Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn How To Defend Yourself Properly!
Having brought and read 'Basic Training' which is volume two in the 'Bruce lee's Fighting Method' series, i decided that this would also be a good guide to self defense techniques, and like 'Basic Training' i was not at all dissapointed.
The book is set out into seven different chapters. Chapter one: defense against suprise attack, Chapter two: defense against an...
Published on 19 May 2004 by no1filmaddict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars jeet kune do recommended
i would strongly advise for you to first read the " jeet kune do " book as this book contains a lot of fight language such as " do a round house turn elbow" and until you read that book most forms of attack you do not know, but apart from that its a great book. p.s the steps could be a little more precise.
Published on 13 Feb 2008 by Mr. W. Syed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn How To Defend Yourself Properly!, 19 May 2004
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
Having brought and read 'Basic Training' which is volume two in the 'Bruce lee's Fighting Method' series, i decided that this would also be a good guide to self defense techniques, and like 'Basic Training' i was not at all dissapointed.
The book is set out into seven different chapters. Chapter one: defense against suprise attack, Chapter two: defense against an unarmed assailant, Chapter Three: Defense Against Grabbing, Chapter Four: Defense Against Choke Holds & Hugs, Chapter Five: Self-Defense Against An Armed Assailant, Chapter Six: Defense Against Multiple Assailants, and finally Chapter Seven: Defense From A Vunerable Position.
For each self-defense move there are several clear and precise black and white photos, along with some short text explaining what is happening and what you are supposed to do and how you are supposed to execute each move correctly.
Overall another very good book by the Martial Arts master himself; Bruce Lee. Also very original in that it is the only book i know that goes into detail about mutiple assailants, armed assailants and things like suprise attacks. Great book from a reliable sorce. If have already read this book and liked it then i would recommend that you try the other three books in the 'Bruce Lee's Fighting Method' series, such as 'Basic Training' or 'Skill In Techniques'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Defend yourself, 12 Nov 2003
By 
I. Brooks (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
If you are looking for a quick way to learn the techniques of Jeet Kune Do, you are looking in the wrong place. If you are looking for a way to defend yourself against unprovoked attacks, this is a superb book. It gives you a short and sharp way out of any situation.
Remember, self defense is not how to beat someone if they come near you, it is to be used in a threatening situation to give you enough time to get away.
If you are interested in learning JKD from books, you should buy Bruce Lee's Fighting Style: Basic Training/ Skill in Techniques/ Advanced Training.
This is a brilliant book to teach people, women more especially, how to get away from an attack. Everything in this book shows quick defenses that will incapacitate the assailant long enough to get away.
A good choice for anyone looking to feel a little better about walking home at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant for all martial artists well worth it!, 8 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
this book is the best for anyone who wants to learn. in this you will find self-defence techniques explained in great detail and to follow that you will find the pictures on how to do them. you should buy this first and then the rest. buy all of them you will be amazed! GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 4 Mar 2008
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
Bruce Lee, the founder of Jeet Kune Do intended to published this book years ago, but changed his mind when he discovered that martial art instructors were using his name to promote themselves. Nut after he passed away in 1973, his wife Linda Lee thought that there is so much that can be learnt from him, it would be a big shame not to publish his teachings.

This book consists of mostly pictures which had Bruce Lee in, and captions written by him, but there were a few missing parts, due to his cancellation. He of course couldn't finish it off, as he wasn't alive, his main students, Dan Inosanto, Ted Wong and Raymond Huang did finish it off, following his teachings which they had studied intensely.

This book doesn't show you a technique, e.g. how to punch, that is in his other books, but it rather shows you how to defend yourself in common day-to-day situations. It compromises of 7 chapters: Defence from a surprise attack, defence against an unarmed assailant, defence against grabbing, defence against choke holds and hugs, defence against an armed assailant, defence against multiple assailants, and finally, defence from a vulnerable position.

This book does NOT teach you how to learn Jeet Kune DO, it, tells you how to defend yourself against assailants. June Keet Do is a mixture of all of the martial arts, formed into one. So there's no end in learning at all. And you can never learn everything. In order to execute many of the moves in this book, you will need to know the techniques, of which you can learn in his other books, or also from other martial arts you may learn.

I would not suggest learning Martial Arts just from books, as you don't know what you're doing wrong, but if you learned how to do certain punches in another martial art, say Karate, then you can use them in here.

The idea of this book, is how to defend yourself, so you can either beat, stun, or prevent the assailant for an amount of side so that you can run away, or defend your friend.

That is another good feature, it shows you how to protect a friend who is being attacked.

Overall, accompanied by the other fighting Method volumes, and also the Tao of Jeet Kune do, this is in my opinion of the best Martial Artist books you could ever get. I cannot highlight any bad points, I don't carte that it has black and white pictures, you don't need colour to see what someone is doing.

Review written by Jack Anderson, 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great early book, 3 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
This is one of the early books on Bruce Lee's fighting methods. It's full of good stuff that will make any martial artist look at his own training to see how some of Lee's ideas can fit. There will always be the Jackie Chans and Jet Lis who will come along and dazzle us with their screen antics. But Bruce Lee was a seeker of knowledge, a true master of the fighting arts and philosophy. A great book to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book which gives an insight into JKD, 5 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
I recently bought this book and found it very useful. It's methods are clear and very effective. I am not currently studying JKD, although I intend to take it up. I have been a fan for years and this book has made me decide to begin studying the art. I use this book often, my friend and I practice various techniques. We feel that these techniques can be very useful when confronted in the street. Lee's counter moves and attacks are deadly when applied with speed and precision. This book has made me want to develop my knowledge of Gung-Fu and JKD. I would mainly recommend this book to JKD students, but people like me who have an interest could buy it, so they get an insight as to what the art intails. A great addition to a martial arts library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Basic's of JKD, 21 Feb 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
This series of books give you a good look at the basics of Jun Fan Jeet Kune Do. It is full of great picture's of not only Bruce Lee, but Dan Inosanto and Ted Wong.
This series of books go over Footwork, Punching, Kicking, Ready Stance (bi-jong), and much more. After reading these books you will have an idea of JKD the way Bruce taught it.
Sean Madigan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars jeet kune do recommended, 13 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. W. Syed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
i would strongly advise for you to first read the " jeet kune do " book as this book contains a lot of fight language such as " do a round house turn elbow" and until you read that book most forms of attack you do not know, but apart from that its a great book. p.s the steps could be a little more precise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bruce lee book, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
purchased this bruce lee book for son because of his interest in martial arts, son very pleased with purchase and price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely informative, 7 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 (Paperback)
This book is highly reconmendedfor the average joe at home who Wishes to beter them selves By means of Dicipline, self control, and what not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1
Bruce Lee's Fighting Method: Self-Defense Techniques Vol. 1 by Mitoshi Uyehara (Paperback - 1 Dec 1976)
Used & New from: £2.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews