Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2007
The full title is Tantric Quest: Encounter with Absolute Love.
Daniel Odier, the author, met a woman who intitiated him in the secrets of tantra and sacred feminine, and what is more important, she was belonging to the unbroken lineage of spiritual masters.How this happened? (Authentic initiatrixes are difficult to find). Odier went on spiritual quest during the sixties. He was fortunate enough to encounter in some remote rural area a woman who was a highly realized spiritual teacher, and after series of demanding trails, she initiated him in the practice of tantra (very much like Zen masters do, but without Koan questions, or Mahamudra and Dzogchen masters, but of course, initiations vary, I am talking her about general pattern).Odier lived with her, was empowered by her,and his quest was an unusual, spiritual journey,which deepened his insights and cleared neurotic patterns in his mind. And yes, there is also a sacred sex initiation described, but this is not neo-tantra.

There is recent years a lot of talk about sacred feminine. Many of those discussions are based on speculations, modern myths emerging from mixing facts and rumors.(Sacred feminine went pop-culture after the DA Vinci Code created such a stir).But what about something solid and alive? Here you can read about personal experiences of a man who was instructed by a woman from the tradition revering sacred feminine.(Hindu tantra). And the book is well written,as Daniel Odier had a career as a novelist before his journey. (For ex. he wrote the novel Diva, on which the movie of the same title was based). He is conducting workshops, and teaching theories of tantrism at American universities.He continues to write books.His background is very solid, and he does not sensationalize the subject.I very recommend this book to anyone who is interested in first person relation about initiatory experiences,and what it means being empowered by a woman of high spiritual standards.This book appears honest and authentic as the first hand relation .
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2007
After reading many books on the subject, and practising the energetics of Tantra for many years, this is finally a book which leads the reader with such ease and clarity to the fundamental priciples of this most powerful way of life. Much has been written in such a woolly, heady and intellectual way, that the real simplicity and clarity of the Tantra is lost. Daniel introduces us to the priciples of balance between male and female energies, the letting go of the need for the search for enlightenment, and the realisation that every emotion carries its counterpart within itself. A true gem amongst a lot of liturature on a subject that can only be known with the heart, not with the head. Read it and make it your reality - it is so simple.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
This would probably be, together with Nik Douglas & Penny Slinger's 'Sexual Secrets', number 1 on a list of books that I would recommend for people who want to discover the sacred side of sexuality, or the sacred sexual side of Tantra. It's very good at first read as it gives you an IMPRESSION of Tantra, but the subsequent reads will also give you precious INFORMATIONS (which you might start to apply practically) and subtle references to the complex tantric system.

The next step after reading this and a few more books would be to dive into the real tantric teachings which can be found in the secret tantric treatises. This is were the real knowledge is coming from, but this book is a wonderful example of the magic one encounters on the Tantric Path.

It might be a life changing book for those who are prepared.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Through the telling of the story of his own personal journey into tantra, Daniel Odier explains the depths and profound beauties of all of the relationships and energies involved, and yet, he manages to keep it simple.

This is an amazing book. It is short enough to read in one sitting, which I recommend, and it took me just over two hours to get through.

Almost by chance, Daniel encounters Devi, a female tantric master, in a remote Himalayan woodland. She takes him through a detailed exploration of his own spirituality using a series of very challenging, and sometimes dangerous, tasks and trials.

Shaivism is broken down into 36 tattvas. The first five are earth, water, air, ether and fire. Devi guides Daniel through making contact with every single one of the thirty-six along a very tough path.

Before it all starts, we witness the following conversation.

"What should I call you?"

"Sometimes I am called Kali, the destroyer, sometimes I am called Lalita, the playful one, sometimes I am called Kubjika, the potter, but I am always called Devi, the goddess. So call me Devi."

This is a sign of what is to come. As I said, it is a tough path to travel.

The sexual initiation is as intense, if not more so, than the rest of the path.

You can almost feel the depth and intensity of it all as you read.

Read this and feel the power.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
This book relates well the reality of living with a master, the deep challenges and the profound beauty of it. It also conveys the teaching in a living and understandable way. And beyond all that, it gives a feeling that something much more than the words of a mortal mind is speaking through it. I feel like a mystical dimension or presence, something deep and beautiful beyond description is breathing through it. It touches my soul with beauty and inspiration, nourishing and lifting up. One of the best books I've ever read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Much 'right view' in this book. Indeed, one of the better books from a perspective of enlightenment/walking the path. Almost nothing can be as difficult as recording experiences that speak to the reality of life, and true wisdom: and this book get very, very close to full reality. Impressive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I was told to get this book, but I was not impressed. I have seen better stuff free on the internet about forming a deeply loving sexual relationship I felt this was somewhat superficial.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
this book came highly recommended by all my tantric friends. i still haven't read it, but I'm waiting for a lovely relaxing beach holiday! looks beautiful, right up my street
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
A wonderful and gentle introduction to Tantric Yoga.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)