Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Everyone Is Nice
UK reviewer.
I bought "Not Everyone is Nice" 2003/2009 (hereafter called NEIN) along with "Who Is A Stranger And What Should I Do?" 1985 and "It's My Body" 1982, to help teach a 5-year-old and a 7-year-old with mild autism about personal safety when out and about.
The only disadvantage of NEIN for us was the American vocabulary e.g. mommy, kindergarten, crossing...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by Sally

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a lot of adult discussion.
Very basic story but doesn't delve deep enough as it only covers one male stranger.
Published 2 months ago by Corinne-Jaiynn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Everyone Is Nice, 24 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
UK reviewer.
I bought "Not Everyone is Nice" 2003/2009 (hereafter called NEIN) along with "Who Is A Stranger And What Should I Do?" 1985 and "It's My Body" 1982, to help teach a 5-year-old and a 7-year-old with mild autism about personal safety when out and about.
The only disadvantage of NEIN for us was the American vocabulary e.g. mommy, kindergarten, crossing guard, curb, sweater, candy bar, pet it.
The illustrations are in colour like the cover, and every other page is an illustration, so the text does not dominate.
There is a list of tips for kids and a list of tips for parents and guardians at the back.
We found this a nice simple introduction to the subject. The analogy of the lion fish and sea anemone not being what they seemed worked really well with both the 5- and the 7-year old.
Once we got over the vocabulary problems, I think it was useful and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stranger danger, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book when trying to explain stranger danger to young children.
Good example of problem without scaring the child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, perhaps a little too wordy but certainly ..., 21 July 2014
By 
Ms. Sarah L. Morse (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
Well written, perhaps a little too wordy but certainly gets all the concepts across. I bought for my four year old, at the moment he is more interested in Cathy's brother and school, and the fish in the story than the actual incident with the stranger, but it will keep reading it to him and hopefully the concepts will sink in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stranger Savvy, 21 Jun 2005
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
Teaching children to be cautious around strangers cannot be stressed enough. This book does an invaluable service in helping parents address issues of what to do if approached by a stranger and safety steps the children can take. It is NEVER too early to teach children about safety. Sadly, in some worst case scenarios, the point becomes moot. This book is a good preventive tool.
The story focusses on a little girl who is nearly kidnapped by a stranger. She is easily misled into thinking he is a nice man. The book provides parents, educators and others with a forum to discuss why not everybody is nice and preventive steps one can take to stack the safety odds in their favor.
Making safety talks a regular part of one's lives and routines will ultimately save a lot of lives and also provide tools to build a safer world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
This book really helped both my 3 & 4 year old under stand strangers & danger would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a lot of adult discussion., 1 July 2014
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
Very basic story but doesn't delve deep enough as it only covers one male stranger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point for talking about stranger danger, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
I read reviews about this book and decided to buy it as my partner and I were mildly concerned that our daughter was a little over trusting of strangers. We sat down and read it together with her old brother (she was just 4 and he was just 7). I found the situation in the story a little unlikely (i.e. that a child of who appears to be approx 4 would be left to wait for her mother outside her nursery on a street corner) but that wasn't really an issue as we talked about situations where they might be out of our sight briefly for example at the park. The book was a good starting point for a discussion about how grown ups might try to be friendly and invent things they have in common with you to make you feel comfortable around them but how they could be lying and you should not accept anything from them or go anywhere with them and it uses the idea of things that look nice being dangerous. We think that there is a small risk of harm for our children from stranger danger (compared to traffic and road safety which we have spent a lot of time talking about) but that we wanted to gently introduce this topic to them and this book was excellent in this respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book on "stanger danger", 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
My 5 year old liked this book and has been talking about saying no to strangers ever since. Also enjoyed by my 3 year old, but targeted to older kids I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
I bought it for my daughter and I like it very much. It is easy to share with children about the situation and the response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handles a difficult subject well, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk) (Paperback)
Several books available in this area - mainly unsuitable, but this one deals with this difficult subject in a way that raises awareness but doesn't make a child frightened of everybody. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Everyone is Nice: Helping Children Learn Caution with Strangers (Let's Talk)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews