Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars16
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2000
This is one of the best books on spirituality I have ever read. The Swami explains in clear and lucid terms the timeless and inspiring teachings of the Himalayan sages. He gets straight to the heart of these teachings with simple and meaningful anecdotes and examples, sharing with us his own experiences. Many seekers will identify with the questions he raised, the answers to which he gives with amazing clarity, without any hint of mysticism.
If I was to name one book which has affected me most profoundly, it would be this one.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Very enjoyable reading, couldn't put it down. It is written with humility; I did not learn until after reading it that Swami Rama was the yogi who was medically examined in the 1960's and found to have remarkable abilities. Not once does he mention his own achievement in his writing.

Spiritually fortifying, his words are full of wisdom and awareness.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
This is very inspiring book! Easy to read, practical and the one you cannot put down until you are done.
Probably one of the best books on spirituality. It is life story of the yogi, full of knowledge. You might want to read more of his books after reeding this.
Swami Rama represents lineage of Himalayan masters and their tradition is based on Patanjali sutras. For some it might be important tradition is clearly separated from any religion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Having read the Autobiography of a Yogi and being convinced that no other author/book is capable of evoking my spirituality as much as Paramahamsa Yogananda, I was pleasantly surprised that this book comes quite close! I put it down to the most entertaining anecdotes and a very honest introspection of himself which made me think that if this man, full of mortal folly and foible, has achieved spiritual advancement, then I sure have hope! :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
As I am visiting India regularly and I am interested in Indian Philosphy . Swami Rama has a wonderful way to write about his studies and his spiritual way in the Himalayas. A wonderful guide for ones own life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
This is so very good -easy to read, easy to digest, grows in depth as the author shares his life experiences. Have bought copies for friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
It's a very good experience to know the life of a yogi, each chapter teaches us different experience..!!a perfect companion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
I was very hopeful of learning so many things from this book but terribly disappointed. This book only tells stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
The book is excellent, but the print is too pale which makes it difficult to read. But I am happy to have this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
A truely great read for anyone. I couldnt put it down. This book is a teacher in every page. A great gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.99
£10.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)