Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£21.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2005
After ploughing through endless variations on this theme it's good to find something that's user friendly and totally practical. The best feature is that the book follows the design process in a logical manner identifying principles and showing you how to apply them in a practical way; it also shows you what works in design terms and what doesn't plus some tricks to achieve more professional results with plan presentations. Another thing of interest is the quirky graphic style of illustration used to highlight non- plan points. Extremely useful throughout.
0Comment|148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2005
This is a book which I know intimately,especially the first edition which formed the basis of The English Gardening Schools Distance Learning course, in Garden Design.It is without doubt one of the best books of it's type, and ranks along side the Doyen of Garden Design Books John Brooks,frankly I cannot pay the Author,Rosemary Alexander any higher compliment, if you are a Student, or newly qualified Designer then this is a book which will be referred to on more than one occaison,and it's style and quirky line drawings only add to your entertainment& education ,buy it you will not be dissappointed.
0Comment|142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2007
This book covers all phases of garden design, from original research, obtaining the owner's requirements, site survey sketch, checklist and inventory, to conceptual diagrams, presentation plans, theme plan, preliminary garden layout plan and final planting plans.

It discusses space, light, proportion and scale, colour plates, ground plane, vertical plane, overhead plane, materials, texture, principles of planting design, planting styles, practical considerations, seasonal effects, and rendering techniques for various plans. It also has a plant list and plant hardiness zones at the end. This is one of few books that actually discuss the design aspect of gardens / landscaping. Very practical!

Gang Chen, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Author of "Planting Design Illustrated," "LEED GA Exam Guide," "Architectural Practice Simplified," and other books on various LEED exams, architecture, and landscape architecture
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
I found this an incredibly useful book. I have a very small garden and didn't know how to go about sorting it out until I found this.

The author's own garden is part of the National Garden Scheme and she runs a major gardening school - she really knows her stuff.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
Not an easy read. The book helped with some aspects of my garden planning but would have preferred more photos and practical tips.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Excellent book, so much information I've always had a keen interest in garden design and landscaping. Even considering taking it up professionally. This book had so much advice about the design process From initial site survey to final planting plan and the role of the garden designer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2010
A wonderfully presented, easy to read book packed with drawings, photographs and text that making it a garden publication that is as useful as the English Dictionary. Perfect for reference on mood boards there are many many examples to stimulate the imagination. I bought this and The Garden Maker's Manual and they go everywhere with me. Love it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
Boughtthis book as a christmas present for a couple buying their first house. They loved it. The principles of garden design gave an ideal starting point for a personalised garden design for them. The plans look realistic too - no need to have a stately home and grounds to use the content !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
I am doing a gardening course and this book was recommended to me and it has been invaluable. A very good and informative book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
A great foundation in creating, or changing, a garden. covers everything that should be considered when making a garden. A great addition to my ever expanding collection of gardening books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.