Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will keep you awake at night
A well researched book, dating from the 7th Century to the present. Gives an understanding of how and why Islam has grown in strength towards its determination to conquer the world by unfair means and down right brutality. Christianity doesn't stand a cat in hells chance of survival against Islam whose aim is to kill it off at any cost.
Published 9 months ago by graemebg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book
A very thorough book, probably best for just dipping into as it is quite a heavy, but useful book. Thanks.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs. J. M. Dunning


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will keep you awake at night, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well researched book, dating from the 7th Century to the present. Gives an understanding of how and why Islam has grown in strength towards its determination to conquer the world by unfair means and down right brutality. Christianity doesn't stand a cat in hells chance of survival against Islam whose aim is to kill it off at any cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opening, 28 July 2013
I enjoy reading opinions from many learned scholars on all sides. This has been a sobering read. I think everyone should take the time to read it especially those who defend Islam so vehemently-after all, knowledge is power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars politically incorrect guide to islam, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book which exposes the intolerant nature of this faith. Apologists for Islam should read this book and see if they can challenge its content. Western liberals refrain from challenging Islam because of fear. It's much easier to pretend to be freedom lovers when you are criticising western style democracies rather face up to the tyranny imposed by Islamic regimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise & informing.Read it!, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades), The (Politically Incorrect Guides) (Paperback)
Another good read from Robert Spencer,who refuses to cower before islamist apologists & tells it like it is. After reading this you can see how jihadists can twist any statement in the koran to suit their purposes. Very informative of the crusades & the spread of islamic conquests that provoked them. For those who draw comparisons between the bible & the koran & how they are interpreted by their followers i would advise them to take a look at regions of the world where islam is dominant,particularly in Africa & Asia. The persecution of Christian & other minorities often ending in murder is horrific & the almost total lack of media coverage of this in the west is a disgrace. More people should read books like Mr Spencer's & wake up to the fact that by allowing such things as sharia law to be practiced, as is happening now in some parts of the UK , we are taking the first steps in surrendering to a totalitarian & fascist ideology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


221 of 259 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What we need to know, 12 April 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades), The (Politically Incorrect Guides) (Paperback)
Robert Spencer has written or edited several outstanding works on Islam and the challenge it poses to a free West. This book, part of the Politically Incorrect Guide to... series is a more informal, easier-to-read version of his earlier works. Thus there is not too much new material here if you have read his earlier volumes.

But having a more popular level volume on this subject is important, if for no other reason than that people are busy and pressed for time. So a volume like this with its important contents can be scanned through in several hours.

Spencer covers a number of important issues. One major topic is that of the Crusades. Of course whenever people express concern about Islamic terrorism, and ask whether Islam is really a religion of peace, the usual tactic is to raise the issue of the Crusades. The implication is that the Christian West is no better than Islam, and perhaps worse, because of the Crusades.

And the Crusades are often dragged up by Muslim apologists almost as an excuse for present day jihad and terrorist attacks. It is as if the Crusades justify modern terrorist movements. Thus Spencer devotes a good third of this book to examining the issue of the Crusades in some detail.

Spencer discusses the reasons why the Crusades began, and clears up a number of myths surrounding them. In short, he argues, it is more accurate to view the Crusades as a defensive war, a reaction to 400 years of Islamic expansion and imperialism. The attempt to reclaim the Holy Lands and rescue Christians was a big factor in the Crusades.

While much excess of violence took place, and the Crusades were far from perfect, they do need to be seen in context. A number of points are raised by Spencer. For example, he cites Muslim authorities who in fact claim that Muslims tended to fare better in lands taken by the Crusaders than in Muslim lands!

And as for the 1099 sack of Jerusalem, yes it was barbaric in many ways. Yet it was not out of line with standard military practices of the day, be they Western or Muslim. Indeed, Muslim commentators of the day took a rather laconic interest in the whole matter. It was only later that this episode in particular, and the Crusades in general, became ammunition in the Muslim propaganda wars.

And what about equally odious Muslim offensives, such as the sack of Constantinople in 1453? While we constantly hear Westerners today apologising for what we did or did not do long ago, one hardly ever hears Muslims apologising for this event, or the massacre of the Armenians from 1915 to 1917, or dozens of other major Muslim atrocities. Where is the hand-wringing over these acts? Why are only Western shortcomings highlighted?

Spencer also examines the practices of Islam over the centuries: its oppression of women, it denial of freedom of conscience; its totalitarian nature, and its justification of jihad. Consider this last issue, for example. Many will argue that jihad is not really to be understood literally, that Islam is a religion of peace, and that only extremist Muslims practice violence. Not so, argues Spencer: "violent jihad warfare against unbelievers is not a heretical doctrine held by a tiny minority of extremists, but a constant element of mainstream Islamic theology".

Thus all four major Sunni schools of jurisprudence agree on the importance of jihad. Indeed, "Islam is unique among the religions of the world in having a developed doctrine, theology, and legal system that mandates warfare against unbelievers". Spencer cites chapter and verse (or sura) from the Koran, along with sayings from the hadith (traditions) and examples from the life of Muhammad and his followers which make clear that the use of force is a mainstay in Islam, not an aberration.

Many other myths about Islam are here convincingly dealt with. Spencer concludes by reminding us that we are in a war. It is a war "between two vastly different ideas of how to govern states and order societies". In this struggle "the West has nothing to apologize for and a great deal to defend".

The differences between Islamic sharia law and totalitarian rule and Western freedoms and democracy are very real indeed. The two cannot co-exist. One will prevail, and Spencer knows which one he would have persevere.

He finishes with four simple proposals: Western foreign aid must be tied to the treatment of non-Muslims in Muslim nations; global alliances need to be reconfigured on this same basis; Muslim nations must renounce sharia expansionism; and the West must embark upon a full-scall search for alternate energy sources, so that we no longer have to rely on Middle Eastern oil.

All in all this brief volume contains a lot of helpful information. Many myths and misunderstandings about the nature of Islam and its threats are carefully dealt with here. While such information does not mean that we treat individual Muslims disrespectfully, it does remind us that there are two different ways of life competing for supremacy, and we need to be aware of this struggle and fortified with the right information. This volume helps us in that task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 118 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor presentation, but a very useful and truthful book., 11 Dec 2006
This review is from: Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades), The (Politically Incorrect Guides) (Paperback)
After spending some time working in the Middle East and North Africa I have developed an interest in Islam and the Quran. I have built up significant knowledge of Muslims and Islam, and have taken the time to read most of the Quran. However the Quran makes little sense and its content is shocking to say the least. I bought this book hoping it may make some of the Quran clearer and piece together some of my more patchy knowledge regarding the history of Islam.

My initial impression of the book was not good. Every aspect of it gives the impression of a narrow minded bias. Even the name of the book conjures the despised animal of Islam i.e. P.I.G. The presentation will I am sure put many people of buying it. It really seems, on the face of it, like a propaganda booklet for the BNP.

However if you can get past this aspect and read the book you will learn a lot about Islam. Although it is all shocking and worrying it is never the less all true. All the facts tally with my previous research whilst adding to it and providing missing links. I cross checked some facts with my Quran and other sources and it all agrees.

I particularly found the descriptions of early Islamic history very helpful. Large sections at the beginning of the Quran refer to the outcomes of Mohammed's early battles to spread Islam. This is not made clear in the Quran itself and left me confused. This book makes this clear and understandable.

The book contains a vast array of evidence to support the opinion that Islam is intrinsically and inherently founded on violence and was spread by force. Although this is obvious when reading the Quran itself this book makes it clearer.

I will read this book again and use it for reference when discussing Islam with my Muslim colleagues. I recommend this book to anyone wishing to get beyond the politically correct aspect of Islam, although the poor presentation may put many off and make it difficult to take the book seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing look as Islam, 6 May 2007
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades), The (Politically Incorrect Guides) (Paperback)
This very entertaining book is a useful corrective to the highly suspect information we are always being bombarded with on the subject. The book is full of quotes from the Koran, which will give the reader a very clear idea of where Islam stands on matters such as the position of women, the way unbelievers should be treated etc. It thoroughly explodes the myth that Jews and Christians were well-treated under Muslim rule in the Middle East and Europe in medieval times, the real story of how they were treated is very different from the fiction we are usually presented with.

The information about the Crusades is particularly enlightening, since we are always being told that they were an unprovoked attack on a peaceful people, the reality is far different and extremely interesting.

Most of all, this book presents an eloquent plea that we stop apologising for Western Civilisation,stop swallowing dubious Islamic claims to superior cultural achievements, and instead take a pride in our own history and culture. Which I think is an excellent idea.

Louise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit sensationalist but mainly accurate, 25 Jan 2007
By 
A. J. Rabet "Rabs" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades), The (Politically Incorrect Guides) (Paperback)
This book at times is written in a flippant way however if you do not wish to read through an English Translation of the Koran it does help with understanding the mindset with radical Islam.

It also helps understand the Crusades in their historical context as a counter war against Islam which had been invading the countries which formed the Roman Empire for years after the death of Mohammed. If you do not understand how swift this advance was then the mention of how Charles Martel defeated the Muslim invaders at the Battle of Tours is salutary. Look at an Atlas of France and Tours is in the North West of that country on the borders of Brittany.

What is lacking is greater discussion of the fact the Muslim invaders were at the gates of Vienna in the 17th century (1683) which is only 73 years before the birth of Mozart. Just imagine a world without that man's music as it is haram (forbidden) in Islam.

We should also consider that the Barbary Pirates continued slaving raids into Ireland and South West England until late in the 18th century.

Before and after reading this please do not confuse the message in Islam with its practitioners the majority of whom I have found to be courteous in the extreme however this does not alter the fact that Islam (despite what apologists such as Karen Armstrong and Cat Stevens (Yusuf Islam) would have you believe) was and remains a religion based on war and subjugation of non believers.

Overall somewhat dumbed down but a cracking read however I would recommend reading the Koran in full after reading this and you will see that what Spencer quotes is correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensible Man, 5 Sep 2007
By 
Enquirer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades), The (Politically Incorrect Guides) (Paperback)
I recommend this book particularly to those who are Muslim yet know little of Mohammed's actual behaviour and teaching. I bought this book with some trepidation, expecting a neo-conservative rant or perhaps some veiled racism. Instead I found a lucid, balanced, educated and educating book by a man who clearly risks being killed for having written it.This says it all.

Spencer's situation reminds me of the recent calls for Pope Benedict to be murdered when he quoted an ancient Byzantine emperor on Islamic violence. 'We are not violent' was the cry '...anyone who says we are should be beheaded!' This book gives cogent reasons why such doublethink is possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scholarly and well tempered, 11 Jun 2007
By 
M. McManus - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades), The (Politically Incorrect Guides) (Paperback)
Before you buy this book you need to ask yourself just one question: firstly, am I concerned about radical Islam and doubt the PC "elites" ability to confront it? If the answer is yes, then this is a valuable book to read.

When I bought this book, I expected to read polemic, and weapons grade anti-PC material. In fact, this book is written in a very calm, methodical style, and the author's background as a religious studies researcher clearly visible. He does however insert a private joke, writing DEUS VOLT in the inside cover, which was of course the motto of the crusaders.

The book essentially examines several things. Firstly, a look at the life and times of Muhammad, especially in the context of his military campaigns and how these have influenced radical Islamist doctrines of warfare and its boundaries of acceptable conduct. Secondly, an analysis of Islamic teaching on how to treat conquered peoples, with special emphasis placed on the treatment religious minorities in a Muslim majority context. Thirdly, an analysis of the Crusades, where the myth that this was some act of European bloodlust is conclusively dismissed.

The book does not have any glaring weaknesses, but is slightly short, and I felt that the author could have said more than he did. As with other titles in the series, there are no pictures or photographs, and I felt that these could have been useful to break up the text.

This book is an excellent companion to other books such as "While Europe Slept" by Bruce Bawer and "America Alone" by Mark Steyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam (and the Crusades), The (Politically Incorrect Guides)
11.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews