Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb first book
I have quite a few Japanese garden books, and I'd recommend this one above all others as your first; and if you only buy one, buy this one.

The range of photographs for inspiration is impressive and the accompanying sketches explain points of design theory well. The text is concise yet thorough in almost every aspect you could possibly need. There is not only...
Published on 1 Sep 2008 by J. Salisbury

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aimed more for larger gardens
There were some really good ideas and pictures in this book, but at the same time, this is not really for a small garden - some of the projects are very ambitious and for the larger garden only
Published 14 months ago by Kevvy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb first book, 1 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
I have quite a few Japanese garden books, and I'd recommend this one above all others as your first; and if you only buy one, buy this one.

The range of photographs for inspiration is impressive and the accompanying sketches explain points of design theory well. The text is concise yet thorough in almost every aspect you could possibly need. There is not only an extensive plant list, but every one has a photo to show you what the plant looks like too! It's the only place I found an alternative to moss that might grow in my garden.

If you want to create your first garden and don't know where to start, buy this book. You'll probably find that it's the only one you need to get good results (you'll want more, though!). The low cost compared to the huge amount of information in it makes this the best value book on Japanese gardening - in my library at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intersting book on an interesting subject, 31 Dec 2009
By 
thos (Galway,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
Know infinitely more about this type of gardening after reading. Found some of the projects very appealing for the amateur like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, 26 May 2010
By 
Mrs. A. A. Kay (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
Just starting to plan a Japanese style garden and need all the help I can get. This book has it all - ideas, how to carry them out and background info. Only down side is it is American so all the info at the back - where to source items etc. are based in America. I found it inspirational and a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photos & how-to's. Learn how to add a Japanese touch., 9 Sep 1998
By A Customer
A great "first book" on the subject of Japanese gardening. Nice color photos (but never enough), and the how-to's are easy to understand. A section on various shaped stones and stone placement. I refer back to mine often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garden paradise, 25 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
I ordered this book based on the previous reviews on here, and I am very glad I did. Having been to Tatton recently and been inspired by the Japanese garden there, I came away determined to try and achieve the same calm and beautiful surroundings in my own small back courtyard garden. As it is, I already have a lot of the plants and shrubs recommended in the book, but I needed a bit more guidance regarding design.

This book takes you through various styles and the elements needed to achieve them. The photography is wonderful too. I am really looking forward to being able to sit with my early morning cup of tea in a few weeks time in my hopefully serene outdoor space. Weather permitting of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic photos, 15 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
If you are a fan of Japanese style gardens this book is just full of fantastic photos to give you plenty of ideas. It does concentrate on large plots but there also some ideas for small gardens and courtyards. Personally I just love looking at the photos and dreaming about digging everything up and starting again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aimed more for larger gardens, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
There were some really good ideas and pictures in this book, but at the same time, this is not really for a small garden - some of the projects are very ambitious and for the larger garden only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
very informative and useful book,recommended for any one wanting to do a Japanese garden,plain and easy to understand.good value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book about Japanese gardens., 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
This book is compulsory for japanese garden lovers. It can be describe everything about japanese gardens. Including japanese garden types, plants, bridges, fences, gates, stone lanters, water basins, paths etc. To summerize everything which is needed to creating a japanese garden.

There are many pictures, ideas and techniques which help us to create our own japanese garden. The pictures give us many possibilities to imagine how would be built a japanese garden.
It is also give us many ideas about how to arrange plants, stones and elements in our garden in a japanese way.
There is only one disadvantage in this book. It would be thicker. :)

I offer this book for everyone who likes japanese or asian culture even if they don't want to build a japanese garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thrilled my wife, 4 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about) (Paperback)
Exactly what my wife wanted, full of pics.Ideal book to learn about starting a japanese garden.many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All About Creating Japanese Gardens (Ortho's All about)
Used & New from: 2.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews