Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars39
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2012
Few alternative views in new age books are carefully researched as this is. It appears to be a scholarly work with numerous examples of archeology taken out of context and time, which makes it suitable for further research and needs to be taken seriously. It is a good read although the examples being numerous can be tedious at times, but that is what the book is about - showing that modern archeology is often just following a set account of the past because teachers and set accounts cannot be challenged without loss of job or professional credence.
I have kept my copy of the book because it is worth referring to or to read again. I don't think this book will date until more info comes to light and I have had it for several years now.
I would recommend anyone buying it who is seriously interested in this subject.
(Another book with the same title (or similar) I found not very good - not so well researched or as interesting).
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
Style is quite academic and dense. If you're looking for light reading this is not a good choice, but if you're looking for a well-argumented, well-documented, objective analysis of archeological evidence which contradicts current main-stream paradigms on the antiquity of civilization on earth, this is the book you need.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This being the shorter version and so exhaustive in scope, I shudder to think what a mountain of reading the unabridged Forbidden Archaeology must entail. Part One deals with anomalous evidence in the form of bones, eoliths, paleoliths and neoliths and goes on to discuss artifacts and manufactured objects found in ancient strata, plus human skeletal remains. Part Two casts a critical eye on the accepted evidence and demonstrates convincingly how flimsy the evidence of scientific orthodoxy often is. There is also a chapter on Cryptozoology and a final look at the latest finds from Africa. The book is served well with tables summarizing anomalous evidence related to human antiquity, a good index and a massive bibliography of 27 pages. Black and white photographs and illustrations enliven the text. The authors have eloquently made their case in the most thorough and complete detail. But I must add that this doesn't always ensure "jouissance" in the reading experience, as of necessity there must be a lot of repetition. Nevertheless, a magnificent achievement and an excellent reference work.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
This book was a bit of a let down in some respects because it does draw on quite old sources of archaeological investigation. From the current archaeological perspective these older digs and their methods, interpretation and findings would be considered invalid. This would be based on the lack of knowledge and the misunderstanding of scientists and archaeologists at the time and because things have really moved on in more recent times.

HOWEVER. Yes there is room for serious speculation about the origins of modern humans and not all of the evidence that baulks the modern perspective - cited in this book - should be written off. Scientific materialism and those who are devoted to the new religion of "evolution" are prone to chop and change things to fit the orthodox scientific picture. Therefore it is possible that hominids and humans were contemporary in the past and that there is not a smooth linear path of evolution from ape to human - and the evidence for this is not "evidence" it is speculation, assumption and scientific arrogance - as this book will clearly demonstrate.

So this book opens up other areas of speculation but it fails to deliver conclusive proof and I found myself feeling rather bemused after reading the final few pages. This is because the early hominid finds are numerous and convincing but the claims of gold chains, iron pots and so on, allegedly found embedded in coal deposits of over 300,000,000 years old, seem to me to be entirely incredulous and the work of fraudsters. Therefore, I think a middle line is called for where some of the claims of modern archaeology need to be stretched back in time in time with a less dogmatic idea that we all evolved from the African ape. If you blend a human with an ape you might be tempted to say that the human evolved from the ape but is that the right interpretation? Likewise,am I alone in thinking that the neolithic monuments in the UK, France and elsewhere are far far older than 3000 BCE? Those monuments look and feel very very ancient to me and if I were asked to date them I would hazard a guess of perhaps 200,000 years. I can't prove it but I don't think that the re-usage of these sites by later neolithic peoples would be sufficient evidence to date them the way that orthodox thinking has done. The dates given for stone sites are too recent and I think that the work of Forbidden Archaeology shows us that the ideas we hold about modern humans are also far too recent to be taken seriously.
88 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2011
Whilst some of the OOPARTS in this book are well known, many are not! It is an amazingly comprehensive review which deserves a place with the greats.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
A great read if you question everything about life.
People have to wake up to the wrong story being told.
The question is though how can the history everyone is taught change?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Excellent condensed version of the doorstep original. The examples keep coming and coming of how we have clearly got so much wrong in our understanding of our origins and many of our theories on evolution and the emergence of modern man need to be radically re-thought but it's an uphill battle, because existing theories and scientific speculation have become Recieved Knowledge that cannot be questioned, and any examples that emerge that serious do so, are either at first studiously ignored or if that doesn't work, debunked by a propaganda machine Geobbels would have been proud of. An intelligent, cogent book, that anyone with a serious interest in archaeology and primeval history must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
"The Hidden History of the Human Race" is the condensed version of "Forbidden Archaeology", which somewhat confusingly has the subtitle "The Hidden History of the Human Race". Both books are authored by Michael Cremo and Richard Thompson. Cremo is the more well-known of the two, often starring in TV specials on alternative history, forbidden knowledge, and the like. Cremo and Thompson (the latter is deceased) are/were members of the Hare Krishna movement, and their books on human prehistory have been dubbed "Krishna creationism" by critics.

The authors seem to accept the old age of the Earth, while claiming that all living creatures were created simultaneously. Thus, Cremo and Thompson have to find evidence that anatomically modern humans have always existed (!), and therefore can't be late evolutionary descendants of the reptilian-mammalian line. This sounds easier said than done, but apparently a sizeable portion of the scientific community *did* believe in the enormous antiquity of man until about a century ago. Various finds of fossils, tools and scratched bones were interpreted as evidence for the existence of Homo sapiens during the Tertiary (Oligocene, Miocene, Pliocene). If true, this would create problems for evolutionary theory, since humans would be cotemporaneous with their supposed ancestors, the apes and "ape-men". Cremo and Thompson attempt to show that anatomically modern humans might have existed even earlier, during the Age of the Dinosaurs, the Cambrian or the Precambrian! They also theorize that many of the early "humans" found in the fossil record are really apes or ape-like creatures, and that these still exist. An entire section of "The Hidden History" is devoted to Bigfoot observations.

Cambrian footprints and modern Sasquatch aside, the authors' main strategy is to rehabilitate the previously held notions about Tertiary man, while casting as much suspicion as possible on later finds. Many of their arguments against the current notions of human origins mimic those of Christian creationists. Australopithecus' status as a human ancestor is attacked on the basis of studies made by Zuckerman and Oxnard, Homo habilis is hardly even a valid taxon, Java man was a gigantic gibbon, etc. An entire chapter is devoted to Piltdown man, a proven hoax. Cremo and Thompson believe that a "knowledge filter" decides what gets published or taken seriously, and what is quietly forgotten or even suppressed. The "filter" is, of course, Darwin's theory of evolution, according to which humans are descended from earlier, more primitive forms of primates.

While Cremo and Thompson are Hindu creationist in orientation, their book has become something of a general underground classic, probably because people of many different alternative viewpoints suspect that "establishment science" is hiding *something*. Phillip Johnson of the Intelligent Design movement has written a short preface to the book. It struck me that parts of the book could be accepted even by Theosophists and Anthroposophists, who do believe in some kind of evolution, while claiming that the apes are off-shots of the human line, a speculation that predicts the existence of human fossils of equal age or older than ape or "intermediary" fossils. "The Hidden History of the Human Race" could also be seen as a mega-compendium of Fortean anomalies.

Personally, I wasn't very impressed by the book. Cremo and Thompson accuse modern science of bias, but their own biases are pretty obvious: attacking everything that moves (or shows up in the official fossil record) after about 1900, while claiming that virtually all anomalous evidence simply must be true. One wonders why Krishna created humans with fake evidences of evolutionary ancestry written all over their bodies (including such trivial things as our backaches!), or why we share so many of our genes with supposedly unrelated chimpanzees? How humans could have survived in the climate of the Precambrian, Cambrian or Mesozoic is another intriguing question. How did our ancestor avoid apex predators such as T-Rex, hide from impacting meteorites or stay alive at all during the Precambrian, before dry land even existed? The simple truth is that *nothing* in "The Hidden History" makes any sense whatsoever from a modern scientific viewpoint. But this makes Cremo's and Thompson's position more similar to Young Earth creationism, than to the old earth scenario they claim to uphold. Not just evolutionary theory, but pretty much everything else would have to go if we are to interpret the Vedic scriptures (or rather a limited selection by the Gaudiya Vaishnava tradition) literally. This is never explicitly spelled out in "The Hidden History". The seemingly ecumenical anomalism is really super-sectarian.

This doesn't mean that the last word on human origins and evolution has been said. Of course it hasn't, as shown by the discoveries of The Hobbit, Neanderthals genes in modern Europeans, or Homo erectus surviving into "our" Stone Age in Australia. However, the evolutionary perspective itself is so firmly written in solid rock that I can't see how it can be erased. Not even by the wedge of Krishna creationism.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
A very interesting read. Based on my own experience of the scientific community I can well believe the lengths people will go to prove a theory or discredit a conflicting view.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
Very informative and cleverly told. Found it hard going in places and high brow for the ordinary reader. Boring in places with constant referrals to other scientists.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse