Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb all-round manual
Dr. Hessayon's "Expert" books have dominated gardening literature for years. There have been all round general garden books in the range before, this new edition however is larger and strikes a balance between detail and covering a wide range of topics. Everything one would expect from a gardening book is here: flowers, fruit & veg, greenhouse gardening, pests &...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by downkiddie

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Good
This is a compilation of a series of books that have been available for some time. Having read and tried a lot of so called "Gardening" books, most of which are only good for the coffee table, I have long felt that any serious gardening enthusiast would need no more than the relevant "Gardening Expert" books already available. This compilation is excellent and if you've...
Published on 31 May 2012 by Wilz


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb all-round manual, 15 Feb 2012
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Dr. Hessayon's "Expert" books have dominated gardening literature for years. There have been all round general garden books in the range before, this new edition however is larger and strikes a balance between detail and covering a wide range of topics. Everything one would expect from a gardening book is here: flowers, fruit & veg, greenhouse gardening, pests & diseases plus hard lanscaping and practical matters. Dr. Hessayon embraces modern approaches including architectural plants and gardening plus wildlife and organic methods.

I already have a number of the "Expert" books, and shelves and shelves of gardening books by other authors. This one however will stand out as one to reach for time and again due to its breadth of subject material and crucially its ease of use. There are plenty of things I need to look up and this book is easy to follow and find things in and is a small handy size - not a huge hardback that's an effort to lift down from the shelf.

The layout is the classic Expert style with photos, illustrations and diagrams. The plant directories include a good range of popular plants with a concise summary of their attributes. Anyone choosing a tree or shrub for their garden might want more detail before committing, but this is a good guide to start off with.

A refreshing thing these days is the mention of chemical control products that are available and still widely used. Although I avoid chemicals (with the exception of glyphosate on the ground elder - life's too short to keep digging it out) I dislike the "holier than thou" approach to organic gardening found in so many books these days. None of that here - if you have aphids then reach for the thiacloprid! Dr. Hessayon does approach organic methods however in a very brief way and the composting section is very useful.

A very good book. It would make a great gardening book to start off with if you don't have any, and it's still useful for anyone with an existing gardening library for its ease of use and wealth of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection from a wonderful series, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have had many of Dr. Hessayon's books over the years - I have inherited a couple from my Grandmother - although they are a little dog-eared by now... and have used them on a regular basis, especially now that we have a new home with a big vegetable garden.

Amazing books - packing huge amounts of always relevant information into a relatively small space.

This new book is a large volume with the most useful bits from a wide range of the previous volumes.

It has a full section on vegetables, another on garden plants and other sections on diseases, garden layout - and pretty much everything that the gardener might need to know.

Seems a very useful starter book for the basic gardener - although you might want to get one of the more specific books for more detail of a particular topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 31 May 2012
By 
Wilz "wilson9hb" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a compilation of a series of books that have been available for some time. Having read and tried a lot of so called "Gardening" books, most of which are only good for the coffee table, I have long felt that any serious gardening enthusiast would need no more than the relevant "Gardening Expert" books already available. This compilation is excellent and if you've never read one of the others in the series, will be quite invaluable.
However, it is no substitute to specific books in the current series and in condensing the series, some of the detail suffers.
Use it as a starter if you are new to the books and then buy individual ones as required.
There is no doubt that the "Gardening Expert" series are the best available - concise, practical and straightforward - and although somewhat lacking, this "condensed" volume is still hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a good thing, 16 Mar 2012
By 
A. J. Gauld (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is not Alan Titchmarsh. It's Hessayon. If you have read any of the other Expert series you will know exactly what to expect. If you are a fan of Mr Titchmarsh then this will come over as a bit dry and very terse. There are few wasted words, no flowery prose and relatively few exotic photos. But there is lots, and lots, of factual information crammed into every page. It is a compendium of many of the other Expert books and manages to do in a little over 200 pages what Alan T took two full coffee table books to do - provide a complete guide to gardening. If you only want one garden book and don't have enough cash for the RHS mega-tome this is the best on offer. If you want a book to browse through in a winter evening while sipping a glass of brandy then buy Titchmarsh. They are both valid approaches and I like having both around, but if I could only have one, it would be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a beginner!, 2 May 2012
By 
A. Willmer (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am new to gardening. And when I say new, I mean I barely know one end of a spade from the other. As such this book has been an absolute life saver! It really goes through all of the basics - how to dig correctly, how to find out what type of soil you have, how to care for your lawn - the lot.

I would say that this edition is not for the pro. If you are a gardening guru then you might be better off investing in the more specific titles in the series. Especially as some of the info is repeated here in this book. But, all in all, you can't go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Hessayon's Greatest Hits, 21 Mar 2012
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book can be best described as Dr Hessayon's Greatest Hits. In the same way that you might buy a compilation CD of an artist and be inspired to go and buy the original album, this book cleverly gives you enough information to see you on your way, before reminding you that there is a whole book on the subject elsewhere.

All aspects of gardening are covered, from lawncare, to planting trees, to cold frames and greenhouses. There is always enough advice to give you a general idea, but if you want to know more, you will of course have to seek out that volume.

I've jumped into this book on numerous occasions already, to check out plant types for my soil, definitions of greenhouses and all sorts of other aspects. I think this is a great starter for anyone who wants to understand more about their garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good present, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
This doens't hold all the information that is contained in my pile of original ones, but is great for a beginner who doesn't need too much information all at once. I bought this for a friend and she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 Feb 2012
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is a pick of the key pieces of information from the series of Garden Expert Books. It contains details about nparticular plants and their likes and dislikes in terms of soil, sunlight and water etc. It also provides ideas for garden design and hard landscaping as well as planting. I particularly found the section on garden pests and solutions very useful. A good book for beginners or experienced garderners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Super book !, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
A novice gardener, so I bought this book as I have some of the others in the range. An excellent book with a wide range of subject topics. Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 9 May 2012
By 
Philip Chadwick - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Garden Expert: The Expert you've been waiting for - All the gardening Experts condensed and updated into one enlarged volume (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Excellent digest of years of Garden Expert publications - a great first book for the debutant gardener.
Some stuff is missing (inevitably) - no mention of Old English Roses! - and not exactly pocket size - I remember carrying books around the garden when I started gardening many. many decades ago this is a little larger than books I had then; detachable ring binder cards for a future edition perhaps? Laminated of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews