Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book opened my mind to the great tradition of be bop., 2 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
John Rileys book gave me the foundation I needed to play be bop. The content is more than it appears. Just reading the book gives you a vast history of the players and the requirements that are needed for todays environment. I found this book inspiring and is a must for all players no matter what style. If you're a drum n bass, or a jazz dude, check it out it'll do wonders. I also highly recommend the Beyond Bop drumming book also by John Riley, this is a killer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Jazz Education, 18 July 2011
By 
J. R. Curtis "Drummer" (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
John Riley, as his DVD suggests, is a Master Drummer. His work with the Vanguard Jazz Orchestra is Grammy award winning, and his university tenure, experience and back catelogue make him an absolute authority on the subject covered in this book.

The book itself is succinct in its presentation, informative, and endlessly mature, providing recommendations for practice methods, essential listening, and a wealth of exercises. The accompanying CD comes with demonstrations and some backing tracks of varying difficulty and styles, from a lazy swing, through a 3/4 waltz, a latin romp, and a 300bpm uptempo blaze.

There's little more to say that would not be repeating what the other reviews have already covered. If you are looking to step into the world of jazz drumming, proper jazz drumming, this book is certainly for you. It comes from a highly recommended source (Mr. Riley himself), is refreshingly mature, and the exercises of increasing complexity will not only embellish and revitalise your playing, but provide you with endless hours of practice material.

Finally, as if it's not good enough already, this book has a follow up called Beyond Bop Drumming, which is also worthy of 5 stars. This means that if you exhaust this book, the sequel is ready to take over.

Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highest recommendation, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
T. Wenzel "trongate" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
This book is perfect for anyone at any age who is either just mildly interested anywhere up to highly passionate about jazz music and drumming. Explanations are clear and thorough and plenty of exercises to work through and expand on. My favorite is the section on form and soloing. Also useful is the recommended listening and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the only jazz drumming book you'll ever need!, 25 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
I bought this book after getting through Ed Soph's "Musical Time", and it is probably the most complete book around on authentic jazz drumming. The focus early on is on developing and maintaining a reliable, full-swinging ride cymbal and solid time-keeping with both feet, before aquiring the heightened co-ordination needed to play freely with the left hand. As a spare-time drummer, the four pages of comping excercises alone have kept me pretty occupied over the last few years, but there is so much more, including snare & bass drum comping, soloing, brushes, latin rhythms, reading, and advice on practice and performance, along with quotes from some of the great jazz drummers of the 50's and 60's. There is also a CD, which includes masterful demonstrations of all the excercises, as well as some tricky play-along tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every drummer should own this, 11 May 2010
By 
Mr. C. Davy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
For comping, solo ideas, brush patterns and basic co-ordination and independence, this book will bring so many ideas to your pallet. definitely a must have for all drummers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative and Helpful, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
For me this was a brilliant buy. I'm always looking at ways to improve and expand as a drummer, and learning different styles is one way i like to do that. So i was recommend this by a friend when he heard i wanted to try and develop my Jazz technique...and i'm so glad he did! Very helpful book. It takes you through the stages step by step, making it very easy to understand and so very easy to improve at your own pace. Would definitely recommend to anyone into Jazz drumming, beginner through to advanced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book for professional and 'would be' professioals, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
I bought this for my son, who is in his final year of a BA in professional musicianship- drums/percussion. It had been recommended to him by one of his tutors- a professional drummer/percussionist. My son has only been using it for a few weeks, but says it has great jazz pieces and ideas to play around with for backing and solos. I can't say much more than that, but thought the fact that a professional had recommended it, would help prospective buyers.
Delivery was excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to this book I can hold my own in a jazz setting, 3 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
I'm not a jazz drummer probably never will be but after working from this book for a few months I can hold my own at a jazz jam and teach to a fairly high standard.
The book is laid out in a logical way and will get you swinging in no time. Once you start taking each of the exercises and applying them to brushes or keeping a roll going while accenting the notated exercises you can really expand your jazz knowledge. Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 26 Dec. 2010
By 
R. Golin "rengolin" (Cambride, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
Not just be bop, this is the reference for general jazz grooves, notation, brush use and styles and a good dose of history. A must have for all serious jazzers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art of Bop Drumming, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) (Paperback)
Fantastic book at a fantastic price. Excellent value for money and met up to the expectations of the current reviews regarding the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications)
Art of Bop Drumming (Manhattan Music Publications) by John Riley (Paperback - 27 Jun. 2005)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews