Customer Reviews


15 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of orthodox icons., 22 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
A brilliant book. Lots of detail of major, and some minor icons. Fascinating information and beautifully illustrated. Wonderful value considering the the quality of the illustrations. Perfectly understandable (technical terms fully explained), even by someone like myself who had little more than a passing interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
I really value this book, it gives you plenty icons to admire.They are presented with very good explanations about the meanings of what has been represented in the icon. The colours are accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Mrs. M. Connolly (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
This is a lovely book, illustrated with quite beautiful reproductions of icons. It is just what I have been looking for, with clear explanations and comprehensive coverage. If you want to know about icons, this is as good a starting point as any I have come across. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
The book came as brand new, untouched. the images and the colours are very good and I love that is so practical for consulting meanings on imagery, the saints, their characteristics, the symbols, the themes in Byzantine Art and a short explanation of what is happening in an image. Books that have full story, a History book, have much more information, usually it's more generalized and after reading it you don't really know how to locate what you just learned in an object when seeing it live. Tis type of book is shorter but more precise and clear, it goes straight to the subject. I'm very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous illustrations, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
Useful resource, beautifully illustrated and presented. I was a little disappointed that so many of the examples were from Russia, and so few from Greece.
I am still searching for a book describing all the saints of the Greek Orthodox Church!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
Completeley as advertised. I have no complaints whatsoever.
I you are interested in this subject, this is one for you.
Couldn't be more satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small but thick and informative, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
It is a smallish book and the reproductions of icons are even smaller, but there are hundreds of them and it looks like all the major details of each icon are explained. Highly recommended for all amateur enthusiasts of icons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, but not for academics, 22 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
I bougth this book, hoping it will have a lot on my specific field of interest, but it is not fit for art history students, more for enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When I told you my book of French prayers was ..., 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
When I told you my book of French prayers was in Latin, you ignored it - didn`t tell me how to return it (on Kindle) . So who are these reviews for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully presented, so easy to pick up and dip ..., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery) (Paperback)
First Class book, beautifully presented, so easy to pick up and dip in, lovely illustrations and detail. Exceptional value .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church (Guide to Imagery)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews