Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but not that revised
We are in the in-between time, the DSM-IV being over a decade old, and the DSM-V being due out at some unspecified date, but giving the general publication rate of the major DSM revisions and the advance of general knowledge, it cannot be too far into the future. I have the DSM-IV, burgundy-cover edition, and have dipped into the DSM-IV-TR on occasion from the library,...
Published on 5 Jan. 2006 by Kurt Messick

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good and bad
Covers the widely known disorders (mood, anxiety, schizophrenia) in good depth, but then shoots itself in the foot by including stuff like "mathematics disorder" - if being bad at maths means people are mentally disordered, then count me in!!!. The APA just threw everything in to the IV-TR - good and bad.

The dsm is due soon for an overhaul, so I`d wait for the...
Published on 3 Sept. 2010 by andy e t


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good and bad, 3 Sept. 2010
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
Covers the widely known disorders (mood, anxiety, schizophrenia) in good depth, but then shoots itself in the foot by including stuff like "mathematics disorder" - if being bad at maths means people are mentally disordered, then count me in!!!. The APA just threw everything in to the IV-TR - good and bad.

The dsm is due soon for an overhaul, so I`d wait for the next edition to be published. Unless you need the dsm for academic purposes NOW, I`d use the WHO`s ICD online version as an equally valid alternative.

A more useful book for people working in mental health services would be "Call Me Crazy" by Irit Shimrat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but not that revised, 5 Jan. 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
We are in the in-between time, the DSM-IV being over a decade old, and the DSM-V being due out at some unspecified date, but giving the general publication rate of the major DSM revisions and the advance of general knowledge, it cannot be too far into the future. I have the DSM-IV, burgundy-cover edition, and have dipped into the DSM-IV-TR on occasion from the library, but have found no particular reason to need to purchase the TR silver edition for the kind of work I do.
This is a guide that is useful, indeed required, for graduate students in mental health and psychological fields, and for professionals working in those fields. As a pastoral care provider, I find it useful in many cases, but will warn that it is not a definitive tool to be used by itself in the hands of laypersons (which, in terms of professional psychology, I most certainly am). Symptoms and diagnoses are difficult to isolate, and not to be left in the hands of amateurs - to that end, I often worry about the general availability of books such as this (I have a similar fear for the PDR, the Physicians Desk Reference, whereby people try to self-diagnose and self-medicate based on their reading).
The DSM-IV is not without controversy - indeed, the whole psychological enterprise is not without controversy. However, this is the current standard by which the profession measures itself (sometimes a bit in opposition, but there are few who hold the DSM to be meaningless).
Professionals will want to have this book; graduate students may or may not need this particular revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap edition does the job, 11 July 2012
By 
Ms. J. Parish (Desborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
I bought a new copy of DSM-IV-TR for around £22 here on Amazon.co.uk. It's an Indian edition with the same text. The quality is lower than the original versions I've seen but the binding seems secure. This is perfectly readable, lighter weight (still a tome!) and a fraction of the price. I'm very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bridge between past and future psychiatry interpretations, 25 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
This DSM-IV Text revision serves as a bridge across the old DSM IV and the next DSM V.
In this text revision the reader cannot find substantial changes of the diagnostic criteria, but only an augmented revision of the parts which present and describe the various disorders.
It could be interpreted as a little change, yet the augmented parts of the text are often very important, since they provide an integration of scientific knowledge to the data of the last ten years.
It is to be remembered that the changes and augmentations of the text are distributed in a very dense manner and involve chiefly the statistical and epidemiological data, the parts concerning "diagnostic characteristics", "differential diagnosis", "linked disorders", "prevalence", "illness course", together with amendments of minimal mistakes and an amelioration of the text which is now clearer, with a didactic purpose.
Some examples of relevant changes of the texts can be found for the subtypes of the "Iperactivity-attention deficit disorder", codes and list of the causes of dementias, linked laboratory findings and differential diagnosis, risk genetic factors and the most recent prevalence data in U.S.A.
An important extension can be found in the text about the laboratory data linked with skizophrenia, which are updated to the neurophysiological, neurocognitive and neuroimaging data of the nineties.
The concept of"skizophrenia spectrum" has also been introduced.
A similar revision can be found in the sections concerning epidemiology, laboratory and linked disorders of "Mood disorders."
In the Anxiety disorders area important updates concern the familiarity data of all disorders, while an important update can be found in the Post-traumatic stress disorder subsection concerning linked characteristics, comorbidity, illness course and prevalence in different populations and in different types of trauma, higher vulnerability in patients with a history of depression.
In the Axis II disorders it is chiefly relevant the evidence of a good long-term prognosis for Border-line personality disorder and the false difference between males and females concerning the prevalence in Dependent personality disorder.
In the appendices various little changes are also introduced and atypical antipsychotics are now included in the Medication-induced movement disorders subsection.
Generally speaking and as far as the epidemiological and clinical updates are concerned, together with important trends for research and didactic activity, this DSM IV TR is surely a most useful and authoritative purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Be warned, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
As Americanized as you can get. This book is often referred to as the 'Psychiatrist's Bible', I'd call it a mish-mash of unproven hypothesis and supposition by academics who haven't got the slightest idea about mental health in its raw self. You have to have experienced the issues you talk of in human terms, not statistically as this book does. Humans are just that, we are not numbers and experiments are always going to be flawed.

Scathing criticism out of the way, the book, now updated, is an absolute must for any budding psychologist or practitioner wanting to enter the field of mental health. It's inaccurate in parts but as a whole its very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
Book arrived nice and quick, is very detailed, got clear indexing, so far I have been able to find what I have been looking for without any problems.
Would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what I expected, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
I need this book to complete some subjects I am currently studying, and I think is a good tool and helps understand mental disorders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars horrible quality, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
Came printed in the worst way possible, sometimes not even having the entire content of the page in the printed page, its a bad horrible rip off, looks like a horrible fake copy of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is..., 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
Can't really comment as it is a nationally used book for mental disorders except that it is so complicated and there are so many disorders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Teriffic book, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) (Paperback)
Unfortunately, due to poor packaging, the book arrived damaged. The book is a textbook for my daughter who is studying psychology and she is very pleased with it and says that it is a reference book that she will use for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
Used & New from: £23.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews