Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2000
This little book endeavours to cover a wide range of topics ranging from foods to driving terms to theatre. Considering the limitations of the books size (47 pages)Anthea Bickerton has done well in her choice of words to translate. It would be nice to see a little more accuracy e.g. a Tadpole in the UK is not a Pollywog in the US, and a Swede in the UK is not a Turnip in the US, but this book is more accurate than some of its competitors. All in all, I felt I got my money' s worth out of this book, but for more serious reference work, books such as Christopher Davies' "Divided by a Common Language" and Norman Moss' "British American Language Dictionary" are far more comprehensive.
22 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
The title is "American-English, English-American" and that is exactly what it is, nothing more. I was expecting the book to be written with a degree of lightheartedness since such a small volume could not hope to be a comprehensive reference work. As a reference I think that the book is of little value for an English speaker (as distinct from an American speaker) since almost all the entries are in common English usage anyway.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Having worked with Americans for 8 years, I found this book lacks a lot of the more common terminology that is often used when conversing with our cousins of a 'different' (?!) tongue. The first copy was 'hi-jacked en route to me. I hope the thief is as disappointed in the content as I was. Not recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Having American nieces and nephews I can at long last give them a book to understand me without me having to think what the equivalent is in their form of English. Very useful and insightful gift - but also a laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2005
To be fair, theres not really much to it, but for the money you can't expect a whole dictionary! Its an amusing little book and worth the money. If you're looking for an extensive comparison of the languages then you might want something else, but if you're just looking for a basic translation of a few basic words, then here you go!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Terrific gift and souvenir for relatives and friends visiting London from the USA. It manages to be both useful and amusing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
it is ok but smaller than i thought and not a very complete glossary or correct definitions for the two languages!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
this was bought for my niece thought it was brilliant for what she needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Excellent help Required for the cooking of American recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Great for friends moving overseas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)