Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound healing introduction
This book gave me a great introduction into the world of sound healing and the various theories behind it. If you are musically minded then you would probably get more from the book than I did about the physics of harmonics but my lack of ability of understanding of how it worked didn't detract from the fascinating introduction to this topic.
The book covers ancient...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by S. Gardner

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars New Age Fluff
There is nothing scholarly nor scientific about this book. Sure, Mr Goldman has pulled a lot of stuff together. And when he quotes scientists we get their scholarly credentials - it's good to get the backing of science after all - but then again we're reminded that there is much that science cannot comprehend (or is unwilling to accept) when there isn't any scientific...
Published 4 months ago by W. Gillies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound healing introduction, 19 Nov 2007
By 
S. Gardner "Sara Gardner" (Mairela, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics (Paperback)
This book gave me a great introduction into the world of sound healing and the various theories behind it. If you are musically minded then you would probably get more from the book than I did about the physics of harmonics but my lack of ability of understanding of how it worked didn't detract from the fascinating introduction to this topic.
The book covers ancient uses of harmonics, the science of harmonics, the various spiritual uses of harmonics in chanting and such like and exercises to create your own vocal harmonics or using vowels as mantras. I've been using some of the sounds from this book in my healing practice and they have proved to be very powerful.
An amazing book from somebody who knows their stuff and loves their work.
Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overview of healing with sounds with practical instructions, 11 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics (Paperback)
The first part of the book provides an overview of toning and harmonics as practiced, mainly for the purposes of healing, in different cultures: Mayans, Native American Shamans, among Tibetan Monks; as well as use in different esoteric traditions - e.g. Kabbalah, Sufi chanting, Gregorian chanting, etc.

This is followed by an entire section on balancing chakras with sound and suggestions for your own experiments with toning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Therapy, 3 Jun 2009
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics (Paperback)
An excellent introduction to music as medicine, Healing Sounds examines the effects of sound on the physical, emotional, mental and spiritual levels. The author is an expert on music theory, psycho-acoustics and the use of sound in cultural traditions like the Sanskrit (his album Chakra Chants is a gem), Tibetan, Kabbalistic & Western, with emphasis on Gregorian chants. In addition, he reviews the latest scientific research on the physiological effects of music & sound.

Goldman defines overtone chanting or vocal harmonics as the capacity of the human voice to sound two or more notes simultaneously. Virtually all tones produced by musical instruments, voices or other sonic sources are blends of tonal frequencies called 'partials'. The `fundamental' is the lowest frequency whilst partials of higher frequency are `overtones.' Together these create the particular sonic color or timbre of an instrument.

Scientific research into sound includes Cymatics which is the study of the impact of sound on matter, which Goldman investigates with reference to the work of Peter Guy Manners amongst others. Healing Sounds also serves as a practical manual which offers training on how to use your voice, harmonics and vowels as mantras for personal transformation. Sound ought not to be restricted to entertainment but also used to heal & communicate.

Jonathan Goldman's impressive body of sacred sound albums includes masterpieces like Ultimate Om and Holy Harmony. For those interested in the Kabbalistic & Indian traditions, I recommend Ecstatic Kabbalah by David A Cooper and Healing Mantras by Thomas Ashley-Farrand. Another thought-provoking work on sound and music therapy is Sacred Sounds by Ted Andrews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOund healing at its best, 10 Oct 2010
By 
J. J. Rowley "rowleyjohnuk" (Loughborough, Leics) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics (Paperback)
A brilliant book from the start. This was one of the first books on the subject and now in third edition. All his titles are recommended as going to buy some more soon before Christmas and the CD's. Very clear and comprehensive detail about voice and overtone singing in different styles from Mongolian Hoomi to Tibetan Chant. One for the library and wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 April 2013
By 
JL Levin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been in a sound healing group for some years, but this is my first foray into the theory. I am really enjoying it. Jonathan Goldman writes well and is generous in his acknowledgement of others' contributions to the field. It also weaves theory and practice together seamlessly - just the job for a 'learn by doing' person like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars New Age Fluff, 23 April 2014
By 
W. Gillies (Scarborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics (Paperback)
There is nothing scholarly nor scientific about this book. Sure, Mr Goldman has pulled a lot of stuff together. And when he quotes scientists we get their scholarly credentials - it's good to get the backing of science after all - but then again we're reminded that there is much that science cannot comprehend (or is unwilling to accept) when there isn't any scientific backing - a typical New Age trope. And lets not forget the Ancients who understood so much more than we do now. What's being presented here is a belief system. If you get off on this sort of stuff then go for it. I've no doubt Mr Goldman is an inspirational fellow and his enthusiasm for the subject comes across. If you can tune into that then great. Unfortunately, I can't. I have some background in science, maths and sound and 'Healing Sounds' comes across as vacuous New Age bilge. Sorry if this upsets anybody but I'm rather upset at having wasted money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - gives a good cross-sectional view to the subject, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics (Paperback)
Jonathan obviously knows a lot about the subject and explains it clearly and positively. Includes a lot of exercises in the final chapters - which will hopefully improve my overtoning skills over time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics
Healing Sounds: The Power of Harmonics by Jonathan Goldman (Paperback - 25 July 2002)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews