Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mouthwatering
A word of warning - if you like Ben and Jerry's ice cream, you'll find they taste even better when you make them yourself!
I've owned this book for a few years now, and it is definitely my favourite ice cream book. Even simple vanilla ice cream is amazing. It's fun and interesting and makes ice cream making seem really easy (and it is!)
Yes it is all in american...
Published on 6 Mar 2005 by J. Ricketts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like ice cream
This book is OK but there are better books relating to ice cream on the market, you are paying for the name and not the content
Published 13 months ago by Twingo69


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING EXCITING - OVER STATED REVIEWS..!, 20 Oct 2011
By 
O Kurtay "KURTAY" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
I got this book with my ice cream machine to see if there is anything special there but I found the book is more like a kids early learning type of book.

Lots of colourful illustrations but lacking good recipes which I was seeking from Ben & Jerry's.

I cannot be bothered to return, it has been over stated by the reviews.

There is not enough selection of recipes and you can find these over the internet..!

Don't waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent, easy to follow recipes laced with anecdote
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice-cream lover's bible., 15 Jun 2012
By 
Miss J. Simpson "oohivy" (Moray, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
Simple to follow inventive recipes. Just what I'd expect from my favourite ice-cream makers. The first recipe I tried was for Butter Pecan, it could quite possibly be the nicest ice-cream I've ever tasted but I'll not be too hasty there's loads of others to try.

The book is very easy to use, choose your base recipe and just add a few bits and bobs to make different varieties. The base recipes don't need cooking so you can have ice-cream in as little as 20 mins. With sections for chocolate, fruit, specials, favourites, cookies, candies, sorbets, bakery, sundaes, sauces and drinks this book has plenty on offer. Can't wait for summer to arrive to have the perfect excuse to eat more ice-cream.

Thanks Ben & Jerry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice as a present for someone else, 12 Dec 2010
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
The booklet has a very happy appearance, nice colourfull drawings. The recipes are nice, but not outstanding. I would not buy this for myself, but I found it very nice as a gift to someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely but American, 19 Nov 2010
By 
J. E. Wells "tollesbury jane" (tollesbury essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
An interesting book but beware if you're a brit there will be some things you won't get cos it's all 'in american' cups and odd ingredients for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good present, 22 May 2009
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
This was bought in conjunction with an ice-cream maker and has brought good ideas, suggestions and pleasure to the recipient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Miss Chloie Brown "barbieb3000" (NOTTINGHAM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
bought for a present for a friend, friend loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
Just so easy to make and fast great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Hype!, 26 April 2009
By 
Abdulla M. Al Qasim (Bahrain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
I bought this book mainly because of the many five star reviews by so many customers, however, I have to admit I don't see what all the hype was about! I was a bit disappointed.

Firstly, there aren't that many recipes in the book as I thought there would be, having said that, some of the basic ice cream flavours have not been included in the book and some really weird ones have. The one thing that I think redeems the book is the butterscotch recipe and the chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream recipe!

The thing that annoyed me the most was that the images in the book look like something out of a pre-schoolers book or as if they were intended for someone who is completely retarded!! It feels a bit demeaning! I appreciate the possibility that the authors were trying to make something fun for both children and adults, but someone messed up really bad!

I bought this book with The Ultimate Ice Cream Book by Bruce Weinstein, and I have to say that buying the two together was the right thing to do, they really complement each other well! The number of flavours in Weinstein's book is so vast that you will definitely find what you are looking for (ice creams, sorbets, sauces and the whole lot!) and B&J's book has some interesting and unique ideas.

Don't bee fooled like I was, by the number of raving customers, the book isn't bad but not great despite what the many customers would have you think. If you're thinking of buying just one ice cream book go for Weinstein's book and you won't regret it! But if you don't mind buying the two then why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs. Maureen Mcdonnell (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book (Paperback)
Nearly all the recipes include the use of raw eggs. I don't like to use these in foods I give to children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book
Ben and Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book by Jerry Greenfield (Paperback - 28 Oct 1994)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews