Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, funny, honest!
I downloaded this book onto the Kindle app as I didn't think I would pay too much attention to it - since its written by an American for the American market - I was wrong...I've read it cover to cover, twice, and am now buying it in paperback so that I can tag and highlight pages and sections. James has presented a somewhat tricky subject in quite plain terms, but with a...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Mitch

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More of a novel than a handbook
It contains too many anecdots and stories about the authors family. It is more of an autobiography than a handbook
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by Klas Sellström


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, funny, honest!, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual (Paperback)
I downloaded this book onto the Kindle app as I didn't think I would pay too much attention to it - since its written by an American for the American market - I was wrong...I've read it cover to cover, twice, and am now buying it in paperback so that I can tag and highlight pages and sections. James has presented a somewhat tricky subject in quite plain terms, but with a sense of humour that makes the reader want to keep reading. I have also tried some of the suggestions and recipes... the herb jello (botanica wiggleus) really works!! Whether you are serious about herb medicine, or you are just dabbling in boosting your own immune system, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, useful and entertaining, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual (Paperback)
This is an extremely useful book for those of us who would love to make our own herbal 'stuff' but don't know how. Green concentrates on a small number of herbs with wide uses, most of which are available (sometimes for wild harvesting) here in the UK, and presents enormous amounts of practical information geared towards lay herbalists who want to experiment with making their own preparations. Use this book for practical, easy to use low-down on how to make creams, salves, lotions, tinctures and many other herbal preparations. Green has a lovely voice and presents his material in an intelligent, entertaining way. Although my herbal library is extensive, I come back to this book again and again when it comes to making herbal preparations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring introduction to practical herbalism, 19 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual (Paperback)
Lots of practical advice. Lots of humour - I laughed a lot when reading it, and got inspired to get out there and try out some techniques myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
User friendly, easy to read and great as a Kindle.
I was looking for a book for a while and this one came highly recommended. I'm not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any herbal remedy maker, 9 July 2014
This review is from: The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual (Paperback)
James Green is an American herbalist. The book is nicely illustrated by his daughter, and it could easily taken more of her pictures, so perhaps they'll do that next time. Mr Green not only knows his stuff, he also is a really good teacher and has a lovely voice that has a personal touch to it. It's obvious that he wants to empower people to learn and take control, while still providing them with a framework of safety. Am taking this book on holiday as it's definitely a good one to curl up with.
The only thing that I would not follow are the recipes for making creams. If you use only oils in a cream then you don't need to use a preservative, you only need to worry about the possibility of the oils going rancid over time and this can be slowed down by adding vitamin e and rosemary anti-oxidant. If you add water to any preparation however, you are inviting bacteria to grow and you should use a preservative. (There are some on the market that are more friendly than others, some that are approved by Ecocert and are broad spectrum). Even if you keep creams in the fridge, they will start to grow yeast, moulds or fungus, despite you not being able to see them.
Despite that, highly recommended, charming, inspiring book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Introductory Book, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual (Paperback)
As a complete beginner to the world of herbalism this was among the few 'must have' books recommended to me.
Very informative but also very well written, the author is genuinely charming and clearly has a lot of passion for the subject matter, it may not cover all aspects of herbalism (I'm still too green to judge that) but it gives a great introduction to many of the techniques and processes involved in concocting your very own herbal remedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 12 April 2005
By 
C. C. Chivers "ccchivers" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual (Paperback)
Don't expect the glossy cover! It is merely a beige one with a simple diagram. Other than that, the content is quite good, but could be vastly improved to be made interesting. This is literally an instruction booklet, nothing more, nothing less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More of a novel than a handbook, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Klas Sellström (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual (Paperback)
It contains too many anecdots and stories about the authors family. It is more of an autobiography than a handbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual
The Herbal Medicine Maker's Handbook: A Home Manual by James Green (Paperback - 31 Dec 2000)
£18.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews