Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for any fruit growers.
I have owned this book for several years. I have found it to be invaluable in the choosing and growing of many different fruits. It has extensive sections and reviews with colour pictures on choosing different varieties of apples pears, peaches etc. This includes some more unusual varieties as well as those more commonly available. The reviews are as useful in telling you...
Published on 11 Aug 2007 by Dr. Richard J. Pickard

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book for beginners...
A good book for beginners, but the author annoyingly has a rather pessimistic outlook on most things. The sections on common fruit grown in Britain such as apples, pears, plums, cherries and soft fruit are all very good. The section on melons is also good, if a bit pessimistic and disappointingly doesn't suggest unprotected cultivation on black plastic in warmer...
Published 18 months ago by A. Kent


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use , quick reference book, 1 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
This book is very easy to use as a quick reference. All details are clearly explained. recommended for all new gardeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New cover, but still old-fashioned inside, 22 Mar 2008
By 
Nicholas J. R. Dougan "Nick Dougan" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
I have the 2002 edition, but it still only offers imperial measurements. While this may be an irritation for some, I do find inches and feet so much more appropriate for practical matters like gardening!

An excellent book with a great deal of practical advice on planting, mulching, pruning, picking, disease control, etc. I would prefer just a little more detail on these matters, however, and perhaps a slightly less comprehensive list of varieties - many of which are not availabe even from specialist nurseries.

But why change much - how much can gardening change?

I have just ordered the Rose Expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fruit Expert, 13 Sep 2009
By 
B. Loffler "beehappy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
The Dr. Hessayon series of 'expert' books are without doubt the most informative and useful books on my garden bookself. The colour illustrations accompanying the easily layout text make easy reading and support any aspect of the garden you are working on. I have just bought a mini fruit orchard from a newspaper advert and knew I would also need 'THE FRUIT EXPECT' to ensure I get the best out of my new project. I highly recommend these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fruit expert, 30 Aug 2009
By 
M. E. Speller "maz" (devon england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
a brilliant book illisrations plus visial guides to everything fruit,this book is a must for everyone who loves there fruit beginers as well as people in the know,its the only one i refer to now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
well informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the newer edition, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
The book is ok, but I wanted the new edition which is what it was advertised as and still is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality binding, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
This book has literally fallen apart after minimal use - the binding is poor and I have had to put the loose pages into a binder to continue using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
My other half has a number of these books and especially needed one for fruit. I was delighted to find it on Amazon at such a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First port of call, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
The Expert series are always my first port of call when looking at the garden. Both the overview and the detail are helpful, and if you are beginning it is always helpful to have some guidance as to what will work well and what won't. You can always extend you choices later once you have the confidence of some early success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good fruit book, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) (Paperback)
very very good book for the price it gives a great detail on how to manage your fruit all year round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fruit Expert (Expert Series)
The Fruit Expert (Expert Series) by Dr. D.G. Hessayon (Paperback - 1 Jan 1990)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews