Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1 Book About Comics You Must Read!
This is the book for you if you are either: 1) a comic book reader, 2) interested in the history of comics, 3) a fan of comic book writer Tony Isabella or 4) a human being.

It covers, as the title implies, 1000 of the best comic books ever produced in the USA. Isabella, a veteran comic book fan and writer, has selected these for both the casual comic book...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by Ramon Schenk

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight
As any kind of reference book on comics, this just doesn't cut it because of the limited number of titles mentioned which, because numerous titles have multiple entries, is considerably less than 1000. As a critical guide to comics it is, bluntly, a joke. 40 words per entry (actually this was the highest of several entries I counted) doesn't allow much space for anything...
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Ian Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1 Book About Comics You Must Read!, 28 Nov 2009
By 
Ramon Schenk "ramonschenk" (Rotterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1,000 Comic Books You Must Read (Hardcover)
This is the book for you if you are either: 1) a comic book reader, 2) interested in the history of comics, 3) a fan of comic book writer Tony Isabella or 4) a human being.

It covers, as the title implies, 1000 of the best comic books ever produced in the USA. Isabella, a veteran comic book fan and writer, has selected these for both the casual comic book reader and the seasoned veteran. Lots and lots of information about the time period, the creators, the publishing history and the characters.

Absolutely top notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, 18 Feb 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,000 Comic Books You Must Read (Hardcover)
As any kind of reference book on comics, this just doesn't cut it because of the limited number of titles mentioned which, because numerous titles have multiple entries, is considerably less than 1000. As a critical guide to comics it is, bluntly, a joke. 40 words per entry (actually this was the highest of several entries I counted) doesn't allow much space for anything other than the most superficial of comments. On these levels alone the book is a complete failure.

That doesn't mean, however, that it's a complete waste of time. What it does succeed at being is as a nice piece of nostalgia because of the wonderful and often garish covers it reprints. While it does cover a broad range of comics it's still difficult to find a page that doesn't have at least one super-hero title and usually more. This a colourful and undemanding fun and very lightweight read where the illustrations are far far more important than the text. If you're looking for a decent historical survey of American comics (manga barely gets a mention) then look elsewhere.

Update, 22nd Feb.

Actually, the more closely I look at this book, the more annoyed I get. Now you may well think I'm over-reacting about something which is basically designed to be a fun piece of trivia but it's inconsistent even on its own terms. The title alone, and this may well be its intent, is silly. Personally I'd call it unreasonable. Given that huge numbers of its entries are effectively unobtainable unless you're earning seven figures a year or have vast personal wealth, it's effectively impossible for you to even get your hands on hundreds of the titles included if they weren't published by Marvel or DC.

It's also unlikely that you'd enjoy them all even if you could. More than a few are pretty dire comics by most standards (several of them written by the author himself who is including them out of sheer mischief or misguided vanity -Astonishing Tales featuring It! The Living Colossus for example which I wouldn't include in a list of 50,000 titles) and included for historical reasons or appalling taste on the part of the writer. That apart, because of the sheer variety included no-one will have a taste broad enough to enjoy them all. I doubt if there are many, if any, British readers who understand the appeal or, and actually enjoy, the Archie-Betty-Jughead-Veronica long-running series.

Isabella is also inconsistent in that he includes Graphic Novels and Trade Editions (i.e. collected series). I don't mind him including these but he's inconsistent even on his own terms by including the comic Love & Rockets by the Hernandez Brothers but also the massive hardback collections Palomar and Locas which originally appeared there. I said earlier that Manga doesn't get much of a look in though he does include the American edition of the graphic story by Osamu Tezuka of MW (a brilliant piece of work) but omits Tezuka's seminal and widely available Astro Boy series.

I could go on but I've spent enough time on what is basically an otherwise likeable piece of nostalgic ephemera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broaden your horizons, 31 July 2010
By 
This review is from: 1,000 Comic Books You Must Read (Hardcover)
As a collector with 20+ years of reading mainstream comics I've been looking at the less well known publishers in the last few years. This book highlights the popular Batman, Superman issues and the more obscure titles.

If you're interested in which of your comics are rated, or want to broaden your horizons and pick up something you wouldn't normally look at I can recommend this book.

A good read and manages to make the topic fun again; even after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High On Visuals - Lower On Substance, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,000 Comic Books You Must Read (Hardcover)
This is a tricky product to assess - it's certainly a very attractive book & on the plus side there are stacks of comic book covers that have been reproduced to a high standard - books from the forties to modern day are included - I particularly enjoyed the EC / Horror / Sci Fi covers from the 50's, Early Silver Age Marvels, some glorious Gold Key fare from the 60's, & plenty of diverse 70's books from Marvel, DC, Charlton etc.
Tony Isabella demonstrates a good knowledge of the majority of the comic book spectrum - there are signs that he can pull out some of the main books to hunt down for story quality e.g. Fantastic Four # 51, Amazing Spiderman # 248, Mysterious Suspense #1, O'Neil's Green Lantern, Miller's superb Born Again storyline, Busiek's Marvels etc - but equally many of his selections probably should not make any Top 1000 list - indeed Isabella selects many of his own scripted books from the 70's onwards to include - I have read about 80% of Marvel's output (between 1961-82) over the years & hundreds of books written by Stan Lee, Roy Thomas, Steve Englehart, Gerry Conway, Steve Gerber, Chris Claremont, Frank Miller etc spring to mind as memorable but none of Isabella's passable horror/sci-fi/hero output registers as highly.
Isabella demonstrates on his full page review for FF Annual #1 that he is capable of putting across his passion & of enthusing the reader to go & track down some material - but equally when you look at his "reviews" for such classics as Amazing Fantasy # 15, Daredevil # 1, FF # 1 etc there is nothing of any substance in their 3-4 line pieces - he doesn't mention the stunning covers, the defining artwork from Ditko, Kirby or Everett, or touch on the simple but enduring origin stories that were strong enough to be used on major films some 40 years later.
His write up for Gold Key's Twilight Zone sums up the negative side of this book - he basically states that the series was based on the TV series & ran from the early 60's upwards - & that's it ! - no mention of the fabulous painted covers - or of superior artists such as Gioletti that mixed with some blander creators - or that from the dawn of the seventies the quality dropped off notably.
Overall I rate the book at 3.5 stars but have rounded up to 4 stars as Isabella is clearly a fan of EC comics & of the incomparable Steve Ditko's artwork - I can relate to him on those scores.
If you buy the book as a "visual treat" with some pointers towards some new collecting ideas then you shouldn't go far wrong but it's no definite listing for the cream of the comic book output since the Golden Age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 4 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,000 Comic Books You Must Read (Hardcover)
This book makes you want to find loads of others, and cry at the comics you know you wont get, but it is wonderful to see them all in one please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1000 comic books you must read, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. M. Sanders "TX41" (Powys, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,000 Comic Books You Must Read (Hardcover)
A superb collection of front covers and artworks from American Comic books,

I purchased as I like the style of the old comic drawings and as I was hoping to follow the style for my own modern work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
This review is from: 1,000 Comic Books You Must Read (Hardcover)
brilliantly packed and exactly as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not cool dude, 17 Dec 2012
nice trick man , could u just send me list of titles no u send me a book of pictures for 10£
ps. dont by this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1,000 Comic Books You Must Read
1,000 Comic Books You Must Read by Tony Isabella (Hardcover - 27 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: £15.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews