Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - an excellent way to listen to the bible
The reader is described as having a 'baratone voice' and that is no lie. I can't believe how many hours of listening are contained on one CD. Have listened from Genesis to Judges in just a month of my daily commute! Have recommended it to all my friends.
Published 22 months ago by Mr D Brodier

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
Stephen Johnstone. This is an actor narrating - And it sounds like it!
This man rams expression where it was never intended to be.
At times, he seems to almost sing the words.
I have grown to enjoy the ESV (which I did not initially like) But this is truly dreadful!
I have played it to Christian friends of mine and they are instantly irritated by the...
Published on 24 Jun. 2010 by Foveo Salopia


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 24 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: ESV COMPLETE BIBLE ON MP3 CD (MP3 CD)
Stephen Johnstone. This is an actor narrating - And it sounds like it!
This man rams expression where it was never intended to be.
At times, he seems to almost sing the words.
I have grown to enjoy the ESV (which I did not initially like) But this is truly dreadful!
I have played it to Christian friends of mine and they are instantly irritated by the reader.
I'm just glad it was cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just awful (and I dont mean awesome!), 21 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESV COMPLETE BIBLE ON MP3 CD (MP3 CD)
What is it with the people who read audio bibles? They seem to begin by inserting a plum into their mouths, and then make it worse by 'acting' the text, as if they were some 2nd rate shakespearian actor (although I guess that is exactly what they are). Why cant someone just READ the Bible, in a normal voice? The way this guy Johnston does it is absolutely ghastly - I mean does anybody actually speak like this???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - an excellent way to listen to the bible, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESV COMPLETE BIBLE ON MP3 CD (MP3 CD)
The reader is described as having a 'baratone voice' and that is no lie. I can't believe how many hours of listening are contained on one CD. Have listened from Genesis to Judges in just a month of my daily commute! Have recommended it to all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talking Bible, 15 Sept. 2010
By 
J. S. Simpson "neana57" (Derby, Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ESV COMPLETE BIBLE ON MP3 CD (MP3 CD)
This was bought for a present for my other half, who has a problem reading small print, so for them to listen to it, is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 8 Sept. 2011
This review is from: ESV COMPLETE BIBLE ON MP3 CD (MP3 CD)
As with everything I have ordered from amazon I can only say how pleased I am with both the product and the sevice. I have listened to the beginning of the cd and it is a quality product.
Thankyou amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ESV COMPLETE BIBLE ON MP3 CD
ESV COMPLETE BIBLE ON MP3 CD by JOHNSTON STEPHEN (MP3 CD - 20 Feb. 2008)
£13.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews