Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wide-ranging, brave view of black history
This is a tough and decisive answer to the question, "Why are black people always on the back foot?". It is a very strong challenge to the other extremist view of black inferiority; arguing strongly in favor of black pride and black unity. Despite the charged nature of the discourse, it contains very many facts of African history which are less known and acclaimed,...
Published on 16 May 2008 by D. E. Chukwumerije

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Race Relationship
THE DESTRUCTION OF BLACK CIVILISATION: GREAT ISSUES OF A RACE FROM 4500BC TO 2000AD By CHANCELLOR WILLIAMS Is A Great Book On African History/Black Civilisation And How The Will/Might/Strength/Culture/Pride Of The Black Race Has Fallen So Far From Grace Grace Being Who The Blacks Once Were, To Who They Are Today - Fallen.
However, It Must Be Said That Is A Difficult...
Published on 30 May 2011 by Cruella


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wide-ranging, brave view of black history, 16 May 2008
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
This is a tough and decisive answer to the question, "Why are black people always on the back foot?". It is a very strong challenge to the other extremist view of black inferiority; arguing strongly in favor of black pride and black unity. Despite the charged nature of the discourse, it contains very many facts of African history which are less known and acclaimed, probably because they do not fit in with modern stereotypes of African history, constructed in a nineteenth century that was dominated by "standard" notions of African inferiority. For example, the contributions of early African civilization to technological advancement, the role of Sudan in Egyptian civilization, black resistance in Nubia to Arab encroachment etc. The reader should, however, be warned that this book does not pretend to be a passive account of black history. The author is very proactive and radical in his interpretations; intending the book as a blue print for mobilizing the black race against a supposed historical conspiracy by white and arab races to marginalize it. I enjoyed it for the raw historical facts but was careful to choose what interpretations of these facts I accepted as true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading!, 3 July 2007
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
Definately one of the best, most interesting and most important books I've ever read. There's not that much more for me to add to what the other reviewers have said. Chancellor Williams has done a great job in using examples in history as case studies to describe how black civilization has been destroyed and how the african peoples are where they are today. You'll probably feel enlightened after reading this, as I did, because you'll find yourself with a fresh and deeper understanding of the past and things which are happening today! For example, I see ancient egypt and how they teach you about it in schol in a different light. I also have a new understanding of the situation in Darfur, Sudan - but I'll let you discover that for yourself.

One of the best things about this book is the fact that Williams presents a solution to the problems facing Blacks worldwide which is well thought out and less idealistic than some solutions that you may have heard before.

Respect and praise is due to Chancellor Williams for his dedication (16 years of research!), his innovation and his integrity as a historian. This book is recommendable to everyone, but especially to africans and the african diaspora. If you are interested in reading up on african history (which is a more difficult task than reading up on the history of any other race) then this is a very good sarting point. I recommend buying this book, just so you can show it to others and spread the knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get much better, what an achievement., 9 Aug 2008
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
I read this book last year and man oh man, it was eye opening. I learn't so much about africa, the fact the the persians invaded africa before the caucasians, the fact they were defeated but came back after the empires weakened. i enjoyed and learn't about the ethiopian empire, the songhay empire, the south of africa inparticular the zulu of south africa and the rhodesian empire, the many kings and queens who led from the front and defended motherland africa.
I will forever remember the name chancellor williams, a man who lived into his 90's and must have done remarkable amount of travelling and research to write this book.
It is just remarkable how much information is in this book, and for a first timer wantng to read a book about africa, a paperback sized book that gives enough detail without being 1000+pages, and chronicles a period between 5000bc-1900ad, then this is the book without doubt.
I enjoyed reading about the empires, the kings and queens, with queen nzinga of angola being my favourite as the europeans couldn't defeat her and had to wait for her to die before invading angola.
I have read more about africa, influenced by this book and would recommend 'the state of africa'by martin meridith for more recent history after independence, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant survey by a brilliant visionary., 4 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
The average reader of this book always misconstrues it's purpose. The purpose of this book is not to be descriptive, but prescriptive. In other words, The Destruction is not meant to serve solely as a history book. The book's purpose is to provide Afrikan people with an historical background into Afrikan-specific problems of the past, while at the same time, giving viable solutions to what Afrikan people should do to solve the same, lingering problems that slavery, colonialism, and neo-colonialism are very definitely at the root of. One of Mr. Williams' most brilliant observances is the politcal role that Arabs and Islam have played in and among Afrikan people. He cogently and correctly exposes how Afrika and her people have been historically duped and demeaned, not only by Europeans [Chrisitans] and Asians, but by Arabs also. This one issue has been the most talked about, but the least understood. To extract the true essence and point of book one need but look at its subtitle - "Great Issues of a Race from 4500 B.C. to 2000 A.D." That says it all right there. Chancellor Williams, visionary that he was, knew that by the start of the new millenium, Afrikan people would be suffering the same problems that Afrikan people of 4500 B.C. suffered unless . . . we took a step back and gave a critical, crucial, and correct analysis of the problems that confront us. At the end of the book, Williams offers what he refers to as "The Master Plan"; to give Afrikan people a blueprint toward true power and an understanding of who they are and who they still have to be in this world. An most excellent read that prompts you to move from theory to practice!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The product of hard work., 15 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
This book should be read by everyone but is a very important work for black people across the globe. "I was convinced that what troubled me and what I wanted to know, was what troubled the black masses and what they wanted to know. We wanted to know the whole truth, good and bad. For it would be a continuing degradation of the African people if we simply destroyed the present system of racial lies embedded in world literature only to replace it with glorified fiction based more on wishful thinking than on the labors of historical research." This quote from the book sets the whole tone and reflects the thinking of the author. Sixteen years of hard work and in depth research instead of stories which hold no water. Those content with the world in the way it is must not read this book but if you sense that many pieces of the puzzle don't fit, order this book without delay. I am sure once you have read it there will be one question on your mind; What do we do about it? One answer would be to ignore it. Ignoring a tumor doesn't make it go away instead it spreads unchecked. It is time to kill the cancer and start living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMPORTANT BOOK FOR ALL RACES TO READ, 6 Jan 2008
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
African history is a part of World history so everybody should read this. But the important message for people is "If you don't know your history you cannot determine your destiny." Another book to read is When We Ruled by Robin Walker which is a follow on(or updated version) from this book. READ IN ORDER TO LEAD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seek and you will find, 29 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
This book is for the black or coloured person who has found enlightenment as well as for every reader of black history. To know where you are going, one must first know where they are coming from and this book is a light in the dark that is African history. The journey of discovery must begin with self first and foremost. You ask the questions of yourself...who am I? where did I come from? where am I now? Why? and where do I want to be? And only then do you pick up this book. This book does not answer all the questions that you can ask of yourself as a black person in the new world, but really maps out the most important question that you could ask of yourself ...who am I?

In a very decisive response, the book tells you that whether you are coloured or black, you are the descendants of a once mighty race...a pioneer in the field or arts, crafts, science, engineering, politics, social and economic discipline. So that having read the book, you will realise that it falls to you to rediscover the greatness that runs through your veins. A must read for all blacks and coloureds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black History compiler, 15 Feb 2006
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
Like the above reviewer I too for the last 3 years have become increasingly aware of a misinterpretation of black people. Add to this the way the West operates and the state of Africa in general I made it my priority to get to the bottom of this.
This book is a good start for an extensive overview of what went wrong and why, You will be asking yourself questions and also answering them.
I also recommend you read:
They came before Columbus An African Presence in Ancient America
The Wretched of the Earth
Black Skin White Mask
The Isis papers
And a Slave Trade book (although they tend to be written from their perspective and slave accounts are few and far between) But it will provide insight in the use of capitalism in the name of the christian church to exploit slavery, africa and extend the wealth or european nations.
Then you can really start linking all this together to give you a
good overview of the state of the black populous.
From what I’ve compiled so far and reading between the lines it is not good but since the end of the last great black dynasty it never really has been.
Keep up the fight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wake Up Call For Descendants of Africa, 6 Dec 2006
By 
Kammy S (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
Living in the UK, I have always felt that enough hasn't been done for Black people here. We don't learn our culture and history in schools here and it has really displaced us from our roots. I would urge every person of African descent to own this book and read it. Knowledge is power my people...utilize it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 16 Dec 2006
By 
T. MCKNIGHT "Tim M" (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD (Paperback)
This is a great book losing 1 star merely because at certain points it felt like being back at school. Regardless of that this book would be a recommended read for anyone and should be required reading for everyone of Black African descent.

This book not only describes the events of the past but the effect that these events have on us as a people today. It also outlines an intricate plan of how we may not only create a definitive identity with our culture but how we can carry ourselves with a new sense of pride and unify as a people on both a national and international scale.

A superb read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race from 4500BC to 2000AD
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews