Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life saver, A must read for all couples and singletons alike
I bought this book as a way of expanding my life with my partner. I had no idea how useful it would be.
When I first got it I was dissapointed (no pictures)how wrong I was. since reading this book I have find out ways of calming myself, tackling problems in life, getting on well with other people and you wouldn't belive the tricks I have learn't for the bedroom...
Published on 23 July 2003 by Mr. L. Corstorphine

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Go beyond the coffee table versions
This book is a modern translation of the original text, and is a highly academic treatment. Unfortunately it is rather confusingly laid out, there are three strands of text running concurrently the literal translation, period commentary and authors commentary. Despite this it is readable though bordering on the tome in dimensions you can zip through the translation which...
Published on 9 Nov. 2002 by Chris A


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life saver, A must read for all couples and singletons alike, 23 July 2003
By 
Mr. L. Corstorphine "ginfaxi" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book as a way of expanding my life with my partner. I had no idea how useful it would be.
When I first got it I was dissapointed (no pictures)how wrong I was. since reading this book I have find out ways of calming myself, tackling problems in life, getting on well with other people and you wouldn't belive the tricks I have learn't for the bedroom :-D
This is not a book on sex, it is a manual on life. it is a guide by which you can learn to approach all aspects of humanity in a way which helps to improve on situations and get what you want out of life.
As far as my partner is concerned I wish I had bought this book sooner. I now know a hundred subtle ways of making feel appreciated and satisfied, from a breath on her neck to things that can't be mentioned on a web site that doesn't charge ;-D. I feel that this book is a must for any person who is serious about making themselves and their closest loved ones as happy as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Translation par Excellence, 28 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text (Paperback)
It was the film "Kama Sutra" that led me to this classic. The idea of someone documenting various forms of making love was intriguing and I started exploring further on the original work. Once I got past a few mindnumbing translations, I discovered this work. I saw my initial curiosity turning into fascination at first, but when I finished the work I had nothing but respect for this work ("Eroticism is firstly a search for pleasure, and the goal of the techniques of love is to attain a paroxysm considered by the Upanishads ( holy texts) as a perception of the divine state, which is infinite delight ").Alan Danielou's seems to have impressive credentials that bring an impeccable authenticity to this work.
There is hardly a subject the author has not dealt with. If the range of subjects dealt with fascinates you (marriage, adultery, prostitution, group sex, sadomasochism, male and female homosexuality, and transvestitism) the scientific approach and the depth of classification in dealing with those subjects might bewilder you. ("There are different types of men and women according to their sizes of the organs, their moment of sexual enjoyment, and the violence of their sexual impulse"). The part dealing with occult practices is a blast. These practices include ointments for the body, marks on the forehead, powders sprinkled over the woman and substances that she be made to ingest, the surprising things she must be shown, as well as the means and remedies for subjugating her. This section also manifest the thoroughness of the research done almost 2000 years back.
While the considerable pains the author has undergone to protect the integrity of the original work makes this a classic, it is possible that at times the casual reader will be hard pressed to follow. The author emphasizes that this is not a pornographic work and is merely an impartial and systematic study of one of the essential aspects of existence. There is ample proof of that throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Go beyond the coffee table versions, 9 Nov. 2002
By 
Chris A "chris_store" (From my undersea lair) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text (Paperback)
This book is a modern translation of the original text, and is a highly academic treatment. Unfortunately it is rather confusingly laid out, there are three strands of text running concurrently the literal translation, period commentary and authors commentary. Despite this it is readable though bordering on the tome in dimensions you can zip through the translation which is actually not very long.
On a more practical level I have found some of the advice to be very good - but you have to read this in context. If you are unfamiliar with the original text then you should be aware that this is not a 'positions' book, the majority of the Kama Sutra is devoted to relationships between men and women, courting, marrige etc. It is a facinating insight into an ancient civilisation, and underlying it is a fundamental understanding of what makes people tick.
This is an obvious choice for the those who wish to read the whole book, because the earlier Burton translation was edited by Victorian sensibilties. However if you just want to get a sense of this work you might consider the earlier version on grounds of cost.
Whichever version you get you will find this a facinating read, especially if you like the perfumed garden, now all I need is a translation of the chinese taos...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensual, intimate and incredible! Making love is an art!, 10 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This book is overlooked by so many who desire to make love to their partners as though they were the only person in the world. The positions offered are incredible and although it may be uncomfortable to try some of them the ecstasy is well worth any discomfort or embarrassment. Try them! You will never experience total release from the world like lying in your lover's arm in one of these incredible positions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - but no images., 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text (Paperback)
Great book, has all the details and necessary stuff you are looking for - but its all in words. No images at all. So I would recommend that people who are looking for illustrations buy some other book not this one. But if you are a reader then go for it - once again, great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, Like, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text (Paperback)
Good condition,
Like.the book itself and the fact that it is not ALL about sex but also about how men and.women.live alongside eachother in harmony and love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text (Paperback)
Great item. Just as described. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text (Paperback)
Very interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text (Paperback)
This book was nearer to what I was hoping for, but it was also disappointing in the fact that the pictures, again, were not what I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 10 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text (Paperback)
The received product was in excellent condition, has been delivered pretty fast and fulfilled my expectations. I strongly recommend this seller to the readers for any kind of purchases they are planning to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Kama Sutra: The First Unabridged Modern Translation of the Classic Indian Text
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews