly requires a little bit of updating in places - and as usual with this sort of thing a little SE England centric - but it's still by far the best primer on badgers I've read.

Simple, clear and easy to understand, plus the cartoons are brilliant!

Short enough that I was able to read it in one sitting in an afternoon but still packed with information, I'd recommend it to anyone starting out in the badger world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Badgers (British Natural History Series)
Badgers (British Natural History Series) by Michael Clark (Hardcover - 15 Dec. 2010)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews