Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read unless you want to get to heaven!
Many people have turned their hand to writing in prison or other noble causes. No one has yet surpassed John Bunyan who was serving at his majesty's pleasure for preaching the Bible at His Majesty's pleasure. For the last 330 years this book has rung so many bells with Christians on their pilgrimages to heaven. The struggles, the characters and their flaws and God's...
Published on 15 April 2010 by D. Skinner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard Going, But The Very Informative Glossary Makes it and Easier Read...
This is the most comprehensive format of this book I've come across to date. It is a bit heavy going, but the glossary does make it a little easier to understand. However, because there is so much to the glossary, it makes it a very long read (which I haven't, as yet, managed to plough through!) I'd recommend it for anyone wanting/needing a lot more information other...
Published 13 months ago by Nicolino


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read unless you want to get to heaven!, 15 April 2010
By 
D. Skinner "RevDave" (Oldham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
Many people have turned their hand to writing in prison or other noble causes. No one has yet surpassed John Bunyan who was serving at his majesty's pleasure for preaching the Bible at His Majesty's pleasure. For the last 330 years this book has rung so many bells with Christians on their pilgrimages to heaven. The struggles, the characters and their flaws and God's steadfast love and faithfulness come across as if they were written about the reader's own experiences. A great help and encouragement.

The barrier of Shakespearian English has put many people off but now the way is open to the modern reader in a translation that is both modern and accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Classic, 24 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book both inside and out. The paper quality makes a lot of difference to me because I love the feel of a book, and this outstanding classic is worthy of the best even though it is paperback. The author has lovingly updated John Bunyan's words without altering anything unnecessarily. I thought perhaps there was a little too many shortforms of words like 'isn't' 'won't' 'I've' etc, but itcertainly didn't spoil it for me, I just felt they were not needed every time. As I am English perhaps that is just an British foible. I loved this book and have bought copies for myself and as gifts for others. The book lives up to its name - and is truly a pure gold classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book made easier to understand, 3 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
I have already read one of the original old English versions of Pilgrim's Progress and had a hard time getting through it let alone understanding a lot of its archaic words and format and context.

Hazelbaker's updated version of this timeless classic has been done very well, with only a few words here and there needing me to look up. The added Bible References is really helpful with the added side notes in the footnotes adds to the reading comprehension.

I recommend anyone to read this book, and especially the person who has read the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard Going, But The Very Informative Glossary Makes it and Easier Read..., 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
This is the most comprehensive format of this book I've come across to date. It is a bit heavy going, but the glossary does make it a little easier to understand. However, because there is so much to the glossary, it makes it a very long read (which I haven't, as yet, managed to plough through!) I'd recommend it for anyone wanting/needing a lot more information other than what the author wrote. It's always good to be able to look inside the book before making up one's mind to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great edition to the Pilgrim's Progress, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
Great translation into modern English, it is easy to read and wonderfully dotted with illustrations which gives an additional pictorial insight to the story. Inspiring, thought-provoking and highly relevant, even in today's society and age.
I loved this book and purchased many more as presents to friends (and they, in turn, loved it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pilgrims Progress, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
I loved reading this book and it's certainly one I shall keep, next time I read it I shall refer to the biblical texts shown in each chapter, a good book to help with studying the Bible. This also brings the hymn 'Who would true valour see' to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic with scripture reference throughout. Give insight into the different types of people you would meet in life and shows you how to decern and help them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best modern treatment, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
There are certain books that need to be frequently read and re-read; this is one such. You will find yourself in here, though you may not like what you find. Take the authors advice and seek Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars precise updating, uplifting, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
If you like an up to date version of this classic tale, this is it! The author of this new version has really taken care that the text doesn't "sound" too modern. Lots of explanations when new words, differing from the original, are chosen, as our language as definitely changed in emphasis. One example of this, was feeble-minded, which is derogatory in our days, but in Bunyan's day, it only indicated a weak, vulnerable person.
In the chapters, biblical references are numbered and quoted at the end of each chapter. it is really lovely to be able to read this with your bible (usually when I read the quote in the bible, I would read further on too!) It is a truly uplifting presentation of Bunyan's tale of a Christian's journey.
It's also good that both part of the journey are there, 1. Christian's terrifying and comforting journey; the second part is devoted to Christian's wife and children's journey and is just not a repeat of Christian's story. Christiana's add different aspects of a Christian's characteristics from a woman's point of view. There is a little discussion about women in the bible which is quite validatory to women. Bunyan shows that there were many women who were followers and supporters of Christ. They provided food and lodging for the Lord. I like this added touch.
I read this when I woke up during the night and couldn't sleep. I found it therapeutic, and referred often to the bible to follow the texts fo the quotations. A good experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) (Paperback)
great version of this clasic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics)
The Pilgrims Progress in Modern English (Pure Gold Classics) by L. Edward Hazelbaker (Paperback - 13 Jun 2000)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews