Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing!
This guy can draw! This book is more of an aid than it is a step-by-step guide; it's not for people who aren't familiar with basic techniques. For the established artist this book serves as a great bag of tricks. You can find many useful hints and tips if you are planning a pencil drawing in the near future. Great work!
Published on 7 April 2003

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impressive to look at
While the pictures are astounding the techniques to achieve this are sparse in detail. There's a little explanation as you go, but it's mainly a reference to what can be achieved more than a tutorial of how to get there.
Published on 24 Mar 2006 by dhc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing!, 7 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
This guy can draw! This book is more of an aid than it is a step-by-step guide; it's not for people who aren't familiar with basic techniques. For the established artist this book serves as a great bag of tricks. You can find many useful hints and tips if you are planning a pencil drawing in the near future. Great work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for a total novice, 7 Sep 2009
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
If you know how to shade a piece of paper with a hard lead pencil and the difference when using a soft lead pencil then this is a book to expand your abilities with the humble pencil. Don't be frightened by the author's finished examples - by using the info and applying a little perseverance and common sense, I have improved my sketches a lot - and there is plenty more to learn in the book.
The author gives lots of food for thought, using a variety of 'pencils', and covers how to produce textures as diverse as skin, cloth, glass, fur etc. The two composite demonstrations at the end use the textures learned earlier in the book - one is a still life and the other a cat on the prowl at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars plain straight forward instructions, easy to understand., 18 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
this is one of the best art books ive purchased,it may look advanced by the quality of the drawings on the cover ,but it is explained in simple terms how to achieve realistic affects in your sketches,my own sketches have improved a lot since buying this book and i would reccomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book (also a response to the 'most helpful critical rewiew', 5 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
I found this book to be exactly what I needed, having hired DVD's on 'Learning to draw' and found them to be of a very low standard. Mr Hillberry gives photorealistic examples of how it should be done, and offers nuggets of advice that I have used to great effect in my drawing since studying the book.

In response to 'the most helpful critical review'. I would suggest that anyone buying the book should be of a reasonable standard of drawing ability before expecting to benefit fully from the techniques described OR be willing to spend the time and patience that all artists have to learn in order to take full advantage of Mr Hillberry's teaching.

A fantastic book - I would recommend this to any art student or prospective and even accomplished artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drawing textures in pencil book, 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
Nice book, some useful tips and some lovely examples of pencil drawings. A bit short on detail, could have been a lot more informative about the actual process of drawing a picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drawing, 29 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
This is only a thin paperback but it is crammed with information and the artist's skilled demonstrations.
I have neglected my drawing over the last decade and need to recap those learned techniques.
The author lists all the materials and demonstrates how to use them.
The remainder of the book is taken up with demonstrating different surfaces, e.i. leather, wood, mettle, glass, and skin.
I'm a post grad and a painter, I have found this small book very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impressive to look at, 24 Mar 2006
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
While the pictures are astounding the techniques to achieve this are sparse in detail. There's a little explanation as you go, but it's mainly a reference to what can be achieved more than a tutorial of how to get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing realistic textures in pencil, 7 April 2010
By 
K. J. A. Calvert "Keith Calvert" (Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
I have been drawing for as long as I can remember. Drawing comes naturally to me.
I do line drawings and blocked in tonal drawing.
This book by J.D.Hillberry, has taken my drawing to a whole new level.
Drawings can be done in pencil only or,as the author suggests, in charcoal and carbon. Completely different effects can be achieved by mixing all three mediums.
The thing that has made the most difference to my drawing is the blending. Previously I blended by rubbing with my fingers, but the author suggests that you use different materials to blend the pencil/charcoal/carbon to obtain different textures. Chamios leather blends to a smooth finish. A piece of felt creates a rougher texture. Paper tissues, Kitchen roll,a piece of drawing paper, all create different textures.
J.D.Hillberry explains all this in the book and takes you step by step through some of his drawings.
The first time I saw his drawings, I was 'blown away'.and I have been drawing for sixty plus years.
Keith Calvert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
I found the quality of the printing to be extremely poor. The book was supposed to demonstrate how to achieve stronger contrast when drawing - darker blacks and a wider range of greys, yet the quality of the printing made this impossible to demonstrate. Everything was shown as a soft grey! A waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite stupendous technique, 14 Aug 2010
By 
G. Thomas (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil (Paperback)
In one sense this book puts me off trying to learn to draw because this author's skill with pencil and other drawing implements is so fantastic that you despair of ever getting anywhere near his level. It's worth buying it just to browse even if you don't think there's an artistic bone in your body. I imagine it might make a good teaching aid for art lecturers, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil
Drawing Realistic Textures in Pencil by J.D. Hillberry (Paperback - 1 Mar 2001)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews