Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Collector's Guide, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
This is a comprehensive listing of animals produced by the John Beswick Studio, and as such it is an invaluable resource for collectors and dealers alike. The book covers the entire range of horses, dogs, birds, cats, farm animals, fish etc. The book has been updated from the last edition to reflect new discoveries and, of course, an updated price guide.

Most importantly Charlton have clearly been listening to their customers and at last we have a guide in full colour throughout. It has been a constant source of complaint that they would produce these quite expensive guides with, perhaps, 30 pages in colour which seems like undue meanness in the printing budget. However, finally here we have it - over 800 illustrations in full colour.

As with all these guides you should take the price indication with a pinch of salt. Charlton do have an unenviable task in collating information from many different sources - auctions, internet, dealers etc. and take an informed view as to what the current market value of any particular item is. However, that is not to say this is the 'right' price and you will find that a bit of patience and a lot of searching around will mean you can normally buy much more keenly - Ebay, flea markets and car boot sales are normally happy hunting grounds. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only a price guide, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
I have given it a four star rating because it is only a price guide and I felt that it should give information on the different Beswick marks and some background information to the history of Beswick etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy look up reference book, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
I like the numerous colourful photographs and the way information about prices is clearly laid out below each photo. Slightly more up to date than the Beswick Price Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book for any beswick collector., 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
I bought this book as I'm starting to collect beswick horses. Got it in the post today from amazon and what a fantastic book. This will prove a very useful book to me for identifying different model numbers and the rough prices. A massive bonus with this edition is it's the first one to have colour images throughout which previous editions did not have. I would recommend this book as a must buy for any current or aspiring beswick collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all about colour !, 23 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
I possess the 9th Edition. I purchased this 10th Edition because I wished to read any new information plus see different coloured pieces in the colourplate pages sections(about 4 pages of beautiful coloured photographs with multiple pieces shown). I had noticed that the pieces shown in the colourplate sections change with each edition. How wrong I was. This edition replaces the previously black and white pieces with coloured photos, and (understandably) dispenses altogether with the colourplate pages. In the Horse section there's no new information. I feel some of the prices don't reflect the extreme rarity of some pieces such as the First Version Bois Roussel racehorse - which to my knowledge has never appeared on eBay, yet is stated to come in many colours, and in brown is only valued at $275.

A mixed blessing for collectors is that the 'book value' of many pieces has taken a tumble due to world economies. Great opportunity to 'stock up' if you can afford to. Disheartening when your current collection has practically halved in value...

Overall, wonderful improvement to show each piece in colour and worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
I bought this book for my wife who had recently started collecting Beswick.

So far it has proved very informative as she has decided what to pay for figurines and the introduction about Beswick and its main sculptors/artists is a nice touch.

It is incredibly comprehensive and has probably already paid for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference, 20 Jun 2011
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
The Charlton guides are excellent reference books for collectors. This recent Beswick Animals guide gives up to the minute price reference and now these prices are more realistic to todays trends than the previous editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
My dad is into Beswick's farm animals so I purchase this for him as a present..
It came in plenty of time & was in wonderful condition.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beswick animals catalogue, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
A must have for any serious collector of beswick, gives great detail and prices expected for pieces now, well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) (Perfect Paperback)
good and informative
good books always come in handy and a must to be kept in any bookcase at home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue)
Beswick Animals (A Charlton Standard Catalogue) by Peter Sweet (Perfect Paperback - 25 Mar 2011)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews