Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story of a mountain man, trapper
I found that once I picked up this book I could not put it down. This book was made into a brilliant film starring robert redford called Jeremiah Jonhson. It describes the lonely life of the fur trapper who ends up declaring war on the whole crow nation. It also goes into great detail about the great knowledge of the mountain men, how they used the behaviour of animals...
Published on 6 Jan. 2004 by lineman_uk

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of long walks, barbeques, and murderous encounters
Hailed as a classic by many, I found this work hard labour. Fisher puts you into the wilderness with unending descriptions of the flora and fauna, and labours the point that a man of refinement and culture can be at one with nature by having our hero - great strapping fellow that he is - sing opera from the mountain tops and praise god in wild gestures and... so it goes...
Published on 31 May 2010 by Mr. A. Bearn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story of a mountain man, trapper, 6 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Mountain Man (Mass Market Paperback)
I found that once I picked up this book I could not put it down. This book was made into a brilliant film starring robert redford called Jeremiah Jonhson. It describes the lonely life of the fur trapper who ends up declaring war on the whole crow nation. It also goes into great detail about the great knowledge of the mountain men, how they used the behaviour of animals and nature to their advantage when hunting and living off the land. The book is well paced and has lots of other characters, some that actually lived i.e Jim Bridger.
Simply a cracking read for those who like the western, pioneer adventure genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story of the life of the Mountain Man, 15 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mountain Man (Mass Market Paperback)
I was first completely captivated by this book many years ago and found it a moving and passionate account of the life of the Mountain Man and the interaction with the native american indians. The film made of this book starring Robert Redford is a touching and magnificent translation into the cinema of a fine book. Read the book and see the film - you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem Of A Book, 24 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Mountain Man (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is magnificent. I'm probably more of a romantic than I am accurate with my history, (scrap that, I'm definitely more of a romantic), but this book really made me feel like I was experiencing both the joy and hardship of what it was like to be a mountain man.

The inclusion of real life characters such as Hugh Glass & Jim Bridger is pure genius on the author's part.

The book is written very well with a hell of a lot of detail. In fact it is this level of detail that makes the book beautiful, vivid & harsh.

Well worth a read, (and for a remarkable price too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Mountain Man, 22 April 2009
By 
There can be few books which evoke the atmosphere and times of the Mountain Man as well as this brilliantly written, amazingly descriptive and thought-provoking adventure.
When you read this book you will be able to taste and smell the atmosphere surrounding the main character and his adventures, you WILL be there with him.
Mountain Man can be read again and again, and like a good film, you will always find little gems in the story that you missed first time, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 16 July 2007
This review is from: Mountain Man (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is written by a real wordsmith. The author paints pictures and takes the reader through a whole range of emotions. It,s the first Vardis Fisher I have read and I cannot wait to get my hands on another. For people who like tales of the west but cannot stand "meanwhile back at the ranch" literature, this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of long walks, barbeques, and murderous encounters, 31 May 2010
By 
Mr. A. Bearn (Greenwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mountain Man (Mass Market Paperback)
Hailed as a classic by many, I found this work hard labour. Fisher puts you into the wilderness with unending descriptions of the flora and fauna, and labours the point that a man of refinement and culture can be at one with nature by having our hero - great strapping fellow that he is - sing opera from the mountain tops and praise god in wild gestures and... so it goes on. Yep, you get the blood-curdling murderousness of both white man and native american, the journeys-against-all-odds, the life of the trapper - but somehow it all gets lost in the great outdoors. Perhaps that is the point. Long descriptions of food and cooking are almost as prevalent as the floral expositions. Well now, I might live in the city and run a landscape business, so I appreciate the different textures of paving outside the office buildings, but I sure wouldn't base a novel around it.
So, if you've got time and you want to see and hear and smell the wilderness of the Old West and appreciate the raw-to-nature ethics of the Mountain Man - and those are fine objectives - this book is for you. If you're looking for a fast-spinning yarn, it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mountain Man by Vardis Fisher, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain Man (Mass Market Paperback)
If your remotely into the outdoor life, the old ways of being able to survive without a any electrical goods, or soft comfy objects, you love a real fire and the peace of just being, then this story is for you.
A wonderful book that saw me lose track of time, miss a stop on my train journey and one that took me on an emotional ride as well as one of amazement. Let your imagination run with this story and you will love it. I was lost when I got to the final page as I wanted more of Sam's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical fiction worth reading., 26 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Mountain Man (Mass Market Paperback)
If you like Robert Redford, then you must have been entertained watching `Jeremiah Johnson'. If you have never read a Western novel, threat yourself by crawling into Fisher's `Mountain Man'.

`It was already said of him, by
other mountain men, and would
have been said by eagles and
wolves, if they could talk, that his
sense of sight was that of the
falcon; of his smell, that of the wolf.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars OTT, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain Man (Kindle Edition)
This is a waste of good reading time, in fact, I gave up half way through. The descriptions of landscape and natural events are verbose and absurdly over the top, and the hero plays Bach on his harmonica, sings Mozart opera, and quotes classical literature. Forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars mountain man, 29 Jan. 2011
By 
James Mcpike (kilmarnock UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain Man (Mass Market Paperback)
I was a bit dissapointed with this book.I saw the film which was based on it and it was much better.Too much was spent on things i did nit think was relevant to the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mountain Man
Mountain Man by Vardis Fisher (Mass Market Paperback - 25 Jan. 1965)
Used & New from: £2.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews