Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words from a quiet master
Robert Adams has been photographing the American landscape for more than 40 years, and his body of work will be regarded as one of the greatest of any 20th-21st century photographer. He has published many collections; buy any of them, and give yourself time to enjoy and be moved. Better, look at his original prints. They are breathtakingly good. He is also a very fine...
Published on 27 Sept. 2010 by Gios

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Days gone
I pine for days gone when a books title was reflected in its content.
You wont find much of Why People Photograph here.
Robert Adams has given up his tripod for a soapbox.
Published 2 months ago by J. E. Newman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words from a quiet master, 27 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
Robert Adams has been photographing the American landscape for more than 40 years, and his body of work will be regarded as one of the greatest of any 20th-21st century photographer. He has published many collections; buy any of them, and give yourself time to enjoy and be moved. Better, look at his original prints. They are breathtakingly good. He is also a very fine writer- that was his background- and no other photographer has captured so well for me the reason we take pictures. It's like having an opportunity to sit and listen to a master talking about what makes him want to do what he does. "Beauty in Photography" was his first set of essays. Both are remarkable works; brief, elegantly written, moving and life-affirming. Don't miss out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 5 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
I recommend this book to anyone who loves photography and good writing. Its given me a lot to think about, and I am enjoying following up on some of the photographers he writes about - Strand, Atget for example. This is a good book for anyone who feels they might have become 'jaded' in their photography - it lifts the spirits. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 18 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
One of the most interesting books about photography I've ever read, written in a language accessible to everyone, but touching very serious matters.
I would certainly recomend it!!
Fernando Brito
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
As a professional photographer I have asked myself the question many times, why do I do this? This book was recommended by a fellow pro and after the first chapter I was hooked. The paragraphs about money made me laugh and the comments about trying to justify ones existence through taking photographs struck home deeply. Even if you don't agree with everything Robert Adams says it is still worth every penny of the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and here you have a set of essays to enjoy, to be stimulated by, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Mary Thompson "Mary Thompson" (Cumbria U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
I want to repeat what I have written about Robert Adams in reviewing his essays on 'Beauty in Photography'. Robert Adams is such a human and engaging writer! Add to this his wide and deep knowledge and insight into matters artistic and, in particular, photographic, and here you have a set of essays to enjoy, to be stimulated by, and to read over more than once, because Adam's writing is beautiful in itself. He has much of worth to say, not only in the realms of art and photography but about life and the values that may uphold and guide each of us.
"Why People Photograph" Is a joy to read. It is edifying (in the best sense) and therefore nourishing, and in a gentle unobtrusive way, illuminating. Like a great photograph, somehow Robert Adams manages to speak directly, heart to heart, through what he says and how he says it without getting in the way of what we may take from his writing. How rare is that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous thoughtful wise book, 19 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
This is a marvelous, thoughtful, sensitive, wise book, like so much of Robert Adams's writing on photography - and indeed much of it applies to art more generally. Roughly a third is made up of essays on particular topics (e.g. writing, teaching, humor in relation to photography), a third of essays on nine different photographers, and a third on the nature of, and photography in, the West. His intuitions enhance our understanding of what photographs, and art more generally, do, and why we photograph. His perceptions benefit from his wide reading - before quitting to photograph, Adams taught English.

As in other of Adams's writings, there is an undercurrent that the real use of art is to affirm meaning, and thus "to keep intact an affection for life". It is possible that those whose approach to photography is very largely conceptual will find this book less stimulating than I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Days gone, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
J. E. Newman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
I pine for days gone when a books title was reflected in its content.
You wont find much of Why People Photograph here.
Robert Adams has given up his tripod for a soapbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
An absolutely fantastic book, perfect for photography students. Really easy to understand and relate to.
Great service and fast delivery, product was as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Photography, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
I bought this for my photography course and has helped me understand and view photographers work, well written and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams (Paperback)
A series of essays from Robert Adam which are a bit pretentious and don't really address the book title. Not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why People Photograph: Selected Essays and Reviews by Robert Adams
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews