Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2000
Ive always wanted some decent, correct TABS for all the music from this amazing album by METALLICA the greatest rock band of all time, and finally i forked out enough dosh for the book, and now im a lot happier, it has all the tabs, and they all sound perfectly correct when played, i recommend this book to anyone who loves Metallica and plays guitar, or even just loves Metallica. An excellent buy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2008
Right this is by far my favourite Metallica album. I bought this book along with the Master Of Puppets book when it first came out and it is awesome.
The best tabs i have found by far are by cherry lane. And this is really good. All the songs off the album are here and for the most of it the tablature is pretty much spot on. The thing i like about cherry lane books is the layout,it's very clear and easy to read and laid out well. Some tabs are frustrating as they are very large and you dont get much or enough to the page (hal leoanard being the worst) but cherry lane have got it pretty much spot on.
The riffs are really spot on and you will be able to learn the songs to a very satisfactory standard from these tabs. I know i did,i have found some better transcriptions in guitar magazines for tracks like 'Escape' in Guitar World.
Certain tracks like 'Fade To Black' could be a little clearer to play in places,namely what Kirk Hammet plays over the acoustic verses . But if you know the songs well enough by ear you will be able to play these live with a band or just to jam along with the record.
The solo's are pretty much spot on,my only complaint is on the harmony bits where the notes placed next to each other like 12/15 on a small page it does get quite cluttered and difficult to read. I find i have to circle the notes with a coloured pen to make them stand out whilst playing along.
Give it 5 out of 5 tho because i can play everything off of this by using the tab given which after all is what you want from a tab book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Fantastic book, accurate transcriptions and well layed out. I would recommend this book to an intermediate level bass player as some of the bass lines are fairly difficult. A distortion and a wah pedal will be needed for 'for whom the bell tolls' and 'the call of ktulu'. Overall very happy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
So yeah, you can go online and download guitar tab, some of it is even correct. I find having the book in front of me far easier to practice with. The tab seems accurate, the page easy to read. A valuable resource and convenient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2008
i love this song=book of my favorite metallica album. i like the cool photos of the band and it has cliff burton in it too who has been dead since 86 and there are vocals and guitar notes in it. i really wish i could play that awesome solo to my favorite song for whom the bell tolls but i can't read notes very well, i can play drums to it better and i know all the words to that song it's my favorite song. anyways, this book is awesome and i highly recommend it to anyone. that's all i feel about commenting it. buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2001
I found this book in a small Bookshop a few years ago, scanned through it, and thought to myself "This is PERFECT". However i didnt have the money at the time. So went back the next week it was gone,and I havent seen it since.THANK YOU AMAZON. This book is perfect for the any metallica fan who plays drums, if this is you GET THIS BOOK NOW. In my opinion Ride the Lightning is the best album they've done (apart from the Black Album obviously)and this book is a must for heavy metal drummers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2004
This tablature book has a nice cover, and some old pictures inside. The tabs can easily be found on the net. Metallica is metallica, not all can be put in to tablatures. Its slightly inacurate some places, but probably as good as it can be done. Metallica sells this one on their official online store.
I would say it is a waste of money just for the tablature, but it's cool to have if you like Metallica.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)