Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Many Courses Like This
This is the first book of a four part course by Jody Fisher & Alfred Publishing. I have to say there's not much else out there quite like this unless you go for one of the online suppliers like Ric Seversen's Guitar College books and CDs on Jazz.

This starts nice and easy and gently works you thorugh all the basics of playing jazz as a single line melody or...
Published on 21 Dec 2008 by Chris Downing

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry book containing lots of information
This books is part of a series penned by Jody Fisher. It follows a pattern that a lot of Guitar Methods & Tutor books like to follow in giving you a few easy chaptors before sending you to boot camp hell.

In this case the first few chapters deal with triad inversions, circle of fiths and major scale theory. After that it starts to rapidly up the ante with...
Published on 4 April 2010 by marty989


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Many Courses Like This, 21 Dec 2008
By 
Chris Downing "Chris Downing" (Chippenham, Wilts England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beginning Jazz Guitar: The Complete Jazz Guitar Method [With CD] (Paperback)
This is the first book of a four part course by Jody Fisher & Alfred Publishing. I have to say there's not much else out there quite like this unless you go for one of the online suppliers like Ric Seversen's Guitar College books and CDs on Jazz.

This starts nice and easy and gently works you thorugh all the basics of playing jazz as a single line melody or chord melody solos. The books can be followed as chord studies or melody line studies depending on what your focus is, so they are pretty flexible. (You can even get a DVD for the first book).

If you want to learn jazz then I'd start with this book and suppliment it with some Jimmy Bruno material on scales Jimmy Bruno, No Nonsense Jazz Guitar and some Larry Coryell DVDs Larry Coryell's Jazz Guitar - Vol. 1,then your set. And it's done on a small budget as well. Joe Elliots book on improvisation fit nicelt with Jody's books. Introduction to Jazz Guitar Soloing: A Comprehensive Improvisation Method [With CD] (Introduction to Book & CD)
I'm a guitar teacher, so I'm telling you what I've learned about the books that are out there - work through these DVDs and books and you'll be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry book containing lots of information, 4 April 2010
This review is from: Beginning Jazz Guitar: The Complete Jazz Guitar Method [With CD] (Paperback)
This books is part of a series penned by Jody Fisher. It follows a pattern that a lot of Guitar Methods & Tutor books like to follow in giving you a few easy chaptors before sending you to boot camp hell.

In this case the first few chapters deal with triad inversions, circle of fiths and major scale theory. After that it starts to rapidly up the ante with chapter after chapter on hundreds of chords and their various inversions. This encyclopedic approach means that only the very dedicated will get past the 3rd chapter unless they also have some other easier play along material to balance this book out.

My problem with this book is that it is most certainly not a method. Its a great collection of useable (and not so useable) chord shapes with some useful theory thrown in, but any novice or intermediate guitarist given this book as a gift by a loved one will soon give up Jazz Guitar saying its to dry and difficult.

Do buy if you need a system for putting together large 11th & 13th chords, or you already have a large collection of play alongs and are looking for some additional chord knowledge to spice up your practice.

Avoid if you are relatively new to Jazz Guitar or are an intermediate player looking for something Jazzy. Personally I find the Hal Leonard / Musicians Institue books much easier Try (Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) or Chord Melody Guitar (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent for guitarists who have some knowledge already, 13 Sep 2009
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Jazz Guitar: The Complete Jazz Guitar Method [With CD] (Paperback)
As another reviewer commented, there aren't many books out there like this which cover the basic fundamentals of jazz guitar. In meeting the criteria for a book which gently and carefully leads you into the area of jazz soloing, rhythm and improvisation, the book is absolutely wonderful. The themes of chords, harmony and improvisation are superbly structured.

At first, you are moved towards a series of beautiful and yet simple 'etudes' which can easily be returned to as the basis for improvisation. Scales, fingering, cyclic patterns etc are all covered in depth and with music being shown as both notation and tab, following the exercises is simple. Only occasionally are chord shapes shown above or with the music, so an understanding of those is essential, despite them usually being separately illustrated on 'dictionary style' pages throughout the book.

So why 4 stars and not 5?

I felt that many of the exercises and examples which lie between the etudes and practice pieces could have also been usefully illustrated on the CD. In terms of pages, you have to reach page 21 before you hear the first example being played. Prior to that there is a wealth of chord and scale work which deserved to be recorded because between pages 6 and 20 there is a HUGE amount of ground to be covered and there's a good chance that many less-experienced users may tend to skip those pages without first absorbing all the necessary 'ground work' which soon becomes essential for smooth progress.

That weakness aside, however, the book is a treasure and all the etudes and more complex pieces are wonderful examples of the jazz style.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beginning Jazz Guitar: The Complete Jazz Guitar Method: Beginning..., 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Book just right For Ref: tell you all you want to know straight to the Point Buy it Great Pice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but needs videos, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Jazz Guitar: The Complete Jazz Guitar Method [With CD] (Paperback)
Good, but needs videos as well. I am finding the theory part at the start a barrier to getting enthusiastic about the topic. Getting into the corners of the style first would really help me to stay with the routines and practice and theory and... Phew! I'm often feeling like giving up without a bit of encouragement. Listening to the pieces makes me feel inadequate, and I just think some encouraging video clips would thoroughly enhance the whole experience. Sound stuff though, otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 15 July 2011
I had a really general fundament as a guitar player thanks to Gibson learn Master guitar method. TThanks to thosebook of Jody Fisher i learned the basics for Jazz guitar on a very efficnetly way; he explains everything very logical and split up harmony and improvisation , t the end all come togehter; i will start now his second book "immediate" player and hop to have the jasz basics learned in no time , brand new world came open for me!!! Thanks best book serrie to learn jazz as a hobbyist!!! cheers Peter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 11 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Jazz Guitar: The Complete Jazz Guitar Method [With CD] (Paperback)
I bought this for my other half for Christmas (it was on his Christmas list), and he says it's fantastic. Sounds good to me too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Lessons, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect jazz guitar teacher. Easy and simple. Unique in that you get to play with a Band on this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wonderfull book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning Jazz Guitar: The Complete Jazz Guitar Method [With CD]
£13.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews