Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A frighteningly realistic treatment..
I am reading this for the second time, this time much faster thanks to the useful highlighting that I had made in my first reading. Having been through a software development career in several start-ups, and looking back on the not so positive two years of IT economic depression, I find Crossing the Chasm particularly intriguing: The basic idea for a technology company to...
Published on 9 Mar. 2003 by Hari Rajapakshe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, though not for B2C mass market
Be advised: one star rating is not a reflection of true value of the book. On the contrary, I put it here just as a red light warning sending a signal: this book is written with B2B and B2B only environment in mind. There might be some analogies but very distant and even Moore at some point admits one should be cautious with extending the reasoning behind the book onto...
Published on 23 Jun. 2013 by Mikolaj Pietrzyk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A frighteningly realistic treatment.., 9 Mar. 2003
I am reading this for the second time, this time much faster thanks to the useful highlighting that I had made in my first reading. Having been through a software development career in several start-ups, and looking back on the not so positive two years of IT economic depression, I find Crossing the Chasm particularly intriguing: The basic idea for a technology company to position its marketing and selling strategy to the right target audience, and more crucially, at the right time, and producing the right perspective.
First of all, I find some of the ideas in the book frighteningly reminiscent of my past experience, especially failures in marketing and sales strategy that our teams have undergone; Although many factors that contribute to the success or failure of an enterprise can be specific and circumstantial, Crossing the Chasm provides a thorough analysis of the generalised scenario. I also find some of the ideas in this book apply equally well to semi-autonomous groups within large organisations, as much as individual organisations.
Highly recommend to anyone who is interested in the technology entrepreneurship, and to the one who want to consolidate the past experiences in to learning instruments for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable book for Marketing Hi-Tech, 11 Dec. 2001
In fact, not only for Hi-Tech... it is also applicable for any high-change industry
Implementing innovative high-tech solutions usually involves a significant change to customers. Mainly depending on the aversion to change/risk, customers can be classified from those willing to try the newest, to those most conservative that are the latest to adopt, if ever, a new solution.
Geoffrey Moore presents his particular view on the technology-adoption lifecycle model, introducing the 'chasm' concept. Based on this model, and using vivid examples, specially from the software industry, the book provides excellent advice on the strategy to success for hi-tech products.
Basic reading for the hi-tech enterpreneur, as well as for those willing to sell new disruptive concepts.
After this one, you will have to read 'Inside the Tornado'.. If you want to save further, add William Davidow's 'Marketing High-Technology'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for salespeople at the bleeding edge of technology, 10 May 2000
By A Customer
This book was a revelation for me. I had failed to understand the reasons that prospects didn't appreciate the latest greatest technologies and bought from vendors of outdated systems (in my opinion) instead. Crossing the chasm explains different characteristics of people and what they buy and when they buy it and the reasons behind those compulsions. It also highlights how to break into the marketplace with new products in the most efficient way and how to structure your organisation to cope with demand. I have noticed that some big organisations demonstrate the techniques from this book in their promotional literature and web sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic must-read for anybody involved in product strategy for high technology., 24 July 2009
This is a classic must-read for all people involved in product strategy for high-technology. Published in 1991 and updated in 1999, it introduced a very innovative way of how technology is adopted by different segments in the market. The book goes beyond theoretical models and really offers almost hands-on, very systematic approach on what the optimal steps are to market and sell your technology, and this depending on where your product is in the Technology Adoption Life Cycle.

If you haven't read it yet, don't hesitate any longer. Seriously. If you're short of time (hey - the book is only about 200 pages...) then I suggest you read the summary (free download, google it or check my blog for the link) from the nice people at Parker Hill Technology - but you will miss out on a great read by doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, though not for B2C mass market, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Be advised: one star rating is not a reflection of true value of the book. On the contrary, I put it here just as a red light warning sending a signal: this book is written with B2B and B2B only environment in mind. There might be some analogies but very distant and even Moore at some point admits one should be cautious with extending the reasoning behind the book onto B2C markets. So if you are intending to read the book from the practical business point of view, and professionally you are dealing with mass market environment (mass processes, high volumes, low prices, dispersed distribution etc) consider other books. Having said that, it was an interesting read, probably one of the best to introduce a reader to Technology Adoption Curve concept in a concise way. So it's far away from waste of time, it's just a pity there is no analogy for B2C market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ISV View of the Chasm, 12 Jun. 2009
By 
G. Lowther (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was recommended to me - and rightly so.
I have read 'Crossing the Chasm' and its successor, 'Inside the Tornado'.
As a technologist, the world of marketing seemed even less tangible than software, but this book really opened my eyes by providing an almost algorithmic approach to the phases involved in getting our product (TriSys Recruitment Software) from the 'glint of an eye' into being a market leader and best of breed with thousands of real-world paying customers.
The 'technology adoption lifecycle', 'whole-product offering', and 'D-Day' are now IT industry standard terms defined by the author in this landmark book.
I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone thinking of, or running their own technology business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 20 year-old material that remains relevant today, 3 April 2011
This was recommended by my mentor, a strategy director;

I was aiming to establish a transitional/recovery strategy for a business that successful at tender stages, but having major problems in client management and service delivery.

'Crossing the Chasm' was written in '91; although aimed at manufacturing, and some examples of products and services are very old (e.g. referring to the 'emergence of the internet'); the concepts remain valid even today, and the style and tone makes it easy to grasp the theories and concepts the author is putting across.

In summary, the book establishes that business have a hard time getting from being 'volume-led'; selling everything to anyone to establish market share; to being 'proposition-led', where customer segments are fully targeted, and customers retained through delivery on promises. The transition is the 'chasm'.

I'd recommend this book for those aiming for senior-management positions (where strategic thinking and delivery are key to role), or for 'fixers' brought in to help companies leap over, or get out of, the 'chasm'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to get the public to love your high-tech product, 11 Dec. 2006
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This serious, detailed book offers a nonconventional marketing approach for high-tech promoters and investors. Consultant Geoffrey Moore has thought long and hard about how to market new technology, so the book sometimes reads like an intriguing personal essay. He makes an elaborate case about different technology users, citing product examples to explain why each consumer matters at certain stages in product marketing. At times, his presentation get a little strained, such as when he tries to describe how consumer groups "reference" each other or how marketers must engage in "informed intuition." Moore devised his own explanations for the successes and failures of different high-tech marketing tactics, so your level of agreement depends on how much of his detailed theory fits your marketing concerns. We find substantial interest and value in this exploration of high-tech marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painfully familiar, 5 July 2000
By 
This is a very enlightening book. I have worked in several companies that have had great products, but have fallen into the "chasm" the author talks about.
I'm starting my own up at the moment, and this book is my bedside read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unmissable, 6 Jun. 2007
By 
N. Marik "Neelesh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is certainly one of the most insightful business books i have ever read. It is of biblical importance to anyone in the technology business, especially operating in a B2B scenario.

Apart from a cogent theoretical framework, it provides high practical, and actionable advice on how to move from one segment to the next in a technology adoption life cycle. It has certainly shown me the wrong assumptions we have made in our own business, and why.

The book helps consultants create a concrete service offering to start-up clients who need advice on their go-to-market and organizational strategy.

Full five stars on this book. I look forward to meeting Geoffrey Moore sometime to pay him my compliments for this great piece of work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Smart Products to Apprehensive Customers
Used & New from: £0.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews