Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently Rewarding
Anyone who has enjoyed tales of superhuman abilities appearing in the far east will definetly find this book a joy to read. Far from simply regurgitating the 'street fighter' style fantasy that can be found in other publications, this work is a factual and concise insight into the world of a true Taoist Immortal. A man so deeply interesting that the reader will be...
Published on 13 Dec 2001

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story - poorly written
The story behind the book is amazing and thought provoking - if only ithad been written in a better style. The author lurches between the storyand "interpretations" of and about science. These are poor and detractfrom what could be a truly epic story. Avoid!
Published on 25 April 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently Rewarding, 13 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
Anyone who has enjoyed tales of superhuman abilities appearing in the far east will definetly find this book a joy to read. Far from simply regurgitating the 'street fighter' style fantasy that can be found in other publications, this work is a factual and concise insight into the world of a true Taoist Immortal. A man so deeply interesting that the reader will be desperate to here more of the Mo Pai and the art of Nei Kung. This book stretches the imagination while giving one an important glimpse into the heavily guarded history of these strange and yet infinitely important arts. The human animal and spirit will never seem dull to anyone who buys this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 8 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
This has been an excellent inspiring read and will also be (i hope) for anyone who has just started or for those already on the road so to speak.
Kosta Danaos, the crazy "get up and go get it" guy who done what i would of (had i the resources), he saw something that fascinated him so much he had to seek it out, he had to seek out the master John Chang.
The way he "happened" upon finding him was interesting, and this mood continues through the book but despite this it also at points is very funny and can mix up the two on the same page, one minute your thinking "fantastic, deep, interesting" the next your just laughing.
As a lowly practitioner myself Kosta leaves certain little clues through out the book regarding his practices, i was sure i was correct and this was confirmed by himself in his second book, this did show that i am on the right path albeit a path miles away from the author but still right.
Anybody who picks up on them will see that certain practices are not confined to Mo Pai and that is not meant without respect.
If your looking for a great read then i would suggest this book to anybody, if your looking for the secrets to Mo Pai/Nei Kung/Qi Gong then look elsewhere, also, if your just looking to gain "powers" then please read something else.
Nothing worthwhile is easy as John Chang and Kosta both let you know, you will get out what you put in.
Once (like myself and many others) you have felt the burning flow of Qi, you will never look back nor be the same again.
Thats the thing, this book is spot on for all these things are very real, John Chang just happens to be a person who has skills that sit at the most extreme end, thats what makes this book stand out.
Kosta makes very valid points about the western world, where we are taught from young what to believe, what is real, what is "scientific fact" and even nowadays, as much as science has helped us progress, it still is full of theories as much as it is full of facts.
Simple, just read this read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
I love reports about saints and other people with extraordinary abilities. I found this book very credible because I saw similar reports on the television and I enjoyed it very much. It is good to be reminded that there are powers slumbering in all of us that are just waiting to be awakened. There is just one thing I didn't like. The author criticises Buddhism for not being able to explain why we have evolution. I wished he had done better research because this remark is not at all true. In the kalachakra teachings we find very detailed explanations about why we have evolution. Other than that - five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Yet Surreal Read, 23 April 2008
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
I first read this book a little over three years ago after reading "Nei Kung: The Secret Teachings of the Warrior Sages," and it was rather a surreal read. I kept flipping back to the copyright page to see if it's a work of fiction, but it was not so. This book is a story of an incredible journey of the author, Kosta Danaos, who begun his quest to find and met with an internal arts master by the name of John Chang and his experiences and lessons with him. From reading this book, I thought it was too unreal to be a fact considering that Chang was able to break the laws of the physical reality. But again, it was not so because I have later seen the videos of Chang's psi abilities in action (e.g., pyrokinesis, telekinesis, and levitation), including the video of Lorne and Lawrence Blair's documentary series "Ring of Fire."

The one thing that I have found quite interesting from this book is the moral discussion of karma as relating to becoming like Chang. Obtaining the powers, higher than normal, requires a great responsibility. I do agree with Chang that he does not want to create "monsters" as to why he was strict on the student selections. That made sense since nowadays a thirst for psychic powers is, in an essence, an ego boost or superiority. Also, discussions of Yang and Yin and Mo-Pai tradition are informative read.

Thinking back on it now, the stories surrounds Chang reminds me a lot like Castaneda's Don Juan in "The Teachings of Don Juan: a Yaqui Way of Knowledge."

Considering the fact that English was not Danaos' first language, this book is really well written and well organized. With little over 200 pages, I could not put this book down as it had enthralled my thoughts and emotions. Whether or not if it is a real story, this book is an intriguing and fascinating read, especially the stories about the "Immortals" of the ancient past, but that's just me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story - poorly written, 25 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
The story behind the book is amazing and thought provoking - if only ithad been written in a better style. The author lurches between the storyand "interpretations" of and about science. These are poor and detractfrom what could be a truly epic story. Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting stuff, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is an exciting story about this Indonesian healer, something of the extraordiary stuff one cannot find very often in this world. If the author would have taken distance somewhat from his personal moralistic view on the state of affairs of this world, and just presented the story and facts, I would have given five stars. I do not enjoy this kind of moralistic complains. The world is as it is, and someone in the line of Taoism and Nei Kung once said, 'the world is sacred and cannot be improved'. Anyone who understands the implications of 'divine justice' and karma, as brought forward in this book (among others), can only stop complaining and start living in the excitement of the dragon ride of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
the book is a great read. only wish there was some way to link up with the author. anyone who knows how to reach the mr koasta please leave a comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Between christianity and taoism, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
This book is the first wich is revealing a way to improuve our human condition,written by a christian,the master declareing himself christian in the book,not buddist or taoist.It is the first book reveleing a way (ancient Mo Pai thechings) and for your surprise read the second,"Nei Kung : Philosofical art of change" by Damo Mitchell,wich in essence reveal another way to reach the same purpose(much,much entering in details of phenomena and practice).This two practitioners (john Chang and Damo Mitchell) have a lot in common,but their thechings represent two approch,one of an ancient chinese way and the declared taoist way to practice and evolove like a human being (of course also ancient chinese theachings of the daiost monks).
If now,two authors propose to us the same goal,in two similar ways,this fact convince me that John Chang exists with his so called "powers",his stage of evolution is real and we must read,understand,feal and practice,becouse a human without any belives is very easy to be oppresed,demoralized and finaly living in a stage of slavery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important books I have ever read in my life., 16 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
This book has helped me in ways that words can not explain.

I believe that everyone should read this book at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal (Paperback)
I read this immediately after reading Jim McMillan's Kindle book about his experiences with John Chang. It was interesting to contrast the two viewpoints. This book is poorly written and contains far too much cod science and fanciful speculation however the sections on Mr Danaos time spent with John Chang are both fascinating and possibly rather more illuminating than Mr. Danaos might have intended them to be. Still, essential reading for anyone interested in a Greek engineer's encounters with the, then; temporal leader of the MoPai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal
The Magus of Java: Teachings of an Authentic Taoist Immortal by Kosta Danaos (Paperback - 26 July 2000)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews