Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2008
I've been using my copy of Plant Names Simplified since I was at horticultural college in 1994. It may not be the most comprehensive book but its main aim is to guide you on pronunciation, rather than to teach you latin (as some of the other reviews here infer). Nevertheless, it also tells you what the latin means (ie Convolvulus cnerorum = from convolvo, to entwine; from Greek kneoron, meaning obscure).

I've found it invaluable over the years. It's A5-sized and paperback, so is small enough to be taken on garden visits. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2006
This a good beginners book and an excellent companion, but one can soon exhaust it. To go further and for serious horticulturalists then Botanical Latin by William T. Stearn [ISBN: 0881926272] is far more rewarding and if you can afford the extra expense and time, I would choose this.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2008
I thought this was the only book of its kind until I found out about sterns. This book has proved useful but also frustrating when half the words you look up aren't in it. Sterns Book is a much wiser buy if you really want a good reference.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
This book is an absolute must if you are baffled by the boffin types who always refer to plants by their latin names. Not only does this book help you understand the meaning behind those names but helps you pronounce them as well. Its a lovely publication for which you do not have to be an expert gardener to understand. You will find endless pleasure in reading it and it wont turn you into a geek either. Enjoy as you do your gardening.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2001
A mere 120 pages of Latin-made-easy, in a compact form that has been around for the best part of the 20th century! It does not attempt to include everything, but... use it long enough and you'll fly through your names only to soon correct your neighbours...
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2005
Worth having, and helps you to solve those arguments by telling you how to pronouce names too.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2001
If you work in countryside recreation then this book is a must. It gives you knowledge of plants that will make the public think you are an expert. Just drop a few in a guided walk and see their faces.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Used this book for years, needed a new copy. Explains plant names easily and clearly. Good size for your pocket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Happy with the purchase, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2000
I think the best aspectabout this book is that is easy to read. So many different names!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.