Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective, practical resource for emotional disorders
I am diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder and this manual has been a lifesaver. It cuts through a lot of 'psychobabble', goes beyond theory and gives direct, practical techniques that teach how to identify and appropriately express emotions. I would recommend the exercises in this workbook for *anyone* with problems feeling or expressing emotions.
Published on 23 April 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, impossible to use.
The idea behind DBT seems sound and I am looking forward to eventually being refered onto a course but this could take a long-time. Meanwhile I was hoping for a source of self-help to try out some of the DBT technics on my own. I found this book to be entirely unfit for this purpose.

I was able to borrow this from my local library and I am glad I did because if...
Published 10 months ago by sugarmouse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective, practical resource for emotional disorders, 23 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
I am diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder and this manual has been a lifesaver. It cuts through a lot of 'psychobabble', goes beyond theory and gives direct, practical techniques that teach how to identify and appropriately express emotions. I would recommend the exercises in this workbook for *anyone* with problems feeling or expressing emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book to Deal with Borderline Personality Disorder, 27 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
I suffer from borderline personality disorder, and the content of this book has been a great help when dealing with my emotional disability. I love this book because it focuses on "treating" the disorder, whereas other books' focuses are often the cause of the disorder or pathology of it. The positive attitude of facing the real issues of those who suffer from borderline personality disorder is encouraging. I can see the author's deep understanding of the disorder, and I appreciate her efforts to explain what the probrems really are and how to deal with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I got treated with this book!, 27 Dec. 2008
By 
Bm Hughes "Dreamer" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
I was a teenager when i was diagnosed with BPD in the uk. I was treated 1:1, group and with DBT from this very manual. I have had many relapases but always fall back to the skils i was taught with this book, now i've bought i can re-fresh ALL the skills. This book is easy to read, but putting the skills in to practice can take time. But when it's there the skills will never leave you! All the Best, Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Group work manual, 6 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
This is aimed at therapists wanting to run a skills training group for people with BPD using a model called Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT). It's thorough and helpful considering all aspects of running such a group programme. The book also includes exercises for group members.
IT IS NOT a self-help book and not particularly helpful for therapists working in 1:1 therapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, impossible to use., 29 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
The idea behind DBT seems sound and I am looking forward to eventually being refered onto a course but this could take a long-time. Meanwhile I was hoping for a source of self-help to try out some of the DBT technics on my own. I found this book to be entirely unfit for this purpose.

I was able to borrow this from my local library and I am glad I did because if I had spent £26 on it I would have been very disappointed. It is entirely written for the purpose of group work and has very little value to the individual reader. It is not easy to read or follow any of the 'lessons' or link them to the appropriate worksheets. Some of the worksheets are quite good but no better than other sources accessable online or in other books. Certainly not enough to justify the cost.

I have enormous respect for the work of Marsha Linehan and her breakthrough treatment, but it appears that others have taken her DBT treatment and effectively transferred it to be used by individuals who do not have access to expert support. This can be seen in books such as Don't Let your emotions run your life by Scott E Spradlin and The Dialectical Behaviour Therapy Workbook by Mathew Mckay. These books are designed for the purpose of self-help and are far cheaper as well.

Five Stars for Ms Linehan and her work and I wish I could justify 2 stars but I can't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard but worthwhile., 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
The book was purchased for a close family member who suffers from a severe BPD. The exercises and 'way of being' described in the book have proved very helpful to her. BPD is extremely pernicious so this is no mean achievement.

BPD coping mechanisms and responses are typically as described by the main character in:
The Eighth Circle of Hell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skills Training for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
Marsha M. Linehan is regarded as the foremost teacher and exponent of th treat of BPD. As a Nurse Therapist this book goes without saying as the best "bible' for anyone working in the field of pyschotherapy of this particular group of patients. Thoroughly recommend and would place this book and its contents at the top, certainly amongst the top five textbooks on the subject. Excellent work. A fountain of knowledge and therapeutic methodology on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book is a great tool for those who are in any way involved ..., 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
This book is a great tool for those who are in any way involved with Dialectical Behaviour Therapy or Borderline Personality Disorder. Pages are easily photocopied (highly recommended for print outs) and works well alongside other books/documentation relating to the disorder itself and the (personally recommended) treatment. I owe a lot of my freedom and sanity to the creation of DBT and all the people who do their best to help people with the disorder. This book acts as an excellent refresher for skills long after they have been taught.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
Excellent for Dialectical Behaviour Therapy group work planning. Informative and easy to work from. Session plans clearly set out. Very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skills Training Manual for Treating Borderline Personality Disorder: Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (Diagnosis & Treatment of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
Simple to read and great worksheets to use for groups. Very useful for a novice practitioner to apply to her daily work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews