Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Costumiers Bible
This book is any costume designer/maker's dream, with fantastic period examples (both male and female) and their corresponding patterns. It is a fantastic all-rounder, the only thing which would make it any better would be to have primary examples of clothing and gridded patterns (as with the Janet Arnold books). On the whole though a very fantastic book, would recommend...
Published on 18 April 2005 by calida_h

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good details, but poor illustrations
A good book for those with a knowledge of tailoring, who want to experiment with historical fashions. Each double page spread gives details of fabrics and decoration, brief details of the garments and a few notes on pattern construction. Following this is a double page spread giving the shapes of the pattern pieces. Good if you already know how to make costumes and just...
Published on 20 Aug. 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Costumiers Bible, 18 April 2005
This book is any costume designer/maker's dream, with fantastic period examples (both male and female) and their corresponding patterns. It is a fantastic all-rounder, the only thing which would make it any better would be to have primary examples of clothing and gridded patterns (as with the Janet Arnold books). On the whole though a very fantastic book, would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good details, but poor illustrations, 20 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Evolution of Fashion, The: Pattern and Cut, 1066-1930 (Paperback)
A good book for those with a knowledge of tailoring, who want to experiment with historical fashions. Each double page spread gives details of fabrics and decoration, brief details of the garments and a few notes on pattern construction. Following this is a double page spread giving the shapes of the pattern pieces. Good if you already know how to make costumes and just want a reference book to give you some ideas. The illustrator has tried to make the drawings contemporary and they don't work - I feel it would have been better to have constructional details and tips here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real feast for historical costume lovers, 11 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
I had this book given to me for my 21st birthday(36 years ago). I was making costumes for an amateur operatic society at that time, this book was my bible. I reproduced over many years the costumes in this book. All the patterns are here in 1/4 scale, and they are all very authentic. The costumes were always praised very highly in the local press. Unfortunately I lent someone this book and never got it back......well it's now on my wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for experienced dressmakers, 26 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Evolution of Fashion, The: Pattern and Cut, 1066-1930 (Paperback)
Bucknell and Hamilton is an excellent resource for an experienced dressmaker coming to costuming for the first time. It covers an extensive time period, and shows beautifully the progression of fashion style. The information on colour and accessories is also very useful.
On the down-side, however, the patterns can be difficult to interpret, and construction notes are lacking. Primary sources are really required to see how the garment should look as the line drawings are often rather unhelpful.
Overall, a very useful book requiring a degree of experience, intuition and adaptability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evolution of Fashion, The: Pattern and Cut, 1066-1930 (Paperback)
Wonderful book containing pictures of fashions through the centuries (male and female) combined with patterns for making them. From a wimple to an Elizabethan ruff, it's all in there! Am planning to scale them down and make some up for a rag doll.
It's really useful that the illustration and patterns for each era are preceded by a page detailing the fabrics and colours that would have been used, the padding and restriction, even the movement. There's also a wealth of information on every other issue- hairstyles, hats, accessories, underclothes, so you can create the entire 'look'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed, 25 Nov. 2009
By 
M. A. Jones (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evolution of Fashion, The: Pattern and Cut, 1066-1930 (Paperback)
I was very impressed with this book. It gave very simple basic patterns which can be embellished with details from other sources. It was a bit of a fiddle getting the sizing right, but worth the effort and it gets easier when you have done it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Mum's bible, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My mum was a keen costume designer and this was her bible. She had lost her copy of this book and was delighted when we found it on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evolution of Fashion, The: Pattern and Cut, 1066-1930
Evolution of Fashion, The: Pattern and Cut, 1066-1930 by Peter Arthur Bucknell (Paperback - Dec. 1989)
Used & New from: £47.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews