Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The life story of one of Hollywood's greatest characters
Errol Flynn was not merely the swashbuckler of legend, nor the great party animal of the golden era of hollywood. He was a great liver of life, but at the same time deeply introspective and unsatisfied. This book covers his origins in Tasmania, his life in Sydney and England and onto his great success in Hollywood. However, his meteoric rise was cut short by...
Published on 28 Mar 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Light on the good stuff
Overall this is a good read if you are a Flynn fan, but it does tend to wander around, but for Errol I forgive it that peccadillo.
Published 18 months ago by Epsilom


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The life story of one of Hollywood's greatest characters, 28 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: My Wicked, Wicked Ways (Paperback)
Errol Flynn was not merely the swashbuckler of legend, nor the great party animal of the golden era of hollywood. He was a great liver of life, but at the same time deeply introspective and unsatisfied. This book covers his origins in Tasmania, his life in Sydney and England and onto his great success in Hollywood. However, his meteoric rise was cut short by personal allegations which led to the fall of his career...into escape and alcohol.
The twists and turns of Flynn's life make this book a real page turner at every step, with his character well captured; taking the reader beyond the Hollywood image and into the mind of the man who had too many questions to ask of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SWASHBUCKLING AUTOBIOGRAPHY, 8 Mar 2010
Most of my ideas about Errol Flynn are based on reports and hearsay. This book exploded all the myths about the man. I found the book entertaining, and in the final few pages thought provoking.Flynn comes across as an honest man about his weaknesses and the mistakes that he made in his life. The early part of his life in New Guinea, and his journey across the world to London and finally to Hollywood certainly uncover a facet of his life that is not well known. Flynn writes with candour and humour, and at the end I felt sorry for the man that had achieved so much in terms of fame,success and wealth, yet seemed so unhappy with his lot, and died at such an early age of 59.
A good read that certainly cast a different light on a iconic character of the early 20th century. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wicked wicked ways, 4 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: My Wicked, Wicked Ways (Paperback)
A truly amazing book. Probably the best autobiography I have ever read and a truly enlightening book of an amazing man who was very honest about his own shortcomings, warts and all.

Definitely worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In like Flynn............, 28 Oct 2007
By 
S. Turnbull (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Errol Flynn may not be your first choice for an autobiographical read but don't pass this one by.This book is a triumph of words and stories that will have you muttering in disbelief.If,as has been reported,this book has moments of fiction dressed up as factual it really does not matter,he is the most wonderful storyteller and in my opinion was wasted as an actor,he should have written fiction!!
His story takes us from his birth place of Tasmania to New Guinea ~England to America.His story is colourful,fascinating and should be taken with a large pich of salt!!
If you are (fairly) broadminded and love a good story, buy this now~you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining (auto)biography of THE Hollywood superstar, 19 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: My Wicked, Wicked Ways (Paperback)
If you're interested in Flynn or the 'golden age' of Hollywood', you MUST read this!
Almost 40 years after his death, Errol Flynns exploits (or 'Flynnanigans') continue to amuse and intrigue everyone who reads them. This book was actually ghostwritten by a journalist, Earl Conrad who inists that he wrote it exactly as the vodka fuelled, morphine addicted swashbuckler told it. The book is full of blatant innaccuracies and downright untruths but still makes great reading. Flynn hated to bore an audience and was never one to let the truth or facts get in his way. He was a superb racontuer and this comes over in the book via his tales of the golden age of Hollywood and his subsequent demise and resurgence as a character actor, none of which I will repeat as this would spoil the party. It's all here - his loves (the sea then girls), his films (a chancer and he admits is) and the fortunes he won and lost. If you enjoy this, then you might like the following...
'Moons a balloon', 'Bring on the empty horses' by DAVID NIVEN. 'Errol Flynn: A Memoir' by EARL CONRAD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wicked life story of a Hollywood Legend, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Like most people, I grew up watching swashbuckler movies starring a handsome young man called Errol Flynn and so when I happened upon 'My Wicked, Wicked Ways' I expected the book to be at the very least, an interesting read about an old movie star.

What a fantastic read it is! Entertaining, funny and poignant, he came across as a deeper, more grounded character than the 'man who showed a girl the moon thru a porthole'
Australian born (Tasmania) Flynn, tells stories of his early life on the family ranch with his botanist father are both fascinating and enjoyable. The book covers his years in Tasmania, New Guinea & England, to his movie career which began in 1933 and on to the sensational scandals which threatened his career, most famously the court case for statutory rape (which he was eventually aquitted)on board his boat 'Sirocco'.
Interesting enough for his lifestyle alone but an added bonus is the famous friendships with other actors/actresses of the time (David Niven & Olivia De Havilland & others)and their impact on his life and loves. it's a great insight into a Hollywood legend and his deliciously wicked, wicked read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put the book down!!!!!!!!, 2 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: My Wicked, Wicked Ways (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book written by a man who really knew how to enjoy his life to the fullest. It is not only a autobiography, but also a travel book. He describes his journey from the deep forests of New Guinea to the screens of Hollywood!!! A wonderful book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 16 April 2000
This review is from: My Wicked, Wicked Ways (Paperback)
Not quite what he seems, Flynn. Films and fame apart Flynn gives a view of life within a public life. His marriages, the 'rape' trail, his love for the ocean. A truly recommended read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Errol, One of a kind !, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must confess I have always had a soft spot for Errol Flynn. He struck me as the epitome of the "Mans Man", An athlete, film star, hard drinker, romancer and chancer. Admittedly he got up to his fair share of wrong doings and this auto biography does gloss over some of his more unsavoury experiences.

Originally Flynn himself wanted this book to be more hard hitting and the Original title "In like me" shows you how he was planning on treating the material.

Errol certainly portrays himself as the romantic hero who was a victim of circumstance with his many painful issues. I dont doubt that he didnt always have good luck, but he attributes many misdemeanors to others when he was really to blame himself.

There is no mention of the murder he stood accused of in New Guinea (prior to his hollywood days) and his petty theft and larceny are similarly ignored.

As a highly romaticized version of his life, its well worth a read, but Flynn writes with a certain resignation that he doesnt really believe the story he's telling you. I could certainly feel the desolation and even loneliness coming from him through his words. If ultimately he was a legend (few would disagree) then he was also an outsider who perhaps was never intended for the Hollywood circus and would have been more at home discovering lost islands and sailing the high seas.

I personally would recommend that you supplement your knowledge of Errol Flynn with other biographies as well as this one.

An intriguing man and something of an enigma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Seducing after Fifty Years, 13 April 2010
When I found out about this book (thank you Amazon!), I knew I had to read it. I've loved the films of Errol Flynn ever since I was a child. His movies took me on exciting adventures in exotic lands beyond my innocent imagination and instilled in me a love of adventure stories which I have carried into adulthood. This book, the story of his life, is possibly the greatest adventure story of them all. Beginning with Flynn's youth in Tasmania, Australia, we follow him to gold mines and plantations in New Guinea, casinos and brothels of South East Asia, the highs and lows of the down-and-out life in Sydney and Queensland, his early acting career in England and finally to the glitz of Hollywood and the exoticism of Jamaica. In these pages we encounter angry native tribes, sharks and crocodiles, con tricks and diamond smuggling, high profile court cases and tempestuous relationships. But, surprisingly, we also find reflection and philosophy. According to the introduction by Jeffrey Meyers, this book was written to be scandalous, but the charm of the subject wins through. Although I approached the book determined to take it with a pinch of salt and not be seduced, 438 pages later I was more fascinated by Flynn than ever. However, I did feel that there was something missing. The story felt incomplete without photographs and an epilogue explaining what happened to Flynn and the key characters in his life. But that might just be me being greedy. Overall, this book spans fifty years of adventure, mischief and excitement and is well worth a read by any armchair explorer or devotee of Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Wicked Wicked Ways
My Wicked Wicked Ways by Errol Flynn (Hardcover - Dec 1978)
Used & New from: 25.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews