Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farmers Wife Quilt
This is a beautiful book, with lots of pictures, diagrams and cutting instructions, so that you can receate the blocks shown. There are also lots of wonderful stories through the book.
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by Lorna

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Farmer's wife quilt
This book has stimulated a cult following. There are blogs, support groups and template manufacturers all having a field day because of this book. The story is simple. Letters written in 1922 in response to a farming magazine article "would you like your daughter to marry a farmer". However the cult following is not about the letters but about the sampler quilt...
Published 14 months ago by Antoinette Gregan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farmers Wife Quilt, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Lorna "Sewing crazy" (Hatfield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book, with lots of pictures, diagrams and cutting instructions, so that you can receate the blocks shown. There are also lots of wonderful stories through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Farmer's wife quilt, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
This book has stimulated a cult following. There are blogs, support groups and template manufacturers all having a field day because of this book. The story is simple. Letters written in 1922 in response to a farming magazine article "would you like your daughter to marry a farmer". However the cult following is not about the letters but about the sampler quilt that Laurie Aaron Hird made by hand. There are 111 different 6 inch blocks. Making blocks so small is indeed a challenge which is why it has created such a stir in the quilting world. The instructions are for templates and these come on an enclosed CD. However the modern quilting world uses rotary cutting, foundation piecing or paper piecing which is why there are so many online groups sharing information on easier ways of making these blocks. It is a charming book to read, but it is a frustrating book for a quilter. This is why it appeals to so many of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read a little, stitch a little, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Elaine B Reader (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
I'm enjoying browsing through the blocks and reading some of the letters,and noting that whilst the wives all seem to want their daughters to marry farmers, their reasons are quite varied, most happy to accept the inventions of the day which made their lives easier such as the telephone, car, lighting, running water etc, but all desiring to keep their family life and values firmly rooted in the past. The letters generally point to the contentment which comes from being satisfied with their lot, however lacking this may seem to be to the "city folks" out there chasing the dime.
The blocks themselves are all finished at 6" x 6" and although the author enjoyed piecing them by hand they can easily be machined. All use templates and these are on a CD. The one very annoying thing about this is that every single template is given separately, and each of them has to be printed on a separate sheet of paper - so much better if the templates for each block had been given together. (UPDATE 29th Aug 2010-- I have used Paint Shop Pro to print 6 to 8 of the templates onto one sheet - leave a comment if you'd like the details to enable you to do this, correct ratio is maintained)
Reproduction fabrics were used to make the quilt in the book and it would have been interesting to see this made in modern day ones for comparison.
I think you would need some experience of patchwork and quilting before starting this book, but not a great deal, just the basic general points which are usually found in almost every other book on this subject.
A real disappointment for me is that the winning letter is not shown, nor the second nor the third - as the list of winners are given it would have been very interesting to compare their letters to those which are used in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book on two levels, 13 Jun 2011
By 
P. Smith (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for a quilting friend, but may well borrow it back sometime if I don't buy another copy for myself! The letters from the farmers' wives are interesting and, in some cases, quite moving, and give an insight into another, slower-paced age. The quilt blocks are clearly illustrated and described and give a great deal of inspiration to make something unique and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely quilt blocks, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
I really like this book, not only does it give you a peek into the history of a 'farmers wife', it gives the opportunity to make a beautiful quilt! I intend to hand stitch all the blocks to make an heirloom quilt. I love that I can prepare little sections to take & sew anywhere. The only thing I would've asked is that the templates were pre-printed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and Practical, 12 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
I bought this book to take part in an online quilt-along. I think it's fabulous. Being a quilter it's the sort of book I'd have loved as a present. The first section shows each block made up along side the letters from The Farmer's Wife. The second half show's each block and the templates that you need, plus the number of each type of your chosen fabric you will need in order to assemble the block. All the templates come on a CD which is in an envelope in the back of the book.

Quilter's used to working out maths so they can rotary cut the blocks will find there are no measurements included in the book or CD. Another negative is each template prints out one per page. Not one block per page, one individual template. It prints out in the middle of the page so unless you can do some fancy cutting and pasting you will need to use one sheet of paper per template - even if the template is tiny!

Having pointed out the negatives with the way this works I have found the templates are working for me and quilters that want to do the project by hand (as the original quilt was done) will find the templates ideal for English Paper type piecing.

All in all a lovely quilting book with something for modern and traditional quilters of all experiences. Oh and the paper in the book has slightly faded edges and an olde worlde feel. Along with the letters this makes this book far more than just a how to book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Farmers Wife Sampler Quilt, 9 Jun 2010
By 
K. M. Naunton "Kimberley" (St.Albans.England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
The thing that I love about this book is reading all the different letters from creative women that enjoy home making and the giving of home made quilts, The pleasure of being creative with scraps of fabrics that end up being family heirlooms. The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
I bought this book and set myself the challenge of doing a block a night. So far so good and on line to finish the lap quilt. It is a great way to use up all those scraps of fabric that you didn't want to throw away. Easy to read and enjoyed the stories/letters that accompany the quilt squares. It is a brilliant sampler book and plenty of choice if some of the blocks look complicated or fiddly. I have thoroughly enjoyed dipping into the book and soon the number of blocks grow. Printing off the templates from the cd are simple to access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical and enjoyable reading, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
Lovely traditional quilt block designs with practical piecing guides and templates for every shape. The letters tied in well with the patterns and were enjoyable reading. I bought a copy for my daughter and my sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely patches, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired (Paperback)
I really enjoy making the blocks in this book, they are at different levels, some are quite simple, while others are really fiddly, so it would suit all levels of patch worker. The only down side is that you have to print off each pattern on its own, and at the moment I don't seem able to combine the relevant ones onto one page, to reduce the printing, but that is a tiny issue. The letters and patches at the front of the book are really interesting, and the information on how to put them all together at the back is very useful too. I would definitely recommend this book as it will keep you busy for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Farmer's Wife Sampler Quilt: 55 Letters and the 111 Blocks They Inspired
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews