Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd bought this sooner!
This is a deceptively simple book - but my 11 year old really loved it and keeps going back to it, so the authors really know what they are doing. When kids on the spectrum are so quick to pick up other knowledge sometimes, it can always come as a surprise how much social situations need to be simplified and broken down to further understanding. Unlike other reviewers we...
Published 21 months ago by Andrew Bulman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
This may well be useful if the user has been carefully trained. It is very American, so much of the language would not work in UK.
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by janet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd bought this sooner!, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids (Paperback)
This is a deceptively simple book - but my 11 year old really loved it and keeps going back to it, so the authors really know what they are doing. When kids on the spectrum are so quick to pick up other knowledge sometimes, it can always come as a surprise how much social situations need to be simplified and broken down to further understanding. Unlike other reviewers we didn't find the US language slant of fputting or a problem. Said 11 year old already avid Simpsons fan etc and was quite taken with the passing resemblence these cartoon detectives had to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Social Thinking Resource, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
A. Harrow (Home Counties, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids (Paperback)
Michelle Garcia Winner has developed terrific materials, and I have used this book as part of introducing the Superflex and the Unthinkables curriculum to children.

The expense of the books is really offputting to an individual unfortunately, as there are a number of items that are useful to use but they are all quite sparsely filled but with high prices. I'm not sure why this should be, but it's a shame, as it prevents the excellent curriculum from being accessible to more individuals and therefore more children.

If you are working with children with SCD, you REALLY do need to get into this excellent area of work, and make sure you also find out about Superflex and the Unthinkables. If you're working as an individual with just one child the expense may be beyond you - but just hope that the authors find a way to make this more available to those that need it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids (Paperback)
I gave this 5 stars as it is a great resource that will have practical application to support pupils with ASD and others withSocial communication difficulties. It adds a fun element as well as teaching practical ways for pupil to unpick the nuances of communication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money spent, 18 Nov. 2014
This review is from: You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids (Paperback)
Excellent Book. Recommended to me by my sons speech therapist. He had delayed speech and now is learning the art of social interaction. It is a handy guide to make him aware of his environment and what is "expected" and "unexpected" behavior.

Good Vendor, the post messed up delivery. Another book was sent out promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on developing social thinking & social communication skills, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must-have to help children who have autistic spectrum disorder or other social communication difficulties.. Lots of key social concepts with great cartoon illustrations that appeal to children of all ages. I've found it good to read through again and again, to help children understand, retain and apply the ideas to their own lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids (Paperback)
This may well be useful if the user has been carefully trained. It is very American, so much of the language would not work in UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great social skills book, 22 Jun. 2012
By 
rellaella (colchester, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids (Paperback)
This is a great book to help recognise social skills and I hope that with time it will help my son with some of his issues x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a useful tool. Provides non judgemental language to discuss their ..., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids (Paperback)
work a lot with ASD.It's a useful tool. Provides non judgemental language to discuss their behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids
You Are a Social Detective: Explaining Social Thinking to Kids by Pamela Crooke (Paperback - 15 Nov. 2010)
Used & New from: £17.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews