Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little workbook
I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this but I have been very pleased with the purchase. The book has patterns for an 1890 style corset (with steel boning),1860 style corset, chemise, drawers, 1750 style corset (with shoulder straps and steel boning) and a 1700 style corselet. The patterns need to be drafted from the grid. The book has intructions for how to make...
Published on 1 Jun 2004

versus
68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good guide, but...
This book contains useful patterns and tips for making modern versions of period corsets. However, these are by no means historically accurate, and they fail to take into account how corsets were used to alter the posture as well as restrict the waist.
It is a good book if you are looking for an easy to wear version of period dress and are not concerned with exact...
Published on 20 Nov 2003 by S. Gibson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little workbook, 1 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this but I have been very pleased with the purchase. The book has patterns for an 1890 style corset (with steel boning),1860 style corset, chemise, drawers, 1750 style corset (with shoulder straps and steel boning) and a 1700 style corselet. The patterns need to be drafted from the grid. The book has intructions for how to make each item, but sometimes steps are missed out and some guesswork needs to be employed. Also, the lists of notions are inaccurate (I ended up buying far too much boning for a start!). However, I would recommend this book to people who can use dress patterns but have never made corsets before (like myself).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tiny showstopper!, 25 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
This book is a bit of a shock really. It is a tiny notebook but what an amazing resource. It contains a lot of information on how to construct a corset from the grid patterns printed, although it does assume basic dressmaking skills. If you don't know how to apply bias tape for example you would struggle. It does not detail things like cording and flossing but the price is reasonable and you really can't go far wrong with this as a starter providing your dressmaking skills are reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A concise and simple guide to creating the perfect corset, 22 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
Although small on size this book is big on information. It give details and small scale patterns on how to make corsets from all eras. A must for the amature costume maker, or professional goth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good guide, but..., 20 Nov 2003
By 
S. Gibson (Wokingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
This book contains useful patterns and tips for making modern versions of period corsets. However, these are by no means historically accurate, and they fail to take into account how corsets were used to alter the posture as well as restrict the waist.
It is a good book if you are looking for an easy to wear version of period dress and are not concerned with exact reproductions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The LITTLE Corset Book, 7 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
This is not a book! it's actually a dozen pages stapled together and folded over. contains designs for 2 19th century corsets, one lined one unlined, one elizabethan strapped corset, one half-corset, chemise and drawers.
It's a useful book, but be warned, it's tiny! just fits my hand.
Good detail and easy to follow instructions, if a bit cramped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter book for the costume curious, 20 Aug 2010
By 
K. Ward "obsessive_katy" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
This was my first book on corset construction, bought when I was 16. It's a great starter in construction and a good aid to help you start to think about the shapes involved in creating good foundation wear.

Actually, I still refer to it every now and then. And it's been a good 11 years since I bought it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute pamphlet, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
I read someone's review saying that this book is just a stapled pamphlet and they were right! But its nicely set out. Word of warning, this is not for beginners. You must have a working knowledge of garment construction and be able to use your initiative occassionally but its very easy to follow and the diagrams are very good.

It does show you how to draft the pattern pieces in diagram form rather than just illustrating how to construct them from a bought pattern. I think this book is a bargain but you won't find any information on history of corsetry. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++, 18 Sep 2012
By 
Janet Fleming - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++
sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++
sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++
sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small and mighty, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
Amazed at how small this book was when it arrived - in fact I was disappointed until I began to look through it. It is the size of a small pocket diary, so be warned have your glasses handy!

For all that, this book is jammed packed with great and useable info, ink drawn pictures, some flat working sketches, and lots of period detail info.

To translate this into an actual working pattern would require some pattern drafting experience and sewing dexterity, yet it is doable, and fantastically interesting historically. A good all-round handy guide, and although much smaller than I would like, it contains everything I needed to know.

I am a costume design student at uni, a qualified textile designer and have been sewing for over 20years. There is always more to learn, and this book proved that to me! I wouldn't recommend it to the novice corset maker, unless it was given as an inspirational gift :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars little book, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) (Paperback)
Brilliant designs and small book as says handy for costume design and supportive of ideas with clear images and such a neat handy size very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks)
The Little Corset Book (Little Costume Workbooks) by Bonnie Ambrose (Paperback - 17 July 1997)
7.75
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews