Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars His caricature of Amin himself is just too funny to do justice to in a short review
I first read this when it was published, I think in the 1970's. It had me in stiches for days and somehow just summed up the whole scene of many things happening at the time. I think Corens interpretation of the mindless stupidity of the Amin regime at the time was probably only overtaken by the actual danger of the reality for those who were there. His caricature of Amin...
Published 18 hours ago by richard perrett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars funny ironic
Bob on read this book so many years ago still laughing now idi amin should have been on the comiedians
Published 6 months ago by chris hook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars His caricature of Amin himself is just too funny to do justice to in a short review, 26 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin (Paperback)
I first read this when it was published, I think in the 1970's. It had me in stiches for days and somehow just summed up the whole scene of many things happening at the time. I think Corens interpretation of the mindless stupidity of the Amin regime at the time was probably only overtaken by the actual danger of the reality for those who were there. His caricature of Amin himself is just too funny to do justice to in a short review. Well worth trying to find a copy if you can. If you don't see the funny side of this and recognise even elements of today in it, there's no hope for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars funny ironic, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin (Paperback)
Bob on read this book so many years ago still laughing now idi amin should have been on the comiedians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY FUNNY, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin (Paperback)
If you are old enough to remember Idi Amin, this is really funny. Alan Coren writes really great satire. A must read for a good laugh! Get the other Further Bulletins for more laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a quirky historic view, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin (Paperback)
Bought to replace a copy loaqned to a friend and never returned. For those of us wholived through this lunatic's ranting and atrocities this gives a reminder of the sort of rhetoric he spouted but with Alan Coren's sharp wit softening the edges
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, very 'non-pc', 2 July 2012
By 
B. Knott (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin (Paperback)
Please see my review for the companion book, 'Further Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin'. Everything I wrote there applies to this book with equal force. Very funny but extremely non-pc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, 5 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin (Paperback)
Alan Coren has always been a favourite writer of mine. His articles in Punch magazine were always worth reading. This book is no exception. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book ok, service iffy, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin (Paperback)
The book is fine, but I discovered that the person I was buying it for already had a copy. I tried to cancel the order within a couple of hours but was told that this was not possible and I would have to send it back. I think that the compaqny should try to address this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin
The Collected Bulletins of President Idi Amin by Alan Coren (Paperback - May 1974)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews